We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely november stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Birchington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely november stay”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

What a lovely Art Deco Bed and Breakfast with easy walk to the sea. Had an enjoyable one night stay mid week at The White House . Sharon made you really welcome with her warm and friendly nature. Superbly comfortable bed and what an amazing feast of a breakfast and with the lovely home made jams and marmalade and lovely fresh coffee. YUM YUM !!!!
I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast with out hesitation.
Andrew

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Citroen2CV6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon R, Owner at Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you Andrew.
Pity it was such a short visit but you packed a lot in.
Glad you liked the marmalade, only made the ginger one the day before!
Hope to see you again for longer next time.
Very best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
46
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

What a lovely B&B! The Art Deco architecture and furniture make it a unique place to say, and our room was clean and bright with super comfy bed and pillows, and a nice shower room. There was lots of choice for breakfast and we had Sharon’s Sunday special Eggs Benedict. Yum.
And the hospitality was amazing – talk about going the extra inch… it was more like an extra mile. We booked quite a while in advance to coincide with other plans we had for the weekend, and as the date drew nearer, it turned out to be Sharon and Laurie’s wedding on the date of our arrival. We were very surprised but very grateful that they still honoured our booking, and allowed us to turn up on their wedding day!
The weather got the better of us this time, but we are keen to return to cycle along your lovely bit of coastal path. Thanks very much for all the tourist information you gave us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandP-visit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon R, Owner at Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay, it was a bit of a mad day but lovely.
The choice of Egg Benedict or Egg Royale is a popular special.
Come again and cycle the lovely Viking Way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and I arrived on 14th September with our daughter and two young grandchildren. I can honestly say that this is the best bed and breakfast we have stayed in. Our grandchildren were treated so nicely and with little extras like soft toys on their beds.

Sharon was a fabulous host and the breakfast was amazing. She even allowed our son, daughter in law and baby grandson to join us for breakfast and they weren't even staying with us!

Will definitely be staying again.

Thank you for you hospitality.

Brian and Helen Driscoll.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cartridgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon R, Owner at Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
All your family were absolutely delightful and your granddaughters were great fun. I do enjoy a bit of challenge and it was nice that you could all have breakfast together after the wedding.
We would love to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield Glade, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My wife and I have stayed at a number of B&Bs over the years and have enjoyed them all. However, the Whitehouse is the best we have ever stayed at. I would give it more stars if I could. After one of Sharon's awesome breakfasts you will not need lunch. Additionally, Sharon is an absolutely lovely person and made us feel at home during our one week stay. Thank you Sharon for your outstanding hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDVandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon R, Owner at Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you so much for your really lovely review!
It is so appreciated. You two were such a pleasure to cook for.
Having such lovely guests makes every day a pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful visit to Birchington to see family and a lovely overnight stay at the Minnis Whitehouse. The house is strikingly beautiful from the outside, We were welcomed by Sharon on Saturday lunchtime, who had prepared our room early so that we could freshen up after a long journey. Poiret room was lovely and bright,,clean and very comfortable. We had a great night's sleep in very comfy beds. Breakfast on Sunday morning was delicious and there were so many options. Sharon is so friendly and we are already planning our next visit. This is an extremely wonderful and incredibly reasonable B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon R, Owner at Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Glad you got here while the weather was still good. Enjoyed your company and our chat at breakfast.
Look forward to seeing you again in the winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Over night stay whilst visiting family in Kent, lovely comfortable room in a beautiful art deco house. Breakfast was great with lots of choice and home grown and local produce. Especially liked my bacon tomatoes & mushrooms with a touch of thyme. Will have to do that at home.

Sharon & Laurie made us very welcome and so did her cats!
Thoroughly recommend staying here

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann_Worthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon R, Owner at Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
The cats enjoyed the fuss.
The tomatoes from the garden are really tasty and I will defiantly be growing more thyme next year.
Hopefully you will be back. Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pound, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We arrived here, from the states, and stayed 4 nights, with another couple, for our niece's wedding. Although we were a bit early, Sharon welcomed us with open arms, room ready. The king sized bed, bedding and pillows were extremely comfortable. Our view overlooked Sharon's beautiful garden, that seemed neverending. We spent early mornings with our coffee, in her garden... the sun beaming and the bees and birds all around. Sharon and Laurie are fascinating people and have led a life of adventures. It was always delightful to sit and chat with Sharon about her life. Then came breakfast! What a feast. What I thought was breakfast, was just a prelude to the real thing. Sausages, bacon, eggs, pancakes, toast, and Eggs Benedict were just a few of the different meals she served. The homemade marmalades were scrumptious.
We loved the parlor just off the front entrance. We arrived very late one evening, after the wedding, and sat in the parlor with some warm ginger bread that Sharon had waiting for us, and chatted about the evening until 0230. The parlor, besides the garden, was our favorite sitting room.
Thank you, Sharon and Laurie, for the wonderful hospitality you showed us. Even though you are not used to making all that coffee, you did a fantastic job keeping up with our caffeine needs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandemuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon R, Owner at Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
What a fab review! I have been beaming since I saw it!
Thank you very much, we loved having the four of you here. It was great fun and I enjoyed the challenge of Eggs Benidict having never made it before.
My coffee bean bill has solved since you left much to the disappointment of Joe our lovely deli
Owner in Birchington. Hope you come back in the future! X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birchington
5.0 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
503 reviews
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
700 reviews
4.2 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
357 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Waves B&B
The Waves B&B
#3 of 6 in Birchington
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast

Property: Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast
Address: 102 Minnis Road | Minnis bay, Birchington CT7 9NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Birchington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Birchington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous Art Deco building with in easy walking distance of Minnis Bay.We have three rooms, all ensuite with TV, Wifi, hospitality tray, desk and balcony. Poirot Room has a super king/twin bed. Marple room faces over the garden with a super king bed. Whimsy suite has a super king bed and a seperate area with a single bed. It has a very large balcony and is ideal for three adults, family or people who like a big room. .We serve a scrumptious Kent breakfast in our breakfast room. The dining room can used in the evening for DIY snacks plates, glasses and corkscrew always available From fifty five pounds for a single, seventy pounds for a double and ninety pounds for a triple. Minnis Bay is a lovely bay within walking distance of beach, village, railway station and the Viking way. Lovely for walkers, cyclists, dog walkers and for visiting Margate, Quex, Ramsgate, Broadstairs and Canterbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minnis WhiteHouse Bed And Breakfast Birchington, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing