We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shedfield
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A group of six of us stayed one night, dinner, bed and breakfast and played the Meon course. The golf was great, but the thing that stood out for all of us was the excellent service provided by the staff. On arrival we had lunch in the Zest Restaurant, the lady that served us was really helpful and nothing we asked for was too much trouble. The golf course was lovely if a bit tricky in the fluffy rough!

After golf we used the leisure facilities in the Spa, unfortunately we had tried to book a couple of treatments too late and they were book up but will try again next time. The facilities were lovely, we used the pool and Jacuzzi. Although we didn't use the gym we could see that it was very well equipped.

We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was really, really good but once again it was the service from the staff that was outstanding. Breakfast was a buffet service with tea and coffee served at the table. The spread was excellent with fresh waffles being cooked and eggs cooked to order.

OK so the rooms and carpets at the hotel are showing signs of wear and looking a bit tired, but having stayed in many hotels I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel due to the wonderful welcome and service we experienced there.

We will definitely be returning. Keep up the good work and congratulations to all the staff!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anwen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. Myself and all the staff were absolutely delighted with your comments and so pleased that you enjoyed your time here and the service that we provided. We endeavour to provide the best customer service possible and I am very happy that this was evident during your stay. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Meon Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,024)
There are newer reviews for Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

607 - 613 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We took my daughter to peppa pig world and had this hotel as part of our package . The family room was great , the only hiccup was there wasn't a duvet on the second bed just a throw . Great breakfast buffet . Our stay was very comfortable and both parents and kids loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slowlycatchymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We were delighted to hear that your whole family enjoyed the stay with us, and that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet. I apologise that you didn't have a second duvet, should you ever stay again and need something such as the duvet, please do not hesitate to contact our team and we will fix it right away. We hope to welcome you back to Meon Valley in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed for on Sunday night in August. The hotel is a warren - misheard directions to room and went up and down and down and up, back to reception then up, down and I think up again to get to our room on 2nd (UK - 3rd USA) floor! Fortunately we only had 1 overnight bag, but with several large suitcases it would have been a nightmare. I could not see a way to get to our room with out using at least 1 staircase.

Adventure over the room was OK - nothing special, spacious but showing signs of wear, and as been pointed out no a/c. Fortunately our summer has passed so temperature in room was OK. Bathroom a little dark.

We had a drink in bar in evening - way overpriced. Breakfast was included in room rate and was selected from a very comprehensive buffet. I've just noticed a recent review commenting on segregation of families with small kids ...call me Scrooge but I found it pleasant not having overexcited children at the next table (been there, done that, and often the kids were ours...)

Summary - comfortable, friendly staff but let down by decore and need of a freshen up.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your stay, your balanced approach is greatly appreciated. I apologise that you had challenges finding the room and if our directions were unclear. I am pleased to hear of the friendly service you received, as were all our staff. We have a continuous maintenance program around the hotel to aim to keep up the standards, I am sorry that at the time of your stay you did not experience evidence of this. Thank you also for your observations regarding our family and non family dining areas and we are all very pleased to hear this had a positive impact on your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to Meon Valley in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The room was ok and the food was good if not a little over priced. However we booked through the Peppa Pig website and it was clear the hotel did not want us mixing with others. It felt like a walk of shame back and for to rooms set apart for us to eat in. Apparently some people who are relatives of the Chitty Chitty Bang Bang child catcher complain about the noise that kids make. Certainly not family friendly.

Wi fi in rooms is very expensive.

Room Tip: If you are Peppa Pig fan be prepared for isolation.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SportyChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review for your stay. I would like to apologise that you felt isolated during your stay, that is not our intention at all. Our aim is purely to provide a child friendly dining area with toys, colouring and books for the children to keep them entertained, whilst also providing a quieter atmosphere for our other guests not travelling with children, who perhaps are here to get away from it all. We receive lots of positive feedback regarding our provisions for children whilst looking after the needs of all our other guests, I can only but apologise that this wasn't the case during your stay. We would hope to welcome you back to Meon Valley in the future should you ever wish to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

stayed 1 night pre-cruise. staff friendly and food decent however the rooms are not air-conditioned and were stifling. even fans could not provide relief. destination spot for families with unruly children everywhere. suggest booking elsewhere if you value peace and quiet

Room Tip: a different hotel
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drjayatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your food and that you found the staff friendly, we aim to provide excellent customer service to all. During the school holidays we do experience a high volume of families staying and I am sorry that this dampened your stay. It is disapointing to hear your fans were not sufficient in cooling your bedroom during your stay. We do hope you will return in the future, should you come outside of school holidays, you should experience a quieter environment. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I recently stayed here on a golf holiday with 18 other ladies for 3 days. The food was very good and the service very good. The rooms were spacious with 2 double beds in a twin-bedded room. There could have been 2 ordinary sized single beds which would then have meant that the bathroom could have been larger. The other problem was that there was only 1 bedside light and table which I have never come across before! The wine was an extortionate price unnecessarily so in my view and one of the lifts you had to manually close the doors by holding them together!!
The main Meon golf course was good, the Valley course had very narrow fairways and not as well maintained, poor signing from one green to the next tee and the buggy paths in some places were none-existant.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank captain03Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review. We use feedback from out customers to help improve the products and services we offer. Please feel encouraged should you stay at a Marriott again to report any challenges or issues you may have to our teams so that we can aim to rectify them before you leave. We have done a full maintenance check on the lift following your comments to ensure the doors are fully functional. Whilst we do not have any single beds in our rooms, we appreicate your time taken to give us your feedback on the room and bed size. We hope to welcome you back to Meon Valley in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Very good service and very willing too help staff on all aspects within the complex and out, all in all what a excellent place people and hotel plus there facilities such as the swimming really impressed that the children are welcome in the pool from 8am-8pm 7 days a week great...

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela H, Resident Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such a positive review, we are delighted that you had sucha good time (and enjoyed the pool) with us and we hope to welcome you back to Meon Valley in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shedfield
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
4.8 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,141 reviews
9.0 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 25 in Southampton
1,841 reviews
8.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
930 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Address: Sandy Lane | Near Southampton, Shedfield, Southampton SO32 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton > Shedfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shedfield
Price Range: £63 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the secluded Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, unparalleled luxury accommodations nestled on 225 acres of stunning Southampton rolling countryside. Experience true tranquility at The Retreat our hotel's deluxe spa or enjoy a day on our 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Southampton
Southampton Marriott
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club Shedfield, Hampshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing