We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor by usual Mercure standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hollingbourne
Devon
Level Contributor
175 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Poor by usual Mercure standards”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We booked the Lakeview suite because we needed the space and upgraded wifi so we could prepare for a meeting. The room was indeed big but the decor and fittings hadn't been touched since about 1980. Clean though. Both the bulbs in the bed side lights were not working. Fixed quickly but surely this should have been noticed in room prep. The wifi didn't work. Dinner good. Breakfast not so ,poor service no on asked if we wanted anything from the menu. Toaster didn't work properly. Disinterested staff. We were at the Winchester Mercure later in the week which was as usual very good but only served to reinforce the poor experience at Maidstone

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidCDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear David
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you found your room spacious and clean and that you enjoyed your dinner. Breakfast feedback is generally excellent with attentive staff and I am sorry if we did not manage this on this occasion and will discuss further with the team. Hope to welcome you back in the future to demonstrate our normal standards of service. Sincerely, Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    358
    279
    132
    76
See reviews for
181
461
24
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel promises a lot on it's website, yet in reality this hotel is somewhat of a disappointment. The biggest disappointment of all being the Brasserie.

The Brasserie menu published on the website has a range of appealing dishes, however, on arrival we were provided with a different menu, a set menu with limited choices which we were to collect from the buffet. When we asked about the other menu we were informed that this menu was not available this evening, they were only serving the buffet menu. Apparently there is a disclaimer on the website, although I am yet to find it.

You are better off taking your money into the village and eating at the Windmill (if they have space).

Other disappointments include:

* The spa facilities - the pool was dirty, the steam room was out of order and there are very few loungers

* The pool doesn't open until 8am on Sundays, not 7am as listed.

* The temperature of the rooms - we had the window open all night and were still boiling.

* Free wifi is offered, but it is incredibly slow. If you want to upgrade to faster wifi it is £9 per day (unless you are in a premium room and then it is free).

* The TV. No idea what they had done but the picture was too big for the screen and it cut off either side.

In short, this place is really no more exciting than a travel lodge. I won't be returning, but I guess it would be ok if you just needed a place to stay in the area, certainly don't go there just for the sake of it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Kim989
Thank you for your review. The Brasserie menu should be available at all times and I apologise if this was not the case during your visit. The club opening times are as per the website and the TV issue has been resolved and I have shared each of these points with all concerned. Iam sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occassion. Sincerely
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hollingbourne hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for one night, on a Saturday.
We had 3 rooms in total, one of which was a family room. The family room was huge; a big queen size bed and two singles with plenty of space for a sofa bed, desk and tv area. The smaller rooms were perfectly adequate in size and tastefully furnished.
We had an issue with 2 of the TVs not working but no sooner had we reported this problem to the front desk, a member of staff upstairs to fix the problem.
Breakfast was great too, lots of choice and everything nice and hot.
Overall a great nights stay at the Great Danes and I will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidilester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Heidilester
Thank you very much for your positive review. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Maidstone Great Danes hotel again soon. Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed overnight , very pleased, friendly welcome on arrival , nice cosy hot room , very clean , all the mod cons tea/coffee etc tv , we used the spa /pool !! wasn't so impressed the pool was cold the whole area needed an update !! also found spa temperature not very high . it might just be me i am a cold person , and i think things are going to be improved ? the best was the breakfast it was fabulous everything you wanted . the staff where kind and helpful . my gold star goes to Vicky ( our chatty girl ) what excellent service we had , to sum up would highly recommend
three points to make !!! pool update needed / lights at hotel front gates / the doors bang at night
this is not negative feedback , i am happy to answer any questions you have , and would like a reply from manager . thank you hope too come again very soon :)

Room Tip: our room was fine 3rd floor !! its just people coming back late and slamming the doors shut :( which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Tony k
Thank you very much for your positive review. We appreciate all feedback which will allow us to continually monitor and improve our service and standards and I have noted all your comments. I will be pleased to share these with all concerned and especially Vicky who was our service champion at the company awards last week. Hope to welcome you back again soon. Very best wishes. Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Recently stayed for a weekend package including a dinner dance. Friendly check-in and out. Good, well equipped room albeit on the top floor with no lift access and many stairs. Good breakfast and although the dining room seemed to be overfull and we had to wait a few minutes to be served - the fresh food kept coming out. No complaints - hotel in easy reach of Leeds Castle and Maidstone centre. Great for a short break.

Room Tip: Need to be agile if choosing a studio room as ours had many steps to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micky50970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Micky,
Thank you very much for your positive review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. We do have a number of different room types including the 5 spacious roooms in the original part of the manor house. The Beatles used these rooms when filming in the area and these are popular
with our regulars guests. Best wishes, Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Sheppey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The whole experience from booking to our stay was a great. On arrival I was not surprised by the exterior of the building as had seen the pictures and was not expecting a country house, but have to say it was better than expected. Inside is fine. We had lunch at the hotel then in the afternoon used the gym and pool. On the way to the pool we found they table tennis room. The gym was clean with TV's to watch while you used the equipment. The pool had quite a lot of kids in it so I came back early the next day when they were not about, but it was clean and so were the steam room and jacuzzi.
All the staff that we spoke to were very helpful. At dinner and breakfast we were looked after by Vicky who is fantastic at customer service and an asset to the hotel. We had dinner and breakfast included in the price and were very happy with the choices available. But you can always pay the additional cost for items not on the inclusive menu as we did.
I booked this night away for a joint Birthday/Anniversary treat and we were both very happy with the stay, also we don't live far away so will definately be looking to go back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAML-B1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear SAML-B1
Thank you very much for your positive review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon. We are proud of the team and your comments about Vicky have been recognised and she joins us at the company awards on Thursday. I have shared your comments with her and all concerned. Very best wishes, Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

First time visit and found the overall experience pleasant. The staff and restaurant were very good, pool area and jacuzzi were clean.
We would definitely come back here again but would upgrade from the room we had further away from the bin shed, as at 5 when they put bins out we heard it all.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank coopeboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear coopeboi
Thank you for your comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your experience and found the pool and spa area clean. I am very sorry that you were disturbed in the morning and will follow this up. Best wishes, Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollingbourne
15.3 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
1.4 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.6 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#13 of 15 in Maidstone
166 reviews
4.9 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
941 reviews
6.2 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#4 of 15 in Maidstone
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel

Property: Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
Address: Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel Ashford Road, Hollingbourne ME17 1RE, England (Formerly Mercure Maidstone Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hollingbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hollingbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Maidstone
Maidstone Ramada
Ramada Maidstone
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel Hollingbourne, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing