We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little restaurant, where staff always try please” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rumbledethumps Restaurant

Rumbledethumps Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Dairsie
Price range: US$11 - US$22
Cuisines: British, Pub, Scottish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Dairsie Inn reopened in 2009 under the Rumbledethumps name. We have strived to buld the business on local reputation alone, only advertising on opening. Everyday our chef adds specials to what is already a large menu. I believe there is something for everyone, which may be why we prove popular with couples, families and group/party bookings. All of our main courses are fresh, cooked to order and homemade :)
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant, where staff always try please”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

I have visited the Dairsie Inn several times over the past few months, for both lunch and evening meals with my wife and friends. You really need to book to ensure a table is available as it gets very busy. Even when we have not been able to get a table they are very apologetic, and always make you feel that your patronage is important to them. On the food side I find the portions just about the right size, they don't go out of the way to fill your plate salad or chips which is all to common these days and I can eat with the best of them. The selection of dishes would suit most people and are well presented. One that is definitely worth visiting. My problem is going to be with the number of times I have now been there I have eaten my way through the menu, so I may have to leave it a couple of months until some new dishes appear, that said they always have a few specials on offer. And the do have a lunch menu for pensioners as well as doing a high tea on Wednesdays for them as well from 4pm - 6pm for about £9

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ingy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    40
    18
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auchtermuchty, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lunch for Two”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Just popped into the Dairsie Inn for lunch. We did not have a reservation and were luck to get a table. Very busy little place. Menu was reasonably extensive, with a good range in all three courses. Service was courteous and prompt. Although small portions the price did reflect this for lunch. We would certainly visit this place again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Muchtyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Stopped for lunch with two friends had an amazing meal in a warm friendly atmosphere attentive staff first class at low cost thank you will return EC Fraser

Helpful?
Thank elzaf6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, OXON
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“High Sunday Tea......with toast!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We were taken here as a treat by my mother to celebrate her retirement to partake in the Sunday high tea. The restaurant was no too busy and we were seated at our table of nine with no issues. The service was both friendly and attentive during our whole meal. The menu has something for everyone while keeping the choice to a minimum. Prior to receiving the main course we were served toast to go with the butter and preserves provided. Most unusual for this reviewer from the South West of England!! When our mains arrived and an adults portion of chicken goujons arrived for our seven year old we realised we had made a mistake by not stipulating a child's portion, as they say I suppose one should never assume!! The food was of excellent quality and was served piping hot. All in all a great meal in nice surroundings.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pmdavies33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“NIGHT OUT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Myself &partner were invited out for a meal Good selection of all courses on menu service was
quick staff frequently asked if everything was satisfactory (nice) food 1st class another restaurant
that we shall eat at again

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rumbledethumps Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rumbledethumps Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing