We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm on a wet and windy New Year's Eve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Birchington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

What a comfortable and friendly place Minnis Whitehouse B&B is! After a busy lead up to Christmas I wanted to chill out over New Year, I now know you don't have to drive miles to feel away from it all. Sharon and Laurie make everyone fell relaxed and at home, and the breakfast is something else! I was set up for my dog walk after amazing American pancakes with bacon and maple syrup, fruit and toast. I will be recommending it to everyone, and will definitely visit again soon. Keep up the good work!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Best to discuss your needs with Sharon, and she will work around you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon R, Owner at Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

It was lovely to have you here on New Years Eve. Look forward to your next visit so you can try my Kent cakes with crispy bacon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is a superb, extremely comfortable and welcoming B&B with interesting quirky features and paintings. It felt like I was at home the moment I walked through the door. Sharon (the landlady) is incredibly accommodating and her breakfast selection was huge and very tasty. I would definitely recommend you stay here.
Thank you Sharon for making our New Years Eve extra good.

Room Tip: All rooms are light and airy. Quiet location too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon R, Owner at Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

It was lovely to have you here on New Years Eve.
It makes an evening at the excellent Minnis Restaurant for a party easy staying here.
The late breakfast was no trouble and it was fun to have such a mixed group.
You and your two friends looked very glamorous!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of days with our two large dogs. The owners couldn't do enough to accommodate our every need and we would highly recommend the White House as a place to stay. A beautiful house in a great location with fabulous owners- couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inkabeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon R, Owner at Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Well your dogs though quite big they had beautiful manners.
Not a woof just a bit of humming from the Huskey. Glad they enjoyed their sausage too.
Hope you got home safety. It was a miserable day.
Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Another excellent night's stay (will be returning again between Christmas & the New Year)! The reason for another review is that the breakfast we had on this visit was worthy of a special mention. It would be wrong to say it was the best breakfast we had ever had, however it was very close and certainly one of the best B&B breakfasts. Wonderful porridge and fruit compote, followed by perfect poached eggs and wonderful assuages, smoky bacon etc etc etc, finished off with a never ending stream of toast and homemade marmalades!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M1BDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon R, Owner at Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Always a pleasure to have you back.
Looking forward to your twixmas visit. Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

What a lovely Art Deco Bed and Breakfast with easy walk to the sea. Had an enjoyable one night stay mid week at The White House . Sharon made you really welcome with her warm and friendly nature. Superbly comfortable bed and what an amazing feast of a breakfast and with the lovely home made jams and marmalade and lovely fresh coffee. YUM YUM !!!!
I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast with out hesitation.
Andrew

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Citroen2CV6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon R, Owner at Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Thank you Andrew.
Pity it was such a short visit but you packed a lot in.
Glad you liked the marmalade, only made the ginger one the day before!
Hope to see you again for longer next time.
Very best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

What a lovely B&B! The Art Deco architecture and furniture make it a unique place to say, and our room was clean and bright with super comfy bed and pillows, and a nice shower room. There was lots of choice for breakfast and we had Sharon’s Sunday special Eggs Benedict. Yum.
And the hospitality was amazing – talk about going the extra inch… it was more like an extra mile. We booked quite a while in advance to coincide with other plans we had for the weekend, and as the date drew nearer, it turned out to be Sharon and Laurie’s wedding on the date of our arrival. We were very surprised but very grateful that they still honoured our booking, and allowed us to turn up on their wedding day!
The weather got the better of us this time, but we are keen to return to cycle along your lovely bit of coastal path. Thanks very much for all the tourist information you gave us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandP-visit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon R, Owner at Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay, it was a bit of a mad day but lovely.
The choice of Egg Benedict or Egg Royale is a popular special.
Come again and cycle the lovely Viking Way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and I arrived on 14th September with our daughter and two young grandchildren. I can honestly say that this is the best bed and breakfast we have stayed in. Our grandchildren were treated so nicely and with little extras like soft toys on their beds.

Sharon was a fabulous host and the breakfast was amazing. She even allowed our son, daughter in law and baby grandson to join us for breakfast and they weren't even staying with us!

Will definitely be staying again.

Thank you for you hospitality.

Brian and Helen Driscoll.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cartridgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon R, Owner at Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

All your family were absolutely delightful and your granddaughters were great fun. I do enjoy a bit of challenge and it was nice that you could all have breakfast together after the wedding.
We would love to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birchington
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
5.0 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
533 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
10.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
896 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ramsgate
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast

Address: 102 Minnis Road | Minnis bay, Birchington CT7 9NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Birchington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Birchington
Price Range: £40 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous Art Deco building with in easy walking distance of Minnis Bay.We have three rooms, all ensuite with TV, Wifi, hospitality tray, desk and balcony. Poirot Room has a super king/twin bed. Marple room faces over the garden with a super king bed. Whimsy suite has a super king bed and a seperate area with a single bed. It has a very large balcony and is ideal for three adults, family or people who like a big room. .We serve a scrumptious Kent breakfast in our breakfast room. The dining room can used in the evening for DIY snacks plates, glasses and corkscrew always available From fifty five pounds for a single, seventy pounds for a double and ninety pounds for a triple. Minnis Bay is a lovely bay within walking distance of beach, village, railway station and the Viking way. Lovely for walkers, cyclists, dog walkers and for visiting Margate, Quex, Ramsgate, Broadstairs and Canterbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Minnis WhiteHouse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minnis WhiteHouse Bed And Breakfast Birchington, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing