We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jungle Land Panama Lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jungle Land Panama Floating Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gamboa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jungle Land Panama Floating Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Gamboa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Johns, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jungle Land Panama Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

My family of 5 did the day tour excursions 2 year ago, and we enjoyed the day so much that we decided to stay overnight in the lodge this trip. On the boat ride to the lodge, Captain Carl educated us on the Canal, and it's expansion. We also were able to stop at several islands to feed monkeys and iguanas. When we arrived at the lodge we kayaked to a waterfall where we could swim. The kids always enjoy jumping from the 2nd floor of the lodge to swim in the lake as well. Later that afternoon some of us fished, and some of us relaxed in the hammocks on the third floor of the lodge. The food prepared by Brian for all meals was delicious! After dinner Captain Carl took us on a nighttime boat excursion to hunt for crocs, and caiman. This was the highlight of the trip for our kids. He caught a few small caiman/crocs, and let our kids hold them. We felt like we were on a "Crocodile Hunter" show! Our rooms were comfortable, and clean. Each room has it's own balcony with a hammock overlooking the lake. The rooms are rustic, and simple, but perfect for a stay in the jungle. We are looking forward to coming back again, and making this a family tradition.

Room Tip: All rooms are mostly the same and are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My 12-year old son and I spent nine wonderful days visiting Panama in June. We went all around various parts of Panama and even though every part of our stay was fantastic I have to say that I didn't experience that "aaahhhhhhhh" release until we got to Jungle Land Panama. The day tour was just awesome seeing the sites along the canal, feeding monkeys, picking fresh mangoes, eating the best lunch I had during my entire vacation, relaxing in the hammocks, kayaking and hiking to the waterfall and jumping off, returning to the lodge to jump off the deck, and then saying goodbye to the day tour guests. The day continued with great rum and conversation with Carl on the upper deck while my son relaxed in the hammock. We went fishing with Jose (Hi Jose!) and came back to an absolutely delicious dinner. After dinner we went on the night boat excursion where the waters illuminate like the stars with bioluminescent organisms (just breath-taking), Carl skillfully spotted crocodile and easily swept a baby up with his hands to show us, we also came upon a four foot Caiman crocodile which we did NOT scoop up into the boat. When we came back to the lodge Carl had another surprise for us that was probably the one of the best experiences of my life (I won't divulge this one; I'll just say it was small and adorable and melted my heart). The room was very attractive and comfortable; we had our own bathroom and our own private deck. In the morning we were served another delicious meal and then sadly we packed up to go home. If we ever return to Panama we will definitely return to Jungle Land Panama.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We just did the one day tour and stopped at the floating lodge for lunch, to change, and some swimming. But I wish we had known about it or we would have stayed there. They picked us up from our hotel, boated around the huge barges in Gamboa lake, stopped to see and feed different monkeys. Then after going to the lodge we kayaked to a neat spot in the rainforest where we hiked a short distance to a waterfall where we jumped off into the water. This was my favorite thing we did all week. Our guide was from Missouri and spoke perfect English and some other languages. If you are in the area you must do this!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Beckyj316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Jungleland Panama on May 26th for two nights. It was THE place to be for great adventure. We were picked up at our hotel as pre-arranged and transported to the Gamboa boat launch along with the other guests and day visitors. There we met Captain Carl who gave us an awesome canal tour on the way up to the floating lodge. We stopped at Monkey Island to see some Capuchin monkeys, found crocodiles in the mangrove, and were educated about the Canal expansion. Upon our arrival to the lodge we had a nice lunch prepared for us by the resident chef Brian. After lunch we went on a kayak tour through the jungle to a waterfall. It was fun and challenging. After we got back we had time to swim and kayak on our own around the lake. After the daytrippers left we had the lodge to ourselves. We would highly recommend staying overnight at least one night, but we were glad we stayed for two nights (and the overnight guests get to enjoy the fully stocked bar!). One of the best reasons for staying overnight is because we got to do a night boat tour through the jungle. We saw a variety of wildlife like small crocodiles, a caiman, bats and the water was sparkling with bioluminescence.

The next day we had the option of kayaking, resting, or fishing. We chose to hang out on the deck and chat with Brian the chef. Later we took a boat tour through another part of the lake and saw more wildlife including the little tamarin monkeys.

We really enjoyed the vegetarian food that was skillfully prepared for us and our wonderful conversations with Captain Carl. We felt very welcomed and like we were with friends.

We had the deluxe room which came with a balcony overlooking the lake. The bed was comfortable and we got used to the fact that there was no hot water. The location of the lodge is remote however we always felt that our needs were met.

It was an awesome way to start our 17 day trip through Panama. It worked out best for us to spend our first night in Panama City and leave the next morning for Jungleland. Jungleland is a unique and special place to be...don't miss it!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandgirlB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We are from Brisbane and stayed for a week on the Panama Floating Lodge so glad we did.
Enjoyed the pristine, unspoiled surrounds, flora and fauna.
We really loved hips of kayaking and swimming.
The night excursions with the caimans were so so good.
Great tucker and accommodation that made us feel we were in the rainforest.
We had the very best time in this patch of Paradise.
Ros & Richard

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rlukacz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had a great time on the floating lodge. Everyone cared about us. The food was good. The rooms were simple but good and absolutely cosy for one night. Nothing to complain about at all. The tour was quite interesting though :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felixglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We are a young couple from Europe ( Italy / Germany) and we did a day tour with Captain Carl Davis from Gamboa. This included a boat tour through the canal and the lake gatun seeing from close many iguanas, croccodiles, monkeys and sloths as well as a great kayak tout through thick vegetation to a refreshing waterfall. We had a really tasty lunch at the amazingfloating boat house from which we also swam and relaxed big times. Unfortunately we didn't spend the night on the floating house but the day tour was totally worth it. A big plus from our side to Carl as he was really flexible since we joined the tour on last minute from a homestay in Gamboa.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank umbimuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gamboa
18.3 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
11.0 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#23 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
19.7 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Melia Panama Canal
Melia Panama Canal
#1 of 9 in Colon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
22.6 mi away
The Westin Panama
The Westin Panama
#2 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
17.6 mi away
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
#7 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Land Panama Floating Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Land Panama Floating Lodge

Property: Jungle Land Panama Floating Lodge
Address: Lake Gatun, Panama Canal, Gamboa, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Colon Province > Gamboa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gamboa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our floating lodge is the most unique all inclusive in Panama. A stay with us includes all meals, beverages, touring, and activities on the lake. Activities include swimming, fishing, kayaking, and hiking, .. or you can just relax in the hammock lounge. The lodge is anchored in a secluded cove of lake Gatun of the Panama Canal. We are surrounded on all sides by a tropical forest teaming with exotic birds, plants, and animals. Huge ocean going ships transit the canal not far away. Come live a true adventure in the cross roads of the world. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing