We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, personal tour, with tastings and afternoon tea!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wickham Vineyard - CLOSED

Wickham Vineyard
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take an audio tour of this scenic vineyard that provides a history of English wine, grape details and viticulture through the seasons.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent, personal tour, with tastings and afternoon tea!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We recently tried some of the Fume on a cruise on the QM2 and enjoyed the wine so much we stuck with it for the entire duration of our holiday. Upon arriving back in the UK, we missed the wine so much I found Wickham vineyard and arranged to take my Husband on a day trip as a surprise.

Jonathan very kindly offered to give us a personal tour of the vineyard, which we thoroughly enjoyed and found very informative. All the staff on site were so patient, answering our questions and telling us more about the company and the wines on offer. The tasting was delicious, and I wanted to buy all 7 of the bottles!

We finished our tasting and headed to the restaurant for afternoon tea. It was truly delightful. We were sat at a small table right by the windows with front row seats of the vineyard itself and the chickens running and playing between the vines. The food was delicious, and we both thoroughly enjoyed it and felt full by the time we'd eaten everything.

We then headed back to the shop to buy our selection of wines and although we only bought four bottles and a jar of mulled wine jelly we are already planning our next trip down in January to buy a few boxes of our favourite wine!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SJHosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    12
    7
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Food, Chilly Atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I enjoyed the fairly classic food, but found the service so stiff and cold. The room is stark, and it wasn't terribly busy, so a warm, relaxed welcome would really help. The view over the vines in Autumn is fabulous.
Maybe the owner should treat the head hospitality staff to a trip to Napa or something, help them pick up a few tips on how to do upmarket casual well. Uptight service can make a place seem old fashioned and provincial.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoAvrile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ideal Restaurant For a Special Occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was out first visit to the Restaurant and we were enormously impressed!

It was our 13th Wedding Anniversary and we were looking for a special place to celebrate.

This is a small restaurant but don't let that fool you. The staff were amazing, very friendly and knowledgeable about both the food and the local wine.

The ambiance was great - intimate and close for couples and lively for groups. There are fantastic views over the vineyard which was lit up as the evening darkened.

Now we come to the food - it was brilliant. Superb quality and elegant presentation.

There will definitely be many return visits as we will be living so close.

Complements to the chef and all the staff for making our evening so special.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna-and-Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Afternoon delight, thoroughly enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stopped off at Wickham with my wife for a wedding anniversary treat in the New Forest. What a terrific place! Not only were the staff friendly and so enthusiastic about their winemaking venture, but the vineyard itself is a delight to walk around and spend time chilling out with a fine glass (or two) of English wine. We took the audio tour, which led us around the vines and the bottling room, explaining all that goes in to producing wine on a commercial scale. It was interesting and insightful. But the best bit was the relaxed atmosphere and hospitality we felt from all the staff involved. We enjoyed a light lunch from the restaurant on the open terrace, and although it was an overcast day, we felt we could have stayed all afternoon. The owners are expanding the services offered at Wickham to 1 day and multi day courses as well as offering the venue for weddings. We will definitely be returning to try out fine dining in the restaurant next time and wish the owners good luck in keeping this place a viable and delightful venue that it is.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fascinating story of the trials and work growing grapes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We went to Wickham Vineyard as part of a package at New Place De Vere Venues. We visited on a Sunday afternoon- beware the last tour is at 3pm. The cafe had also just closed when we arrived at 3pm. We had intended to get a taxi to the Vineyard but were told that the tasting at the end only involved about half a glass of wine so we drove. We went on an audio tour around the vineyard which was fascinating. A real lesson in the hard work growing vines and I also learned a bit of local history that I didn't know before. The walking tour takes about 30 minutes walking amongst the vines and into the winery. After that there is a short tasting of six wines. The best thing was arriving back at New Place to find a bottle of Wickham Special Reserve in the room which went down very well with the duck that night.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gingerhants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wickham Vineyard also viewed

Shedfield, Southampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing