We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and excellent 'old style' customer service”

The Park Gate Inn Restaurant
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Park Gate Inn in Hollingbourne is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Arrived at this little gem after a very busy day; warm welcome, good service & excellent food. Would highly recommend.

Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Park Gate Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Michael C, thank you so much for the positive review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2017

booked online as it was just around the corner from Leeds Castle. Food was great, quite a wide variety of food choices on the menu. Staff were pleasant and helpful

Thank lornadrury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Park Gate Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Thank you so much for the positive review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely roast this evening really enjoyed it. After a long trip back home after being in London all day we were really hungry we called in to the park gate at around 7 o’clock we hadn’t booked & we thought we would be too late for roast. Nice friendly staff found us a table straight away & the roasts were lovely. The service was good too in no time out food was served along with extra vegetables. Will definitely be returning

Thank Debby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Park Gate Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Arrived early. Cosy atmosphere with a homely décor, nice log fire Long wait to be served at the bar, which was unstaffed. Was observed by a member of staff who considered it more appropriate to sip his own personal drink. No formal welcome or greeting made. Once seated, the menu was presented, No interaction whatsoever from the young waiter(s) - just more concerned about the handheld device to take our order. Dirty cutlery. Minestrone soup disappointing, certainly lacked fresh ingredients, and neither was any parmesan cheese available (personal choice). We were left to eat, however, the table became cluttered with empty glasses, no-one appeared to be aware of this, not even at the point when I stacked our parties empty starter plates and cutlery. We ordered wine with our mains, and had to repeat the request once our food was served. The experience lacked co-ordination and attentiveness. Nobody seemed to take ownership of our table and we were certainly not looked after.
The main courses were fine, albeit "in my opinion, seasonal veg" lacked being seasonal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JD6941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Park Gate Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback. I have recently taken over as manager at the Park Gate Inn. All of the issues you have raised are being dealt with as they are basic training needs of the team.

Please accept my apologies that you didn't get the service you expected but we hope to see you again soon so that we can get it right. If you wish to discuss this further please don't hesitate to call the pub so we can talk further.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Been to this pub many times but first time for Sunday lunch. Always had a good meal and good service. Unfortunately this time was a poor experience. The service was terribly slow both in the bar and restaurant .

Many pubs now do a good roast Sunday lunch and I would only give this one a 3/10.

2 tiny pieces of overcooked beef with small portions of veg is really poor value .

The deserts were actually very nice but did not make up for rest of meal. Shame.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Park Gate Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

David C, we truly appreciate your honest feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Park Gate Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Hollingbourne, Kent
 

Been to The Park Gate Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing