We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome EXCITEMENT & Great for ADVENTURES!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gamboa Rainforest Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gamboa
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome EXCITEMENT & Great for ADVENTURES!!!”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Gamboa was adventurous and exciting! We stayed for two nights and were more than satisfied.
We chose the "all-inclusive" package and would recommend this option if you're a big drinker/plan to be a big drinker. All the drinks (on a specified list) are free!!!
The food was AWFUL!!!! In the "all inclusive" package was a buffet, and the food was terrible. Everything was disgustingly salty and just gross. They do have a restaurant at the bar that serves tasty food, but somehow that food is NOT included in the "ALL INCLUSIVE" package.

The reason my review is "very good" is because we went for the adventures and received plenty!
Our room was big and beautiful, although the bathroom showed signs of mold in places. We had a spectacular view off our hammock balcony. We saw the river and the mountains!
We signed up for the free walking, biking, and night tours and had a blast. We didn't see anything on the night tour, but the bus and atmosphere was nice. The MOST AWESOME part was the MONKEY ISLAND tour. We saw plenty of Monkeys. They were beautiful & funny. One even jumped on the front of our boat asking for food!
We saw tons of parrots (love birds), and plenty of other animals.

Room Tip: Not sure there's a bad room at the hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lstiffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    637
    304
    147
    106
See reviews for
466
691
63
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Worst hotel I ever stayed at and will not recommend it to anyone.

The cute desk clerks speak English but do not understand it very well, I found myself repeating things several times and finally gave up altogether and had my wife do all the talking in Spanish.

We were locked out of our room three times (room key didn't,'t work) each time taking the long walk to the front desk and then waiting 30 to 45 min. to get in our room.
If we had been waiting for a bus which doesn't come often we would have missed it. As it was we missed an important appointment

Reported to the manager that the shower drain was clogged up and I had to stand in 4 inches of water, He said he would get maintenance to fix that, but it didn't happen.
after 4 days we asked for and got another room.

This hotel is located in a remote location and many of the guests do NOT have a car - with out a car you are stuck waiting for a bus or $55 for a Taxi.

The tours are a joke, we went and felt cheated, similar to gas stations attractions in Georgia except the ones in Georgia are free.

Breakfast cost $37 each - mostly things we wouldn't want to serve to guests - most of the time we drove our rental car to McDonnell's.

Rentals cars in Panama is another scam - the car rental was priced okay however it cost nearly $800 for two weeks insurance.

Our credit card number was stolen and charges were made of over $800, we reported this and the charges were removed, however the only place we used our credit card was at the hotel.

Ice was a problem, you have to call room service and when they don't answer I called the front desk, when they didn't answer after 16 rings I walked up 4 floors to the front desk only to find the lobby empty and he was talking to one of the porters.

They have a card in each room asking that you hang and dry your towels and reuse then more than once to save them money.. Problem is it so humid the towels won't air dry in one day - - - We don't like using our own towels at home more than once and find it annoying that they would ask.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sk1ppy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Due to a change in plans, we arrived a day early to the Gamboa Rainforest Resort one day early and three hours before check-in. They gave us a drink card and we headed out to the balcony to take in the view and have a few drinks. I walked over to the tour desk and started to arrange all of our tours. One of the hidden secrets of this hotel is the air conditioned library over the lobby with wi-fi. The main lobby and the Monkey Bar are open air.
Our first tour was the Aerial Tram Tour and Ecological Exhibit. They picked us up at the lobby and we rode to the tram entry area. The tram gradually rose through the trees as our guide pointed out plants, trees, flowers, birds, ants, termites, and told us how all of these interact with each other. We crossed over a pond and looked for caimans, turtles and frogs. When we got to the top of the hill we got off of the tram and walked a few hundred feet through the jungle to an observation tower. The tower is over 100 ft tall, but the slope of the walkway is so gradual that you hardly notice that you are walking uphill. We stopped at many spots on the way up so the guide could show us certain leaves and how some are designed to let light through to lower leaves, she showed us trees that had ant nests at many different levels and explained to us how these separate “factories” all work together. We saw lots of butterflies and we could hear monkeys in the distance. It was amazing how the jungle changes as you work your way higher into and eventually above the canopy. There was a nice view of the Panama Canal traffic below and the Chagres River. After we returned to ground level we walked through various ecological displays including a fish and reptile exhibit, a separate snake building, an orchid garden and a butterfly conservatory with plenty of blue morph butterflies. That evening we walked around the grounds for an hour and a half. We walked to the marina and saw a huge crocodile swimming around and we listened to the parrots and frogs and the fireflies were everywhere.
We stayed on the 4th floor in one of the wings off of the lobby and that was convenient because it is at the same level as the front desk and other services. The view from the balcony was great and the birds were everywhere. You could close your eyes and know without a doubt that you were not in the US just from the sounds of the birds. Parrots were everywhere, and we saw two toucans right outside of our room. There were so many types of birds that we were constantly looking from tree to tree to see new ones. There were capybaras between the hotel and the Chagres. The hammock is very comfortable and there is also a table with two chairs on the balcony and a ceiling fan. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was large and everything was very clean.
The next morning we started out with the breakfast buffet, which was good, and then we got on the shuttle to the marina and hopped on the boat which is on the Chagres River. We headed under the wooden one lane bridge and out into the Panama Canal. We passed several ships and we also saw the huge Titan crane floating down the canal. The driver stopped many times to tell us about the ships that we were passing and they showed us the current expansion work that is being done on the canal. We stopped at a couple of little islands and looked at baby crocodiles and searched for howler monkeys. We pulled up to the “Monkey Island” and there were capuchin monkeys (white face) everywhere. Some of them jumped in the boat to check us out and then jumped back into the trees. We sat there about 10-15 minutes and then checked out some other things in the area. We saw a large iguana and then we found a pack of howler monkeys on another island and they put on a pretty good sound show for us. As we headed back to the resort we passed several more ships.
After the tour we wanted to check out some other things in the area, one downside of the resort property is that there is no quick access to taxis. They offered to call one in from Panama City but we walked out front and talked to a guy standing by a tour van. We rented the van and driver by the hour and we visited Soberania National Park, Panama Rainforest Discovery Center and the Summit Zoo. They offer a free night tour of the grounds in the open shuttle and drive around with spotlights looking for critters.
At 6:45am the next morning we departed for our three hour Pipeline Road Bird Watching Tour. This was the highlight of our stay. Jose was our guide and he spoke great English and he was very knowledgeable about the birds, trees, plants, insects and other animals. He pointed out trees and plants that are used by the Embera Indians for medicine and food. He had a bright green laser that he would use to help us locate birds in the trees and he spotted a three toed sloth for us. He also had a speaker that he connected to an iPod and played bird calls in certain areas to bring birds into view. We learned so much about the jungle. Bring mosquito repellent.

Room Tip: Our room on the 4th floor was on the same level with the lobby and most services
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sewtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

If you are looking for peace, than this is the place for you!
My husband and I are nature lovers so entertainment and partying were not on our list of priorities. We got exactly what we were looking for: monkeys, sloths, capyberras, coatis and more!
This hotel is located in a national park where wildlife is abundant...you don't even have to leave the grounds! If you wanted to take a walk towards the ariel tram, you can see even more wildlife. Go around 8am, 3pm and 6pm for the best viewing of birds, lizards and monkeys.
The all inclusive part was a little confusing the first day, you have to sign for all your meals except breakfast, but don't worry, you won't be charged! They do give you a "receipt" so you can see how much you could have paid if you didn't do all inclusive! Once we figured it out by asking the staff, everything was easy!
The staff were so wonderful, especially the bartenders at the lobby bar. They literally would see us coming and have our drinks (mojitos) ready for us.
The pool was always empty except on the weekend which was heavenly in my opinion, even then, I would not even consider it full!
We stayed in the main hotel and the room was very clean with a huge bathroom. I've heard that the villas are not as great but I did not see them personally.
The food was great, whether it was buffet style or when we ordered off the menu. The restaurant at the marina is also a great place with a view of the canal.
We did the Monkey Island tour and it was awesome! Certainly a must see as you get to take a boat ride on the canal and pass giant freighters!
For the adventurous, you can walk to Pipeline road which took us about an hour. We walked through the town of Gamboa and always felt extremely safe. Take lots of water with you though, it's hot!
Take full advantage of the free night tours. A guide will take you through the grounds on truck with a huge spotlight. We saw all kinds of cool things!
I definitly recommend this hotel but only if you are interested in the wildlife, culture and solitude. There isn't any entertainment other other poolside activities! It truly is a paradise that you should not miss.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mariannabanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, FL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Pictures looked great, and reviews seemed fine, but dissapointed when arrived. Was probably nice 20 years ago, but seems worn out and dirty. Gave us a free drink coupon upon check in, they would not take it at bar or pool ? Main restaurant in main building very poor food, too small, very dirty. Activities were well done (monkeys, fishing, etc). Pool was fine, but pool bar closed at 4 PM while tons of people stayed out there until 7 PM ? Food at pool bar was very poor. Room was nice size and clean, bathroom was old and dirty. Overall, a great property and location, just needs some clean up and new food and beverage services. For $300 per night with internet not included I expected more.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport beach
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Like many of the reviewers before me, I have to say that the Gamboa Resort was absolutely beautiful. It is hard to go wrong in such amazing surroundings, but the fact that the resort is large and airy and incorporates elements of the rainforest into its design makes you feel like less of a tourist and more of a part of things.

My boyfriend and I traveled to the resort a couple of weeks ago and were pleasantly surprised by the fact that the resort was relatively empty. We often had the huge pool all to ourselves (as well as the bartender), and when swinging in our hammock we could hear nothing but the birds and animals of the forest. I know that this resort can get crowded on the weekends, but a crowd would definitely take away from the magic so try to go during the down-time if you can.

As for the resort food, it was overpriced and mediocre at best. If you go into the experience expecting the worst then you might be pleasantly surprised by a meal or two. Since the Gamboa Resort is secluded, they can charge whatever they want and you have to pay up. We paid $18 per person for a breakfast buffet that was mainly fruit and bread.

The staff was a little better than expected after reading other reviews. We did ask for a different room on a higher floor and got denied. We think since there were only a few rooms full they wanted them all together on the same floor. When we got to our room the hammock was missing and they took care of that right away. The staff's Spanish is super fast so be ready to ask them to slow it down. There is not much, if any, English spoken here.

As for the tours, my boyfriend and I did the Radio Station Tour which I would recommend to anyone. It is a three to four hour experience which includes a boat ride, monkey island, and an easy hike through the rainforest to an old US secret army base used to transmit info during WWII. You get the best of everything during this tour -- history, a ride on the canal, and the experience of seeing animals in their natural habitat. It was amazing, and definitely the best tour offered in our opinion.

Overall, I would recommend the Gaoboa Resort; it is an experience in Panama that cannot be missed--just go during the downtime and be prepared to pay big bucks for mediocre food!

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor to avoid bugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ginalyn61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Springs, WY
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Our room's balcony looked out over the Chagres River. Nobody was in the rooms on either side of us, or below us, or above us. The resort was virtually empty. We were the only ones dining at two different restaurants, three nights in a row. The free "night tour" was fine--45 minutes in which we saw a tarantula, turtles, and more. The Monkey Tour was great---boating out onto the canal, seeing monkeys, seeing a baby crocodile. The Pipeline Road tour was a good three hours of strolling and viewing--seeing a sloth, monkeys, and many birds. Yes, this place is expensive. Yes, you can feel a bit limited, or trapped, when it comes to dining choices. Yes, it is big, and the stray cats were heart-breaking to me. But you can have a great couple or few relaxing days here with good food, rainforest sites, and relaxation by the pool.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yodelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gamboa
15.4 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
15.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
15.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#20 of 114 in Panama City
2,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#16 of 114 in Panama City
1,123 reviews
6.4 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#25 of 114 in Panama City
917 reviews
18.0 mi away
Melia Panama Canal
Melia Panama Canal
#1 of 9 in Colon
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamboa Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamboa Rainforest Resort

Property: Gamboa Rainforest Resort
Address: Goethals Blvd. | Soberania National Park, Gamboa 7338, Panama
Region: Panama > Colon Province > Gamboa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gamboa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gamboa Rainforest Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the heart of the Panamanian rainforest lies the completely unique Gamboa Rainforest Resort. This magnificent destination rests where the scenic Chagres River meets the Panama Canal and is the only resort property in the area. Few places on earth offer such an amazing natural experience while providing an unsurpassed level of luxury. Escape the noise and hectic pace of everyday life and surround yourself with the tranquility of the mystical Soberania National Forest. Here, just a short 30-minute ride from Panama City, on 340 acres overlooking the stunning Panama Canal, you can commune with nature in a pristine environment where explorers and pirates once tread. Our Panama Tours offer an exhilarating variety of jungle adventures such as an aerial tram, guided boat tours, fishing expeditions, and much more. Our tours are designed to show you wildlife in its natural setting amidst the colorful splendor of the jungle flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gamboa Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamboa Rainforest Hotel Gamboa
Gamboa Rain Forest Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing