We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jungle Land Panama Floating Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Gamboa
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Central Park Hotel(Panama City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
128
14
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
14
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaptain carlday tourstaying overnightunique experiencesmall crocodilesgo fishinglake gatunnight monkeygreat lunchfeed monkeysstayed for two nightslocal monkeysovernight packageprivate deckfunny guyinformative touroverlooking the water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We are a young couple from Europe ( Italy / Germany) and we did a day tour with Captain Carl Davis from Gamboa. This included a boat tour through the canal and the lake gatun seeing from close many iguanas, croccodiles, monkeys and sloths as well as a great kayak tout through thick vegetation to a refreshing waterfall. We had a really tasty lunch at the amazingfloating boat house from which we also swam and relaxed big times. Unfortunately we didn't spend the night on the floating house but the day tour was totally worth it. A big plus from our side to Carl as he was really flexible since we joined the tour on last minute from a homestay in Gamboa.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank umbimuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My wife Kristy and I had such a great time with Captain Carl and his crew. From kyaking through the rain forrest to swimming, fishing, food, monkeys...so much. Just waking up to the sounds of the rain forrest in the morning is worth it.
Thanks again Captain
Shawn and Kristy

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

A family traveling with kids ages 9 & 10. The boat ride provides exposure to the canal. One you arrive at the lodge you will kayak, jump from a waterfall, see monkeys, cayman, crocs and many birds. SPEND THE NIGHT. Once the large group leaves you can spend time with Carl and the crew. They all have interesting tales to tell. The night safari was a huge hit with all of us.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank 4travelers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We were there on a day trip about two years ago and knew at that time that we had to go back when we found out that we could spend the night. We spent two nights on the houseboat on Feb 9 & 10 as the culmination to our Costa Rica/Panama holiday. I would recommend this trip to anyone. We had the time of our lives and it was a great 50th birthday present.

We met Carl and Ryan (along with the rest of the people on the tour) at the Gatun boat launch. Ryan guided our tour as we left the boat launch. We spent about two hours as he discussed the plant and animal life on the Canal and in the lake. Ryan got us relatively close to a large croc (great pics) and numerous small monkeys. There were also a few seniors who had no problems getting in and out of the boats, thanks to the staff. At the houseboat, we were fed a good, substantial lunch and went kayaking down narrow channels to a waterfall and pond that was perfect for swimming in.

Around 3pm, the day trippers were taken back to the boat launch, leaving about 10 of us at the houseboat for the night. We enjoyed dinner, drinks and the good company of the other guests. Later that night was a trip through the jungle watching for crocs/caymans, of which we found a couple. We returned after a good time and found that our king sized bed was the most comfortable bed we had on our trip (sorry Casa Luna and Miramar Panama, you were a distant second and third). We spent the next day paddle boarding for a few hours, swimming by the houseboat (with the croc that swam by later), and the highlight for me, kayaking into the jungle on my own.

Carl is not your average resort concierge. No three piece suit, no air conditioned lobby to greet us in, (no running hot water!). He is also perfect for the location. Is he a little rough around the edges? You bet and he should be. Great sense of humour too. I also felt completely safe the whole time. The floating lodge is suitably rustic. If you are going to do this trip expecting white tablecloths, uniformed waiting staff and someone there at your every beck and call, shame on you. You haven't done your homework.

If you are in Panama and want to have the adventure of a lifetime, this is for you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This was the highlight of our 3 week trip in Costa Rica, Panama, and Honduras. The cruise on the canal to the lodge was great! Cruised right by several large ships that had just gone through the locks. Our room was large, had a comfy bed, and great private deck overlooking a small island. Saw a turtle swim by right after we checked in. The food was so good, the activities all fantastic and the staff (especially Ryan and Daniel) were so friendly, knowledgeable and accomodating. I can't say enough about it. We had 3 nights and it was enough to do everything we wanted to do-kayaking, swimming, fishing, monkey tour, and the best part-night jungle tours looking for crocs and caymans. We saw many and caught some smaller ones (4-5 feet!!!) to get pictures with. With our screen wall, we fell asleep to the night jungle sounds and awoke to howler monekys. Anyone going to Panama needs to experience at least a day tour to this place but I would recommend one night at least. I would also like to thank Captain Carl for arranging our driver for an Old Town tour and a tour of the locks. I would also add that some people put too much emphasis on whether of not Captain Carl is involved with them. He wasn't there for our first 2 days but the staff that was were fantastic. He came our last night and we really enjoyed him but whether or not he is there is not an issue as far as we are concerned.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lams45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews