We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class views, ambience and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gilleleje Badehotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gilleleje
Reviewed 2 August 2014

At first, we thought we got lost when driving towards Gilleleje Badehotel - but at the end of a small and winding road; this charming and unique little hotel appears. We were lucky to get one of the last rooms when we called just the night before our stay. We had a very warm and personal welcome as soon as we entered the reception area with our little son, and were able to upgrade to a better room which gave us a beautiful view over the sea. There is nothing pretentious about Gilleleje Badehotel. However, with its understated style and ambience it is a a place that you could easily fall in love with. The interior and ambience is true to the essence of what a 'badehotel/summer hotel' is all about. We enjoyed the 'simple' summer menu - that was so well cooked, so beautifully presented - in a very friendly and highly efficient way - that the restaurant and kitchen should be applauded. Likewise the breakfast next day was excellent. It is true that some of the fabrics on the furniture in the reception look a bit tired but this is possibly already being looked into; it would be a pity to let go of the crisp an beautiful feel of this place. It's important to note that all of the staff we came across were super professional, and on their toes to provide high quality service throughout. This is a place you would want to come back to asap!

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a sea view and on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Polyhymnia9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

It is expensive, the location is splendid, spa facilities are wonderfull. But it is a misstatement to call it a "Badehotel" The hotel is located on top of a 30 meter cliff. Badehotel implies that you can swim from a beach.
There is nowhere near you can eat, so you are stuck with the hotel menu. It is ok for a 1 night stop. We stayed 5 nights. After the second evening we realized that the hotel menu card - 3 choices only changed once a week.
The Hotel charges much higher rates than similar places on the north coast. The breakfast and dinner does not live up to that standard.

Room Tip: "Strandhuset" is a steal, even at an excorbitant price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pthunbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We spent several days at this hotel while attending a family reunion. First, it is in the woods and overlooks the sea. If you are thinking it is downtown, try again. The breakfasts are outstanding. The room was clean albeit somewhat spartan. No air conditioning but opened windows kept us cool. Nice lobby area...easy to hang out.

Easy to use web page.

Definitely recommend. Just be aware it is more of a B & B than what Americans would consider a motel.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed here with some colleagues for two days. Simple but good rooms, small but had what was needed. With an EXCELLENT view over the sea. All servings in both restaurant and during day was beautiful and delicious. Perhaps could have been more advanced.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of a cycling holiday around North Zealand. We had a pleasant room, sparsely furnished with no TV or radio, and very little space for storage, and a very small shower room (door didn't open past the toilet). However it was reasonably large, quiet, clean and very light, and we had a sea view (though somewhat obscured by the newer outbuildings). Bed was very comfortable.

The downstairs rooms were wonderfully furnished and very stylish. Unfortunately there was a business dinner on one of the nights and we couldn't get access to the drawing room.

Dinner on the first night was wonderful. Problem is they repeated it on the second night, but not as well... as they seemed to be running out of ingredients! There was no bar and we were only offered wine with the meal (starting at £40 a bottle).

The hotel has a magnificent cliff top location - great for evening walks and beautiful sunsets.

We spent a pleasant relaxing day around the port of Gilleleje before cycling on to our next destination.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayjay_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here 2 nights as part of a cycling tour. Room very comfortable with nice bed and sea view (just). No television or radio, but we managed without them!
It does have a tv in the lounge and free wifi
Food was very good in the restaurant for dinner, but breakfast was a bit sparse.
No bar as such; you order drinks from the reception desk.
hotel has no sign outside so could be a problem to find if you don't know where it is.

Room Tip: our room overlooked the sea and had a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingman062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This is an old hotel with a newer side building. Our company had one room in the main house, and one in the side building. The room in the side building was large, well decorated, well furnished and had a private patio. The room in the main building was also rather large, but simply furnished, nice (but not private) balcony with a sea view, small bathroom, no television. Sleep quality was quite good. Friendly staff. We had dinner in the evening, and that was good. So was breakfast, although staff had problems filling the small buffet when needed. Nice open fireplace in the reception area. I didn't try the spa, but looked at the facilities - it seemed to be very good. This is a fine place to stay if you want a quiet time to refill your batteries.

Room Tip: Sea view room in the main building is nice, but the rooms in the side building are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ragnhild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilleleje
24.1 mi away
Kurhotel Skodsborg
Kurhotel Skodsborg
#1 of 1 in Skodsborg
325 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Gilleleje Strand
Hotel Gilleleje Strand
#2 of 3 in Gilleleje
6 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kysthusene Gilleleje
Kysthusene Gilleleje
#3 of 3 in Gilleleje
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Comwell Borupgaard
Comwell Borupgaard
#1 of 2 in Snekkersten
322 reviews
13.7 mi away
Beach Hotel Marienlyst
Beach Hotel Marienlyst
#1 of 4 in Helsingoer
462 reviews
8.9 mi away
Sauntehus Castle Hotel
Sauntehus Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hornbaek
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilleleje Badehotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilleleje Badehotel

Address: Hulsoevej 15, Gilleleje 3250, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen Region > Gribskov Municipality > Gilleleje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gilleleje
Price Range: £105 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gilleleje Badehotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gilleleje Badehotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing