We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shedfield
Manchester
1 review
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

I stayed last weekend at the hotel with my partner for a relaxing romantic weekend and this hotel was perfect. The hotel was easy to get to (it is really close from the M3/M27.) The rooms were lovely and the leisure club was really nice. We ate in the hotel’s restaurant (I can’t remember the name but it is on the right hand side) which was amazing and good value for money. We had to book a table and would recommend you do the same if you plan to eat there as it does get busy at weekends. There are loads of walks you could do in the grounds but we decided to go to Winchester which is really close (10 mins by car) and very worth a visit! All in all a lovely hotel and I would book again next time I was down south.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love_sunManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    343
    183
    81
    54
See reviews for
279
273
13
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

We chose our outdoor reception venue first and found that this hotel was the closest venue in which we could get married. The wedding organiser was awful (but she left the week after our wedding so the new person may be better). She tried to pressure us into changing our reception plans and having everything with them. When she realised that we weren't going to budge, the service got worse. It took 3 whole months to book the room and had we not already booked the registrar and told people where the wedding was being held, we would have gone somewhere else. Paying for the hire of the room was also difficult and took 3 attempts as the reception staff didn't know how to take payments for the hire of a room!!
On a positive note, we had arranged for rooms to be reserved under our name which worked out fine!
We had said that we were going to leave straight after the ceremony (and confirmed this with staff on our way in on the day) but were blocked off (!!!) and sent to the bar area. I tried to say that we were leaving but were ushered in. My mum and sister were even questioned when they tried to go to the toilet!!
Overall, we weren't very impressed at all; especially considering how much it cost to hire the room and we filled 6 rooms the night before the wedding and 15 the night after.
I would never go to this hotel again as it lacked the personal touch we were expecting and it seemed that as they weren't getting the most amount of money out of us, they weren't interested in giving us good service.
The rooms were nice though and some of the staff had the decency to look embarrassed when they hassled people on their way to the loos!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smile2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shedfield hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2009

Wish that I had time to play the golf course but was to busy working the whole time. Rooms were a bit smaller than in America. The people were nice and it is a great place to relax,

Stayed January 2006, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank thundrbo1t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

Arrived for a 4 night break and took up the offer of an upgrade to a junior suite at an additional cost of £30 per night for the privilege. Problems were as follows;
1) Internet access costs £15 per day. This was not made clear on the website. The arrogant duty manager justified this by informing us that it meant that the access was secure. Funny, that 's what I thought Symantec, Mcafee etc was for...
2) When we complained, the reaction was basically "so what, we're not doing anything about it"
3) The room had two televisions. Great except that when the remote was activated on one, it affected both TVs.
4) The market menu for the evening meal had two or three options for each course, all completely uninspiring. Consequently we chose from the a la carte.
5) The gap between each course was a good helf hour each time.
6) When the main course did eventually arrive, they forgot my daughter's completely.
7) I could have shod my shoe with the totally overcooked lamb steak. The "crushed potatoes" were a solid lump but there were some chips that had strayed onto the plate anyway just in case. I am a gannet and can eat most things but had to leave 75% of the meal as it was inedible. My husband's steak bore a striking resemblance to something that may have come from a Little Chef and his chips were clearly frozen from a bag. All this for the bargain price of £17 and £23 respectively.
8) When we returned to the room, despite the promise that the sofabed would be converted, it wasn't and we had to call reception to get this done.
8) The room was extremely hot with no way of switching off the heating
9) At breakfast the next morning my daughter was offered a strawberry smoothie. 5 minutes later the waitress returned bringing three smoothies for tables around us whilst telling my daughter there were no strawberries left.
10) It seemed that everything that was offered came at extra cost. This maybe acceptable to people who can reclaim expenses but certianly not to the rest of us. We lwft after the first night and stayed at the Botleigh Grange for the remainder of our stay; a much happier experience altogether

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsFarmer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kissimmee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

Wonderful setting, excellent breakfast buffet.Room and amenities were great.
Staff helpful and pleasant. Quick to act on requests. Stayed pre-cruise leaving from Southampton. In the country so worked out well as we had rented a car. Would stay again. Golf course on property, not a golfer but course looked good.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morgan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

We stayed here as we were looking for a nice weekend break in good surroundings and this was a excellent choice, on arrival the reception staff were help full and as i mentioned it was my birthday we were given a nice bottle of champagne & chocolates this was a great surprise. Large comfortable rooms very well equipped great beds too! even though i thought the entertainment on the TV was poor, not a great selection of channels and not the easiest to use.

Room service was quick and the food was of a good standard

a great place to get way from it all the room was very quiet and would recommend this to anyone looking for a getaway to relax.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crashma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

I really only booked this place because I had some points to use, and it was relatively close to Stonehenge. It's fine. Just a typical 3-4 star accommodation. Lacks any character however.

The golf course looked nice, although I did not golf.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArmstrongFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shedfield
8.7 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
3.1 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
4.8 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#4 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.7 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
9.0 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: Sandy Lane | Near Southampton, Shedfield, Southampton SO32 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton > Shedfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shedfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the secluded Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, unparalleled luxury accommodations nestled on 225 acres of stunning Southampton rolling countryside. Experience true tranquility at The Retreat our hotel's deluxe spa or enjoy a day on our 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Southampton
Southampton Marriott
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club Shedfield, Hampshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing