We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely decor inside, pity about food and service.”

The Park Gate Inn Restaurant
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Park Gate Inn in Hollingbourne is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely decor inside, pity about food and service.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We went here for lunch with friends. The restaurant was nicely decorated and we were shown to a large table window immediately.
After that though the service was very slow - my husband had to ask for the drinks to be brought to the table as the waiter had forgotten them and I had to ask to see a dessert menu later on.
The food was nothing special and the portions could have been bigger. One waitress started clearing condiments away before our friend had finished with them.
However our main complaint was the lack of service from the staff. Even when I went to ask for the bill at the bar, two staff members were too busy talking to even notice me standing there.
This restaurant could be a really lovely place to eat, but the staff and service needs to be addressed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nesto69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    130
    99
    112
    104
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A(nother) disappointing Vintage”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had gone to visit Leeds Castle and needed a pub close by for lunch afterwards; my husband asked the lady in the gift shop if she was local and knew anywhere that had reasonably good food - she suggested The Park Gate Inn a few minutes drive away. We should have made do with our drinks and moved on elsewhere when we saw from the menu that this pub is part of The Vintage Inns chain. Our last experience at stable-mate The Lion in Farningham a year or so ago was extremely poor. Well at least Vintage Inns are consistent which one would expect from a chain;
the food is fine I guess if you are just looking for fuel and don't have a discerning palate. But we weren't and do.Although judging by the number of tables occupied in the main restaurant, there is an audience for this kind of poor quality stomach fill.
Rubbery over-cooked burger with under-cooked fatty bacon; the pie was OKish but there was very little filling ( it was supposed to be Chicken,Ham and Leek - a lot of the former, hardly any of the middle one and none of the latter) and a lot of pastry - I am stunned that chef James Martin lends his name to these pies…surely with his reputation he doesn't need to and if he does, then they should be bloody good pies ( suggest you have a word with your licensing agent Mr Martin).
The worst thing was the service - it was unclear if we were sitting in the order at the bar or the table service area; when no-one came to take our order after a good few minutes, I went to the bar and asked for clarification; we duly ordered and food arrived after 15 minutes or so. no-one came to ask if everything was OK or to clear away the plates off the next table which were still there when we left - as were our plates. My husband went to pay at the bar and waited a full 5 minutes - it was completely unattended. I went to the restaurant to ask one of the staff if we could pay - I told her she was lucky that we hadn't just walked out without paying ( which would have been all too easy as we hadn't left a card behind the bar); the girl apologised for the wait but didn't seem that concerned to be honest.
Given that we had similar problems with the service at The Lion in Farningham I can only conclude that the recruitment criteria for both chefs and waiting staff are abysmally low. Do yourself a big favour and avoid Vintage Inns. Find an independent pub with a proper chef, quality ingredients and staff who give a toss.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Awful service, worse food”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Really disappointing visit, minimal staff, waited ages to be served after being ignored for some 10 minutes while staff appeared to be dealing with complaint after complaint. If your understaffed in kitchen why was your chef in a interview during peak hours, absolutely mad

Pie turned out to be casserole with a frozen pastry lid stuck on top of dish, and they need a top chef to design this , does he feel proud putting his name to this slop?

Hunters chicken was inedible, dried out, ghastly chips with horrid cheese, BBQ sauce even worse

Pork belly dish with black pudding cooked in a deep fat fryer not good at all

Staff almost embarrassed to ask if meal was ok with amount left on table and soon disappeared without clearing plates and we had to go to bar to pay for meal as no one ventured back to us

Really one to avoid

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NotFoodie123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south UK
Level Contributor
238 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“This was a cracker of a place”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We dropped in for a spot of lunch after a long 3 hour drive on the M4 and M25. We had a really good meal lots to choose from, good prices and excellent taste.... can well recommend this to all travellers passing by.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trev53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice pub but quite grim food”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We visited after going to Leeds castle hoping for some nice pub food. We had the sharing platter to start and the brie was quite nice (can't go wrong with melted cheese) but the prawns had their roe left on which I found unappetising, and it was weird the chef hadn't spotted this on half our prawns, the salmon was also odd looking and tasted horrible. My burger for main was dry and tasteless. The chips were ok but basically the problem was that the pub and menu looked lovely but the food wasn't. It just seemed we could have done a better job if they'd let us into the kitchen, and it isn't cheap enough to get away with such low quality cooking.

Helpful?
1 Thank alwaysonholiday24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Park Gate Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Park Gate Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing