We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Panama!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jungle Land Panama Floating Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Gamboa B&B and Inns
england
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best place in Panama!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed in the floating lodge for one night in October during our trip to Panama, and it was easily the best part of the holiday. We were picked up by Carl by boat, and taken to the lodge via the Panama Canal! At first we passed the large container ships, before heading into the jungle and seeing many birds and three types of monkeys; howlers, capuchins and tamarins, including a monkey who lives on an island on his own; Pablo.
Carl was very knowledgable about both the history of the canal, and also the jungle wildlife.
Upon arrival at the lodge, we had a great lunch. Our room was perfect, with a view out into the lake and jungle, and a hammock on the balcony.
In the afternoon we had two kayak trips to different waterfalls, where we saw iguanas, toucans and hawks, and could swim in the rivers.
Our evening meal was again excellent, including catering for vegetarians, and beer and wine flowed all evening. My only regret is that we only stayed one night, as there is nothing better than waking up to the sounds of the jungle.
I cannot recommend this place enough, and is a must do on any trip to Panama!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stumc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
47
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akureyri, Iceland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We really loved our time on the floating house! Me and my friend stayed one night and we wished we could've stayed longer! It was one of the greatest things on our trip.
Captain Carl picked us and a group that was doing the day tour up at the boat ramp and as we drove out to the lodge we got a great tour of the canal and the lake. Carl is so knowledgable, a born entertainer and a great guide. He told us about the ships and the canals, the trees and vegetations, the monkeys, crocodiles and other wildlife. When we finally got to the lodge after the amazing tour we receivede a delicious lunch. We dove into the lake, drank beers and chilled out in the hammocks. We then canoed to a beautiful little waterfall in the jungle where we swam and played with beautiful scenery all around.

Carl has some animals on the lodge which he has captured or saved and he showed us some with great care and respect. Me and my friend and another couple were the only ones staying the night so we had a really nice, relaxed afternoon. My friend canoed out and did some fishing and you can choose to do some more activities if you like.

The room itself was fantastic, super clean and neat, the toilet very nice and I absolutely loved that the wall facing the lake wasn't solid, but only fly net so you could always see out and we fell asleep to the sounds of the jungle. We stayed in the suite and had a private balcony with a hammock, amazing!

Carl then cooked us a wonderful three course dinner and ate with us. Afterwards we went out for a night excursion, saw tarantulas and caimans and stopped at a little island. There we lit a bonfire, had some beers and chatted.

We woke up to a delicous breakfast and then Carl dropped us off at the boat ramp again. We felt so welcome, Carl was a great host and we simply had a fabulous time! I recommend this to anyone, family with kids, couples, people of all ages. You can have an adventure filled time or just relax and enjoy the beautiful nature and surroundings. A must to when in Panama!

Room Tip: I recommend getting the suite, it's really worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Svadilfarinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Amazing experience! Amazing lodge! Great company!

I stayed in the floating lodge for one night with three friends. It was THE BEST TIME! We arrived around 4 p.m. and after a nice boat ride through the canal (next to giant barges and ships making the trek through Gatun Lake), a stop to see Pablo the monkey on his island and a giant crocodile sighting, we got to the lodge to get settled. The lodge is spotless with an eating area, bar area and deck full of hammocks on top. Capt Carl and his staff had a delicious dinner prepared for us... we expected sandwiches or bbq and got a full meal with steak kabobs, mashed potatoes, vegetables and cheesecake! Later that night we did the night excursion where we saw several crocodiles and had a bonfire with beers on a secluded beach next to a waterfall in the middle of the rainforest! I had to stop and pinch myself a few times during the experience because it was so unbelievable. The next morning we woke up to a breakfast complete with eggs, pancakes, orange juice and coffee. We went fishing, found some more monkeys that we were able to feed and then had lunch (another full meal of pork, vegetables, etc.) and then went kayaking to a waterfall where we could jump from into a pool of water. It was a full 24 hours of activities (Capt Carl knew we wanted to take advantage of our time at the lodge). We were definitely well taken care of and enjoyed the knowledge of Capt Carl and his staff and the amenities at the lodge!

Besides the amazing experiences and activities, we had a long delay on our flight into Panama and Capt Carl was happy to reschedule our stay without any issues (we visiting during the non-tourist season so I am sure its not that easy all of the time). He arranged transportation for us out of the city and back in the following day. Overall, super accommodating!! We were all sad to leave and I hope to return some day as well as send as many of my friends to the lodge as possible. If you are visiting Panama, this is an experience not to be missed!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Binoculars are the only thing that would have made this trip better for me.
Somehow Carl manages to keep this lodge spotless and although you are surrounded by water and in the jungle nothing is missing.
Carl will keep you as busy as you want to be.
I traveled with my 8 year old soon and some well traveled friends and it was an adventure for us all.
He got to feed a monkey, see many birds and an crocodile .We went fishing, kayaking a night safari and we e en had time for a kayak trip before we left in the morning. When the howler monkey howls it is time to get up!! Well for us anyway. I also saw the largest spider I have ever seen.
Carl kept us safe and well fed.

Room Tip: Choose one with your own bathroom if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ttravelerbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Verne, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

As Americans we are addicted to the business of life. Spending time on the Floating Lodge was such a treat. Not only are able to relax with the sounds of nature, but you are treated to activities, great food and Captain Carl!!!! We spent our first day touring the canal. What an up close and personal account you are driving side by side container ships. AWESOME!!!!

Carl's ship is ran with great precision. The meals were fabulous, the activities were entertaining and all of our needs and wants were meet. This was truly a highlight of our vacation. We have a 13 year old daughter and she was a great age for the canoeing, fishing, swimming, etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andreagosnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We had a great overnight stay with Captain Carl. This included relaxing in the hammocks with some cocktails and yummy food (Captain Carl seeks to accomodate all eating needs!).

Late at night four of us got in a boat and took a mini expedition to see the nocturnal creatures, including caiman - we may or may not have caught one to see it up close and personal! Our bedroom was perfectly comfortable and it was great to wake up to nature through the screened in porch.

The next day we had great weather and went out on the kayaks to get the feel for natura in the whole canal zone. From monkeys to birds to crocs, you can really appreciate the nature Panama has to offer. We also kayaked to some water falls to take in some adventure light!

If you have a sense of humor and sense of adventure, but also want to take things at a relaxed pace, this if for you!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdanish13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We spent 2 nights here with Capt Carl and his crew and really enjoyed it, it is good to really let go of the stresses and strains of modern life and really relax.

Swimming in the lake, tours by various boats into the surrounding jungle, a swim in a waterfall and seeing a lot of monkeys, crocs, terrapins and the like, even sat round a camp fire having a good conversation and a lot of cold beer.

Good experience and nice people


Thanks you very much

Kathy and Martin

Room Tip: We had the floating lodge suite and it was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lambkin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gamboa
11.0 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#26 of 114 in Panama City
892 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
19.7 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#5 of 114 in Panama City
456 reviews
19.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
19.2 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#18 of 114 in Panama City
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Land Panama Floating Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Land Panama Floating Lodge

Property: Jungle Land Panama Floating Lodge
Address: Lake Gatun, Panama Canal, Gamboa, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Colon Province > Gamboa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gamboa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our floating lodge is the most unique all inclusive in Panama. A stay with us includes all meals, beverages, touring, and activities on the lake. Activities include swimming, fishing, kayaking, and hiking, .. or you can just relax in the hammock lounge. The lodge is anchored in a secluded cove of lake Gatun of the Panama Canal. We are surrounded on all sides by a tropical forest teaming with exotic birds, plants, and animals. Huge ocean going ships transit the canal not far away. Come live a true adventure in the cross roads of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jungle Land Panama Floating Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing