We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Treasure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minnis Bay

Minnis Bay
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Birchington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I have visited this beach today, after my wife had suggested the location from reading previous reviews.
We have a three year old son who loves the beach and was lolling forward to building sand castles and flying his kite.
The first positive noted was the free parking available, which for a location with a golden sandy beach is very rare. We had arrived at about 10:30 with no problems parking.
There are toilets close by that are well kept and reasonably clean. There is bike hire available, ice creams (that don't appear over priced), and a couple of eateries.
If you are looking for a peaceful day out where kids can play and enjoy a picnic on the beach, then this location is a must. If you are more into loud arcades where you can spend a fortune, then you are out of luck.

I highly recommend this location as it is clean and not over priced like some surrounding locations. The beach had started to get busy towards the afternoon, but not over crowded.

Helpful?
2 Thank Geezerally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    50
    13
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Always Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Years ago, this used to be a fish & chip / burger bar. But for the last 7 or so years it's been a nice bar & restaurant.
They have a great evening trade and often have entertainment.
by day or night this is a really nice place and a lovely place to watch the sun go down.
Highly recommended

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Would never recommend”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Went to buy a serve of fish and chips take away (£13) I took them down to the beach to my very elderly aunt. The paper was so greasy the oiled had seeped right through the package, the chips were so soggy the fish was over cooked and quite dark, small fish with lots of soggy batter. But to be fair the gentleman before me asked for a refund as when he was given his portion he said he didn't want them as they had been sitting in the counter for nearly 10 minutes unaware they were his as mine came out of the kitchen within 2 minutes I'm guessing they just gave me his portion. I have spent the last week not recommending this establishment and will continue

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Oh we do like to be beside the seaside!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We go to Minnis Bay regularly and always have a lovely time. Its a lovely child friendly sandy beach with everything you need to stay and play all day! Theres a really nice little hut that does lovely fish and chips etc plus sandwiches,cakes and coffees so everyones catered for, plus ice creams all round!
Theres a large playing field behind the beach and a play area( although this needs a bit of updating)
Toilets are a short walk up from the beach but always clean.
The only negative i can say is its vital to check the tide times as at high tide the beach completely disappears so you could have a wasted journey!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarbeargravesend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sunset over water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Make sure you watch the sunsetting over Minnis Bay on a clear sunny evening and within short drive from No 30 Bed and Breakfast

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HSM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Minnis Bay also viewed

Kingsgate, Isle of Thanet
 
Birchington, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Minnis Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing