We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful few days despite the UNrestful weather!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hollingbourne
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    344
    267
    122
    73
See reviews for
176
440
24
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed 2 nights with the Mercure hotel winter offer - 2 nights B&B plus dinner on the first night
Very pleasant staff throughout our stay - hotel was not busy as we stayed thursday and friday after new year. Cost was £139 total for the two of us which included a £44 dinner allowance against the a la carte dinner menu.

Room was compact (double standard) but lacked nothing, haidryer free wifi and even a fan heater provided which we did not need as central heating remained on all night

Breakfast good quality altough as we come down at 8.30 buffet items had to be requested to be reheated as they were just warm. On the second morning this matter had been sorted as heaters and hotplates had been urned up

We would use again as a good combination of comfort and facilities at a reasonable price in the area. Most B&Bs wanted £60 per night locally and so it made sense to stay at this 4 star rated hotel. We were not disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A2XBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear A2XBB
Thank you very much for your positive review. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stay here regularly, around 24 times last year and sometimes its great, when staff try hard....but when its bad its really bad....my last stay a couple of months ago was a reward to myself for a weekend, to be paid for using points I had accumulated on the le club loyalty scheme.

The room was one of the old tired ones over the chemical plant for the swimming pool and despite my request to pay using the points, 4 weeks later the total amount of the bill £260 was taken off my business credit card without authorisation.

This was queried with the hotel and no one returned my call. queried again in early December with the hotel...still no return call...once again by e mail with accor customer services..and finally with the regional director...still no return e mail.

So be aware.... if you are lucky you will get good service and enjoy your stay...if they are busy then the service is mediocre and if things go wrong...don't hold your breath for a solution.

Shame though, as it was very convenient for me...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floormeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Floormeister,
Thank you for posting a review following the issues you experienced with the loyalty programme.
I was very concerned and appreciate your patience in the matter. Please contact me directly if this matter has not been completly resolved to your satisfaction. I do hope we will have the oportunity to welcome you back again soon. Apologies once again. Best wishes and regards, Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed for two nights between xmas and new year. The place was very busy because there were extra guests who had evacuated their houses in the storms but we were still made to feel that our stay really mattered to the hotel. The staff were so accommodating especially our waitress, Vicky, who was so attentive. The entertainment (live singing) was superb on both evenings and really added to the enjoyment. The food was buffet style and there was plenty of it, although it was fairly standard the atmosphere and service more than made up for any shortcomings. We had a first class stay, thank you Mercure!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear E G
Thank you very much for your positive review. I am delighted you enjoyed your break and were made to feel special. I will ensure your comments are shared with Vicky and the team. Best wishes for 2014.
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights, on a deal that included dinner on the first evening. Being mid December there was no proper menu... just the Christmas meal being served to the hundreds of guests who turned up for company Christmas parties. Having said that the meal was OK, and our room was OK, and the breakfasts were OK (excepting our yogurts the first morning which were days beyond their expiry dates). The steam room and the swimming pool was fine, and we avoided the gym which looked basic.

The location was perfect for Leeds Castle, and we bought tickets there that enabled us to return free of charge for a year, so we toured the castle on the first day, and then returned on the second day to walk in the grounds. Brilliant to have this attraction almost next to the hotel.

If this hotel was a cricketer it would be a middling all-rounder; not great at anything, but unlikely to let you down either.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HamptonYZs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Hampton YZs
Thank you for your review and I have noted all your comments which I appreciate you having brought to our attention. We did host several Christmas parties during the festive season and the full Brasserie menu will now be available. Pleased you enjoyed your visit and the Castle next door. Happy new year to you. Sincerely
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

stayed here for a company Christmas party, Food was excellent as was the service, and an excellent breakfast, check in was quick and very efficient,

However I did have a problem with the toilet which was reported at 5.40 but despite being looked at was still blocked when I returned to my room at midnight, which was a bit of an inconvenience.

I did however feel that for a Four star hotel the room was very small and basic, and if you are at the back of the hotel it can also be very noisy particularly on a windy night as it was when I stayed, it also didn't help with other guests coming back late talking in the corridor and letting their room doors slam at 1.20 in the morning.

Overall tho it was a good stay

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear alemonster,
Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed the food and service. Thank you for bringing the other issue to our attention and apologies that it could not be resolved during your stay. We do have a number of different room types and sizes and are always happy to offer an alternative whenever possible. I would recommend a Privilege or Superior room. Hope to welcome you back again soon.
Very best wishes, Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
166 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed with my wife on a spa weekend as part of her birthday gift on half board basis. Located just off M20.
Check in was quick, property ok clean and maintained well. Has a restaurant that holds parties and wedding banquet hall, hair-dresser and a bar.
The spa facility includes swimming pool with water at good temperature, steam, sauna and a jacuzzi, the spa was fully booked hence could not experience the treatments.
The rooms were small but did the job, clean bathroom with a tiny tub and a shower with basic toiletries and coffee/tea making facilities.
The restaurant staff was very friendly and the food tasty, decent selection at breakfast. We were offered same set menu for dinner the both nights but the restaurant staff were kind enough to offer us a different choice. The best staff were at the restaurant, polite, friendly and with correct information.

Cons
Room service declined unless spent minimum of £10 pounds and refused the deliver ice and bottled water in the room, on asking at reception was advised should not be the case so basically room service made up their own rule.
Jacuzzi was only working 1 day out of 3.
They charge for basic movie channels unlike other hotels offer for free.
We enquired about breakfast timings from 4 different staff and were given 4 different timings.
Our room was not made the 2nd day until evening when we had to ask.
Both nights there was a Christmas party and our room was directly above the restaurant and the music was too loud to be able to sleep, unbelievable and it was supposed to be a spa weekend to relax.
The shower head was filthy full of limescale.

Average stay, would prefer another spa hotel the next time.

Room Tip: Not above restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upg_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate any feedback that allows us to continually monitor and improve our service and standards. I am sorry you were not able to book a treatment on this occasion. The spa is popular with 3 treatment rooms and we always recommend early booking if possible. Apologies for the miscommunication regarding timings and the room service issue which I will follow-up. The middle of December is the height of the party season and I hope these did not intrude too much into your stay. I have noted your other comments too and appreciate your feedback. Sincerely
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollingbourne
15.3 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
1.4 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.6 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#14 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
7.5 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
17.2 mi away
Mercure Dartford Brands Hatch Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel

Property: Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
Address: Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel Ashford Road, Hollingbourne ME17 1RE, England (Formerly Mercure Maidstone Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hollingbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hollingbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Maidstone
Maidstone Ramada
Ramada Maidstone
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel Hollingbourne, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing