We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must do if you are near Panama City!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jungle Land Panama Floating Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gamboa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jungle Land Panama Floating Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Gamboa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Must do if you are near Panama City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

We went here hoping for a fun way to see the Panama canal and maybe to see a few monkeys and we left with amazing memories. We arrived at the airport and were picked up by the informative and sweet driver from the airport. When we arrived to Jungle Land we were happily surprised with the great food, flowing rum, amazing scenery and fun company. We were all adults and were there for an one night. I don't want to ruin all of the fun surprises of the wonderful Captain Carl but if you're looking for a fun overnight adventure, stay here! Friends or couples will have a good time. You also get to see the jungle and animals in a fun way while seeing the canal as well without taking a jumbo cruise tour. The prices for the food, stay and experience is worth it. This is perfect for a group of friends!! Go with no expectations and let yourself be constantly surprised by the beauty and adventure that is here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Byron, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

this was an incredible experience, I would highly recommend it to anyone even if you do the day trip!! the food was amazing, the crew are very entertaining and knowledgeable. you get good food,drinks,history and entertainment all in 1 stop!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keely R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

We were picked up at the Gamboa dock at exactly 9:30am just as promised. We were transported on Captain Carl's boat through the canal and out to a floating houseboat where we could choose between kayaking to a waterfall or fishing. We had a lunch that was very good and some free time to relax on the boat or swim off of the lodge. We then explored the canal and saw great wild life. Carl then returned the day visitors back to Gamboa and five of us stayed for the night. We had a nice dinner and did some night exploring in the jungle river. The next morning we had a good breakfast and were returned to the Gamboa dock by 9:30am sharp. We enjoyed all of these activities and the experience of a night in the jungle on a floating lodge. This is a boat so the accommodations are very minimalist but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was fine. That is all just part of the adventure.

Room Tip: We stayed in a top room and we had a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMNMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

This was our second trip to Panama. We have stayed in Casco Viejo, Contradora, and Playa Bonita. However, we never imagined a stay deep in the jungle with all the tropical animals at our fingertips! We were a family of five which included a set of Grandparents, myself & my husband, and our 12-year old daughter. The dock was less than an hour from Panama & Captain Carl arranged for round trip door to dock transportation which was extremely convenient. We planned an overnight stay & were so thrilled we'd made this decision as several people opted for the day trip, but we heard them mention they wished they had stayed overnight! Captain Carl was a wonderful host/tour guide. Sometimes a bit gruff, but it truly just added to the charm. This was a GREAT family adventure. Although kid friendly, the boat isn't really set up for REALLY little ones so you want to keep your eye on them if they are small (i.e. under about 6+/-) as it is multi-level & wide open gates right off the boat...fun to jump from into the lake!

My husband had a BALL on a private fishing trip with one of the guides for Peacock Bass. They will take you morning or evening or you can just hop in a canoe or kayak & go off by yourself if you wish! Always something to see or do, but plenty of relaxation time too. I expected something much more "rustic" but found the entire boat fascinating, well maintained, and much more than anticipated.

My daughter fell in love with the boat animals (toucan, night monkey, & parrot) and couldn't believe it when she was able to feed 2 other types of monkeys right from the boat...they hop right aboard! A crocodile search topped it all off that evening & all were impressed with Adam who was a true "Cayman Wrangler".

I can't wait to visit once again & we will be bringing several of our friends along next time!

Room Tip: * If at all possible, get the top floor suite with the private bathroom & deck with Hammock. Ho...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Erika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moose Jaw, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

Thank goodness friends had recommended Jungle Land. It is truly an unique experience, and the highlight of my Panama holiday. Capt. Carl was very informative about the canal ( and still learning more as he takes pictures and googles) and Lake Gatun. We saw lots, kayaked, fished, swam, went on a night safari, fed and held some of Capt. carl's pets. The meals were great, my compliments to the cooks. Sitting on the top deck at night listening to all the jungle sounds was relaxing and a great place to visit with friends. Thanks again for everything Captain Carl.

Room Tip: Recommend you book one of the rooms with a private washroom and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Captain Carl promises you will "live the canal" when you book a stay on his houseboat hotel (the only one in Panama) on Lake Gatun. He isn't kidding. The Panama Canal is his driveway (and his guided boat trip out to the houseboat is full of canal info). The houseboat is moored in a secluded branch of the lake with toucans, tamarinds, monkeys and caymans as your only neighbors. Carl is a gracious and talented host. The rooms on the houseboat are basic in design but spacious and comfortable with good mattresses, plenty of breezes and breathtaking views. The composting toilets work perfectly. All activities are included in overnigh rates (kayaking, hiking, fishing, hammocking) and every excursion was fun and well planned. Food and drinks are included for overnight guests as well and the atmosphere is festive and relaxing. I can highly recommend a night or two living the canal with Captain Carl.

Room Tip: worth splurging for one of the two "suites" with private patios with a hammock and chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenCatchpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

Had a great time, never a dull moment. The service was excellent, we were really well looked after from start to Finnish. Carl was an excellent host and entertained us with animals, a canoe trip and some fishing. We also had lots of wildlife tours and saw lots of interesting things - would highly recommend!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gamboa
18.3 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
11.0 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#23 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
19.7 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Melia Panama Canal
Melia Panama Canal
#1 of 9 in Colon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
22.6 mi away
The Westin Panama
The Westin Panama
#2 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
17.6 mi away
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
#7 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Land Panama Floating Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Land Panama Floating Lodge

Property: Jungle Land Panama Floating Lodge
Address: Lake Gatun, Panama Canal, Gamboa, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Colon Province > Gamboa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gamboa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our floating lodge is the most unique all inclusive in Panama. A stay with us includes all meals, beverages, touring, and activities on the lake. Activities include swimming, fishing, kayaking, and hiking, .. or you can just relax in the hammock lounge. The lodge is anchored in a secluded cove of lake Gatun of the Panama Canal. We are surrounded on all sides by a tropical forest teaming with exotic birds, plants, and animals. Huge ocean going ships transit the canal not far away. Come live a true adventure in the cross roads of the world. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing