We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hollingbourne
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for one night over the Easter weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms were clean and modern, the dinner was nice and a good selection for breakfast in the morning. The waitress called vicky was particularly friendly and very helpful. We both had a massage in the spa and it was by far the best I've had. The only thing I will say was the pool area was a bit cold and perhaps could do with a few more loungers round the pool but other than that I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay again :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Katie
Thank you very much for your positive review. Hope to welcome you back again soon. Regards, Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    351
    271
    124
    74
See reviews for
176
446
24
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
393 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We have stayed at this hotel twice both overnight for a gala dinner. The spa pool is good with a Jacuzzi and sauna (single sex). The rooms are comfortable especially the bed. Excellent breakfast with plenty to choose from and special orders as well!

Room Tip: There are some stairs between floors even if you use the lift. But there is a stair lift at the entr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear John
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted you enjoyed you stay. The Health Club also has a steam room as well as cardio & resistance gyms a good class timetable, 2 tennis courts and pitch & putt. Plenty for everyone!. We look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely, Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel is excellent in every way. Comfy bed,quiet night and great food. The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them. I will definitely stay there again when in next visit Kent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minicooperdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Mincooperdogs
Thank you for such a great review. Hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

This building is a 2-star road house. OK, but not what you would expect for a Mercure. The layout is bizarre: taking the lift to the second floor means using 2 flights of stairs. Rooms are no better than a Premier Inn.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EnPrimeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your review. The hotel has many characteristics which make it popular with new and regular guests. We are independently rated and the service, hospitality and facilities we provide continue to differentiate us from the norm. We have a number of different room types and styles and would recommend a Privilege room upgrade, but are always pleased to offer an alternative, whenever possible. Best wishes, Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montlucon, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Hmm-we arrived tired and fed up from traffic congestion. Check-in was OK and Lee on reception was very nice. She asked about dinner and we said ASAP (it was 6.40) she told us they were fully booked for 7 but quarter to should be OK and rang to check. So, we literally dumped our bags and went down. The meal was fine-some nice touches like the beetroot gravadlax, some less inspiring like bass with a soggy skin and a mediocre chicken tikka massalla with rice and naan and poppadoms (why?). He restaurant was neither full at 6.45 when we arrived or 7.45 when we left or any time in between! Upon returning to our room the door key wouldn't work. Then started something worthy of Fawlty Towers if we hadn't been so tired and I was not suffering an anxiety attack. It took an hour and a quarter to get us sorted out. Part of this was spent in the corridor where we were clearly lowering the tone, whilst every door key card known to man was tried, then the battery casing and batteries removed, then this shoved so far back it would then not come out when things STILL didn't work. Then the employee disappeared for over 15 minutes to find a screw driver and some new batteries. Then we were ushered to a new room with a dirty great crack in the back of the loo and another across the sink with chips in you could cut yourself on and a filthy remote control for a TV on the blink. We refused this room and had to accept a twin bedded room and then wait for maintenance to come out to take the handle off the door to get our stuff out. I had told Lee by this point I would not pay for the room. When we awoke at 3 am a note had been shoved under the door saying they would waive our bar bill (just under £11) and discount the room by £29 (so £80 in lieu of £109). We are privilege card holders BTW. In the morning I paid the bill which had also had the meal prices (£60) removed. I was not going to argue anymore there was thick fog and we had a train to make. What I don't understand is why the Ibis hotels-which are part of the same group and much cheaper offer you a) a complimentary drink on arrival if you hold a club card and b) offer you a free stay if you have to wait more than 15 minutes for a problem to be solved. I am afraid whilst I appreciate Lee's help and the discount I still feel ripped off and won't be staying again. Of course, when Dominic reads this if he wants to refund my £80 I will reconsider my opinion.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rougepasmort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear rougepasmort
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate any feedback which will allow us to continually monitor and improve our service and standards and I have noted your comments. I apologise for the inconvenience caused by with the digital door lock, which has since been replaced. The team clearly reacted to the situation in several ways and I am sorry that we did not resolve the matter to your satisfaction. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to a Mercure hotel again soon and if so, would be pleased if you would contact me directly to make the arrangements. Sincerely, Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hollingbourne hotels

North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I had a client conference here and the service, food and general organisation of the facilities by our contact for the day Jane, was extremely efficient, friendly and great to work with.
Our lunch was provided and was of a very high standard and very tasty.
As long as the rooms are basic and clean and the staff are between great and exceptional it will be a good stay, this place was all of those things.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naldotwo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Naldotwo
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted your visit was a success and pleased to read your comments. I look forward to sharing these with the team and especially Jane, who is a marvel. Sincerely, Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollingbourne
15.3 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
1.4 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.6 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#14 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
7.5 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
17.2 mi away
Mercure Dartford Brands Hatch Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel

Property: Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
Address: Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel Ashford Road, Hollingbourne ME17 1RE, England (Formerly Mercure Maidstone Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hollingbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hollingbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Maidstone
Maidstone Ramada
Ramada Maidstone
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel Hollingbourne, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing