We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If your in Panama DON'T miss this awesome adventure!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gamboa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jungle Land Panama Floating Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Gamboa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

The trip was packed with fun activities that kept you moving and entertained!
Captain Carl was hysterical, entertaining as well as very knowledgeable!
When I go back to Panama I will absolutely do this tour again!
It was recommended by a friend and I am very greatful that we did not miss it!
Worth every Penny!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Costellosw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2012

My boyfriend and I booked a day trip with Captain Carl as we were staying at the Royal Decameron for the week but still wanted to see the historical canal. We used Panama Roadrunner services for transportation from our hotel to the canal and back as its about a 90 minute drive away. Captain Carl met us with his boat on the canal and off we went jetting down the canal where we saw huge freighters that were drilling and working to widen the canal, and the huge piping system that transports sledge away from certain areas. We also were lucky enough to see and feed 3 different kinds of monkeys from the boat, saw a baby caiman (with the trusty and sharp eye of Carl!), turtles, and birds. About 2 hours later we arrived at the floating lodge that was almost like a dream. We got onboard the lodge where we had a delicious lunch before kayaking into a remote waterfall where we went swimming and got some great pics! We then went fishing for peacock bass. Everyone caught at least one fish which was awsome :). Carl also has many different animals on board the lodge including a tucan and parrot which we fed, a little night monkey and caiman - you are guaranteed to see wildlife!

We would have LOVED to stay a night or two and experience the jungle at night. Definetely a must do trip while in panama.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leah_mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Jungle Land Panama was definitely the highlight of my trip to Panama! The day started with an excellent tour down the Canal where we also got to feed the monkeys that came right up to us on the boat. The day was filled with fun activities - kayaking, swimming and jumping off a waterfall, fishing (where we caught our dinner!) and late night crocodile hunting around the gorgeous jungle! The food was amazing, loved every meal. And the company of Captain Carl was fantastic. Really interesting, and really hilarious guy! My friend and I decided to make a list of Carl Quotes because we wanted to remember the many funny things he said. After a yummy breakfast the next morning we went to another beautiful waterfall. The king size bed was very comfortable and the shower was warm. Real jungle adventure - definitely worth experiencing!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alyssa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

My wife and I had the opportunity to spend two nights with Captain Carl on his wonderful floating lodge. We first met up with him at the Gamboa Boat Dock at 9:30am on Thanksgiving morning, and were soon joined by six day tour guests. After a quick briefing, we set out for a very interesting and informative tour of the canal. Along the way, we learned a bit about the original construction and the current expansion. We saw tugs, dredges, barges and several large cargo ships. We also cruised through some secluded back waters where we saw numerous birds, crocodile, and monkeys. We arrived at the floating lodge where we had a delicious lunch and met some of Carl's "special" friends. Then it was off on a kayaking adventure to a secluded waterfall (we actually rode in the motorboat with Carl while our day tour friends paddled their kayaks). We had a refreshing dip in the natural pool while the more adventurous of the group climbed the waterfall so they could jump in.

Once back at the lodge, our day tour friends headed back to Gamboa while we stayed on board with Captain Carl. Our room was sparsely furnished, but it was large and the bed was very comfortable. It opened onto a balcony with a hammock and wonderful view. We had a delicious dinner and a nice visit with Captain Carl on the top deck where we shared a few rum and cokes.

The following morning, after a good breakfast, we headed out for a nice ride up a nearby river. It was peaceful and quiet and we again saw lots of birds, beautiful jungle plants and trees and a few iguanas. Back at the lodge we had lunch with more day tourists and the afternoon was spent relaxing on the top deck of the lodge, watching the world around us – very peaceful and relaxing!

Another great dinner and we enjoyed visiting with Captain Carl again and hearing all of his stories! He is quite a character and our stay with him was the highlight of our week in Panama (after 3 nights each at the Canopy Lodge and Canopy Tower). Despite the fact that there aren't flushing toilets or hot water, don't let the lack of modern conveniences scare you away! My wife and I aren't into camping or "roughing it", but we loved the floating lodge and would gladly return. This is a once in a lifetime experience that shouldn't be missed!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeneBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our time at Jungle land. Carl was a very informative and amusing host. We enjoyed the tour of the canal and learned a lot about the history of the area. The lodge was clean and the food was fantastic. Hanging out with Carl and Tim on the 3rd deck was relaxing. I will recommend jungle Land to anyone going to Panama. I am talking to some friends now about setting up a 3 or 4 day stay at the lodge for some fishing and kayaking.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MuffBroRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The adventures are unmatched, we fed 3 types of monkeys from our hands, Carl let us hold his nocturnal monkey, boa constrictor, toucan, caymans, and showed us many other jungle animals. The food was delicious and we had a great time relaxing, playing, and exploring.

Although the lodge was clean overall, we ran into some surprises. Because their is no fresh water (besides bottled water to drink), the shower is lake water, as are all the faucets. The toilet is a toilet seat with a plastic bag underneath, you do your business, sprinkle in some sawdust and call it a day. i.e. no flush toilets. And the worst part, I don't think this happens to everyone, but we had to kill 4 cockroaches in our room before we went to bed.

It is truly a jungle adventure, with jungle bugs, animals and relaxation.

Just a real quick funny story, we were out looking for alligators and caymons on the night safari and all of a sudden our motor stopped working, we had to paddle back to the lodge and the next morning we discovered that the propeller had fallen off and was sitting on the bottom of the lake. It was a fun little adventure that we'll be laughing about for a while.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the suite (private bathroom), you won't want to share the pit toilet with stra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
junglelandpanama, Owner at Jungle Land Panama Floating Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

We appreciate all reviews and strive to give our guests the best experience possible. I enjoy surpriseing our guests but only in good ways. When it comes to accommandations it is very important that you know what to expect in advance.
I don't know of many remote lodges that have potable tap water. We explain this to our guests and provide bottle water for drinking.
We are a floating facility and have installed the most eco friendly toilets that we could find. the toilets are non flushing collection units that are vented via a tall chimney so that there is no odor. Collection and self composting models typically use saw dust. Other responsible lodges use the same system around the world.
Most people equate cockroaches with filth, this is not the case in the jungle. A few miles to the north of us is Barro Colorado Island, this is where Smithsonian Institute has their world famous tropical research center. On the Island the scientist have clasified over 100 different species of cockroaches. We have a professional fumigation every 2 months and do our own pest control when need be. These insects fly and there is no way to prevent the occasional visitor. At least it wasn't a snake or scorpion.
Boat motors can be probmatic at times. This was the first time in my many years of boating to lose a propellar. I was thankful that it didn't require an expensive transmission repair. My first mate and I rowed back to the lodge as the guests spot lighted for wildlife. We later transfered to a motorized dug out canoe and continued the night safari.
If you require flushing toilets, clorinated swimming pool, air conditioning, and high speed internet, we are not the lodge for you. If you are looking for a very unique experience in a tropical paradise, I think we can pleasantly surprise you.

Living the Adventure,

Capt. Carl Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Wow! What an adveture! My girlfriend and I stayed for the night on Carls amazing floating lodge and experienced the jungle in a way that I cannot imagine being outdone. What Carl has created is absolutely beautiful and we cannot thank him enough for his amazing hospitality. Meeting him along with Tim and a few of the local guides/helpers was incredible.
We caught and were served our own fish, along with a few other AMAZING meals prepped by Carl. Along with fully catered meals, we had access to beer, wine and even some local rum. After kayaking thru the jungle wetlands to a beautiful waterfall, fishing on the lake at sunset, and caymen hunting/stargazing at night, our experience was magical, and we slept that night better than we have in a long time.
The sights and sounds we experienced on this trip are long imprinted in our minds. Much Love!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gamboa
11 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#24 of 116 in Panama City
986 reviews
16.7 mi away
Melia Panama Canal
Melia Panama Canal
#2 of 9 in Colon
675 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
#5 of 116 in Panama City
1,654 reviews
19.6 mi away
La Isabela Suites
La Isabela Suites
#48 of 116 in Panama City
55 reviews
19.7 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#3 of 116 in Panama City
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Land Panama Floating Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Land Panama Floating Lodge

Address: Lake Gatun, Panama Canal, Gamboa 0801, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Colon Province > Gamboa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gamboa
Price Range: £107 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our floating lodge is the most unique all inclusive in Panama. A stay with us includes all meals, beverages, touring, and activities on the lake. Activities include swimming, fishing, kayaking, and hiking, .. or you can just relax in the hammock lounge. The lodge is anchored in a secluded cove of lake Gatun of the Panama Canal. We are surrounded on all sides by a tropical forest teaming with exotic birds, plants, and animals. Huge ocean going ships transit the canal not far away. Come live a true adventure in the cross roads of the world. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing