We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Grande Dame is getting tired . . ."”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gamboa Rainforest Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gamboa
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Once or twice every year, for the past seven years, I have stayed at this hotel for a couple of days each time I have had visitors. I love the spectacular and relaxing setting; but regretfully, more and more each year, I notice the decline of this magnificent place. Our rooms this year smelled, one of mold and the other of a strong disinfectant. One of the balconies had at least 1/2" standing water due to a plugged drain, the other balcony lacked the hammock. There was only one hand towel for two adults--not even face towels. The TV reception was very poor. The lobby furniture was dirty and some chairs were wet. The corners of the rug curled up, and I saw several guests trip and almost fall. The sunday brunch was good as usual, and the other meals acceptable. The staff was attentive, but the place is in dire need of maintenance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Panamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

We would like to thank you for taking your time and share your comments, we have taken notes of your pleasant recommendations. We are really sorry for not meeting your expectations; such as yours comments allow us to take an honest look at our operations and make necessary improvements.
We will be very pleased if you allow us to serve you once again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

595 - 601 of 1,721 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We booked this location the day before we stayed there, having heard it was not too far from the city and in the rain forest. Since it was the low season, we had no problems getting a room and there weren't too many people there.

The room was ready when we arrived and had a wonderful view of the river and forest. My daughter spent most of her time sitting on the hammock on the balcony just looking out. The room was nice and spacious for 4 of us.

Staff was very helpful in various tour bookings and other arrangements. We took the night tour, the nature walk where we saw a few things. Swam in the pool which was very nice and relaxing. We also took the boat tour one morning and really enjoyed that, seeing monkeys and going on the lake.

The restaurant food for the dinner buffet and a lunch was really good - though expensive. One evening dinner was only ok. There aren't other food options in the area, so their restaurants are it.

We would have liked to have been able to hike on our own. We asked several staff if there were areas around that you could just hike at and they all said you needed a guide.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

We appreciate your review of our property during your recent stay. I have forwarded your comments to the appropriate departments for their review. We are happy that our customer service was excellent as well as the location of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Hello,

I stayed at the resort in July 2014. The property is a nice property and it seems really good for families. I am more of an adventure traveler so it really wasn't for me, but there was nothing wrong with the property. The staff was very friendly and helped me with all my requests. Angel, the bellboy was awesome and took extra care to make sure I was happy.
The restaurants were good and the rooms were roomy and clean. I liked sitting on the hammock at night and listening to the birds. I wish that the staff had a trail map for the rain forest. I would recommend this to someone looking to relax and stay in a nice resort. It is also good for people with families.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank walrusesaresocool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you very much for your time to write your comments, are very helpful to improve the service of our hotel. We hope to see you again in Panama.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Relaxing stay for 3 days. We got a room with very nice views on the Chagres river. The swimming pools were nice. The restaurants too. The staff friendly and helpful.
The excursions they offer are quite expensive though.
Try to stay in a room on the upper floors. The romos farther from the swimming pools seemed to be more quite.
The wifi in the room was working only from the balcony.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellervkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

I really appreciate your comments and suggestions this will make our hotel a better place to visit. I have noted each of your recommendations because all are great help for us. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at the Gamboa in March of 2014. We had a fantastic room that had a spiral staircase to an additional bedroom upstairs with 2 twin beds - we did not know about the extra sleeping area and it was not needed but we had floor to ceiling windows that were just amazing. Also, a small outside balcony with a fun hammock for taking a little rest. Everyone was very nice at the resort. The food was good, when we ate there. The location was beautiful and very close to the canal and the Miraflores Locks. One day we drove to Colon and the Caribbean side and another day to the Pacific side. They have free bikes to take and explore the immediate area. The walking tours they offer are not all that wonderful but if they don't charge you, do them anyway in case you see something special. We also went to the local native village and that was a fun experience. Check out my review under "renting a car in Panama". I did everything right and still was overcharged by Alamo. Anyway, we highly recommend the Gamboa Rainforest Resort!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Sophiemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with staff, gives us a pleasure to know that you loved the visit to our hotel and enjoy all the nature. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Cordially yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here with my seven year old son in May 2014. It was so peaceful. The room was nice and the view was great. I don't think any of the rooms have a bad view. It was relaxing rocking on the hammock on the balcony. The tours were nice. Food was good. Nothing to complain about. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItsMeandSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel and that you were fully satisfied with our services. We will be delighted to welcome you back in our hotel, shall your plans bring you to Panama again in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I had the pleasure of staying five days at this property as part of a staff conference. The rooms manage to convey the feel of being in a well-appointed jungle villa even though you are in a multistory hotel. Taking heed of previous reviews, I requested a room on the top floor of the hotel and was very pleased with both the view and lack of humidity (moldy smell) in the room. Requesting a dehumidifier is still a good idea though if you do not want to feel stuffy. The food in the buffet restaurant was excellent and each day had a different theme from Chinese to Panamanian. If you have a sweet tooth, the desert buffet is unreal! The pool area and the grounds in general, are well kept and clean. This hotel is a little out of the way, but if you are looking for peace and quiet and the chance to explore the jungle, this is the place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

I appreciate your comments and we are glad to have met your expectations when visiting our hotel, from the entire hotel staff we appreciate your comment is a great motivation for each of us.
Thank you very much and hope to see you again in Panama.
Cordially yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gamboa
15.4 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
6.4 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#25 of 115 in Panama City
959 reviews
18 mi away
Melia Panama Canal
Melia Panama Canal
#1 of 9 in Colon
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
#24 of 115 in Panama City
615 reviews
15.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#13 of 115 in Panama City
1,324 reviews
21.3 mi away
Radisson Colon 2000 Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamboa Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamboa Rainforest Resort

Address: Goethals Blvd. | Soberania National Park, Gamboa 7338, Panama
Region: Panama > Colon Province > Gamboa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gamboa
Price Range: £90 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gamboa Rainforest Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the heart of the Panamanian rainforest lies the completely unique Gamboa Rainforest Resort. This magnificent destination rests where the scenic Chagres River meets the Panama Canal and is the only resort property in the area. Few places on earth offer such an amazing natural experience while providing an unsurpassed level of luxury. Escape the noise and hectic pace of everyday life and surround yourself with the tranquility of the mystical Soberania National Forest. Here, just a short 30-minute ride from Panama City, on 340 acres overlooking the stunning Panama Canal, you can commune with nature in a pristine environment where explorers and pirates once tread. Our Panama Tours offer an exhilarating variety of jungle adventures such as an aerial tram, guided boat tours, fishing expeditions, and much more. Our tours are designed to show you wildlife in its natural setting amidst the colorful splendor of the jungle flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Gamboa Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamboa Rainforest Hotel Gamboa
Gamboa Rain Forest Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing