We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good entertainment with less than desirable lodgings.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gamboa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jungle Land Panama Floating Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Gamboa B&B and Inns
Provo, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good entertainment with less than desirable lodgings.”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The adventures are unmatched, we fed 3 types of monkeys from our hands, Carl let us hold his nocturnal monkey, boa constrictor, toucan, caymans, and showed us many other jungle animals. The food was delicious and we had a great time relaxing, playing, and exploring.

Although the lodge was clean overall, we ran into some surprises. Because their is no fresh water (besides bottled water to drink), the shower is lake water, as are all the faucets. The toilet is a toilet seat with a plastic bag underneath, you do your business, sprinkle in some sawdust and call it a day. i.e. no flush toilets. And the worst part, I don't think this happens to everyone, but we had to kill 4 cockroaches in our room before we went to bed.

It is truly a jungle adventure, with jungle bugs, animals and relaxation.

Just a real quick funny story, we were out looking for alligators and caymons on the night safari and all of a sudden our motor stopped working, we had to paddle back to the lodge and the next morning we discovered that the propeller had fallen off and was sitting on the bottom of the lake. It was a fun little adventure that we'll be laughing about for a while.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the suite (private bathroom), you won't want to share the pit toilet with stra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
junglelandpanama, Owner at Jungle Land Panama Floating Lodge, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
We appreciate all reviews and strive to give our guests the best experience possible. I enjoy surpriseing our guests but only in good ways. When it comes to accommandations it is very important that you know what to expect in advance.
I don't know of many remote lodges that have potable tap water. We explain this to our guests and provide bottle water for drinking.
We are a floating facility and have installed the most eco friendly toilets that we could find. the toilets are non flushing collection units that are vented via a tall chimney so that there is no odor. Collection and self composting models typically use saw dust. Other responsible lodges use the same system around the world.
Most people equate cockroaches with filth, this is not the case in the jungle. A few miles to the north of us is Barro Colorado Island, this is where Smithsonian Institute has their world famous tropical research center. On the Island the scientist have clasified over 100 different species of cockroaches. We have a professional fumigation every 2 months and do our own pest control when need be. These insects fly and there is no way to prevent the occasional visitor. At least it wasn't a snake or scorpion.
Boat motors can be probmatic at times. This was the first time in my many years of boating to lose a propellar. I was thankful that it didn't require an expensive transmission repair. My first mate and I rowed back to the lodge as the guests spot lighted for wildlife. We later transfered to a motorized dug out canoe and continued the night safari.
If you require flushing toilets, clorinated swimming pool, air conditioning, and high speed internet, we are not the lodge for you. If you are looking for a very unique experience in a tropical paradise, I think we can pleasantly surprise you.

Living the Adventure,

Capt. Carl Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
47
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Wow! What an adveture! My girlfriend and I stayed for the night on Carls amazing floating lodge and experienced the jungle in a way that I cannot imagine being outdone. What Carl has created is absolutely beautiful and we cannot thank him enough for his amazing hospitality. Meeting him along with Tim and a few of the local guides/helpers was incredible.
We caught and were served our own fish, along with a few other AMAZING meals prepped by Carl. Along with fully catered meals, we had access to beer, wine and even some local rum. After kayaking thru the jungle wetlands to a beautiful waterfall, fishing on the lake at sunset, and caymen hunting/stargazing at night, our experience was magical, and we slept that night better than we have in a long time.
The sights and sounds we experienced on this trip are long imprinted in our minds. Much Love!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint Maarten
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2012

What a surprise we had, when our excellent and friendly host Carl, manouvred his boat, through the Canal,passing lush rainforest covered islands and going through small streams. There it was, our floating green palace in one of the hidden bays of the great lake. Just an hour and a half away from the noisy city and not even 10 minutes from the passing ocean bond giants. My wife, daugther and I, enjoyed the spacious suites, with the big balcony's overlooking the bay and the jungle behind it. The many birds and wild animals, provided us with the nicest back ground music I could imagine. The good, friendly and personal care of Carl and his staff, made our Panama Canal visist unforgettable. Yes, a unique place for a unique experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Our family of six loved staying at this floating lodge. We had a fantastic time! We went kayaking, twice on an organized and once on our own. All three times we went to different waterfalls and jumped from them into a lovely natural pool. We stayed overnight two nights which is a good amount of time to stay. We went fishing each day with a guide and were able to go separately, too. There are kayaks and canoes available to use without guides or with them. My family loved jumping off of the top deck into the water. The food was excellent. Captain Carl is quite a character and a lot of fun, if gruff at times. He contacted us ahead of time to inquire about any food or drink preferences and had plenty of beer and rum for our visit. We especially loved our nighttime crocodile hunt. We found several crocodiles and caymans. My son even caught a 3 foot cayman with his bare hands! I was very scared he would drop it into our boat! Our rooms were clean and comfortable. Request the top floor to get your own private bathroom. I accidentally hit a review of a fitness center and room service and couldn't remove them. These are not offered at Jungleland Panama.

Room Tip: Top floor to get private bathroom and more light and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyDi1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2012

If you are looking to have an adventure this is the place. It's the perfect combination of adventure and hospitality you are looking for. Captain Carl made our Panama trip. Carl will take you on a Kayak tour through the canal and show you all the different water ways and species that live there. The rooms are simple and very comfortable!! The view is unbeatable. The food was the best I had in Panama- keeping it authentic, yet still American enough where I wasn't scared ;)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

Very comfortable place to stay. Large room with one entire wall screened and a private balcony overlooking the lake. Temperature was perfect and there was a fan in the room. Private bathroom with running water (from the lake). The toilet is not a flush toilet, but don't let that discourage you, we could never smell it.

Food is prepared for you at each meal, and is quite good. Plenty to do with a lake to swim or fish in and kayaks to paddle around in. You get a boat tour at night to look for crocodiles. There is plenty of unscheduled time to do what you like.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cschutterun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This was truly great experience, more than just a place to stay! Carl, our host was so welcoming showing us some very amazing things in the jungle of panama. We were able to truly enjoy an outdoor experience exploring in a kayak to reach a waterfall was the highlight. We intended to only go for the day tour but ended up staying on the floating lodge because we didn't to miss out on the opportunity. I highly reccommend it to anyone who wants to see the real panama canal!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gamboa
18.3 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
11.0 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#25 of 113 in Panama City
883 reviews
19.7 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 113 in Panama City
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
19.2 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#19 of 113 in Panama City
1,138 reviews
19.6 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 113 in Panama City
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Land Panama Floating Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Land Panama Floating Lodge

Property: Jungle Land Panama Floating Lodge
Address: Lake Gatun, Panama Canal, Gamboa, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Colon Province > Gamboa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gamboa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our floating lodge is the most unique all inclusive in Panama. A stay with us includes all meals, beverages, touring, and activities on the lake. Activities include swimming, fishing, kayaking, and hiking, .. or you can just relax in the hammock lounge. The lodge is anchored in a secluded cove of lake Gatun of the Panama Canal. We are surrounded on all sides by a tropical forest teaming with exotic birds, plants, and animals. Huge ocean going ships transit the canal not far away. Come live a true adventure in the cross roads of the world. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing