We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jurrasic park in the rainforest.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gamboa Rainforest Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gamboa
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jurrasic park in the rainforest.”
Reviewed 28 March 2009

Just returned from our trip last night. We spent 2 nights in this resort. Room was clean, musty smelling but once the ac was turned on it started to clear. First impressions were great. Until we had our first meal. The service was lousy, food was even worse. Each meal cost min of $50 for 3 of us. Simple sandwiches etc. BIG mistake was made one day to eat at the buffet on the river. Bill was $102!

We had booked a 3 hour private fishing tour on Gaton Lake which was teriific. The kids caught peacock bass and the guide actually brought us back after 4 hours! We also took the free night tour and saw some wildlife. The guides know exactly where the animals will be...There were 3 full boats of tourists going on the monkey tour at the same time. at $35 A POP...quite profitable. The monkey family on the island has been fed for years at the same place..same times. It is more like a trained show in terms of the reality of what you see. Kids love it tho! I'm just more interested in seeing natural wildlfe that isn't reacting to human involvement.

We happened to be there when there was a large group from Radio Shack there. They had a huge party outside on our final night. So..here we are in a "rainforest" listening to a loud wedding band playing 80's music all night. Seemed to blow the natural feeling that we were looking for!

just remember...they have you trapped in terms of food...so bring water, drinks, and some snacks!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sexyartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    629
    303
    145
    105
See reviews for
454
686
63
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lindsay, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

2 adults one child 12 stayed for 2 nights. The room was great, very clean, large and nice balcony and quiet with great view. One mistake we made was to have the lunch buffet at the Resturant by the lake it was 28.00 and 1/2 price for child. What a rip off, we were not allowed to order from the menu it was Sunday. We also ate in the other returant and found the food to be fine, ordered off the menu. The portions are very large so we just ordered 2 and shared. We did the free night tour and saw lots of cayaberas which was neat. We did the monkey island tour and was great and the pipeline bird tour which was great . We saw sloths, monkeys, parots, Tucans, and many colorful birds. The pool are very nice and relaxing. We had a rental car so we went to the grocery store before arriving and bought beer and rum which was very cheap so we had drinks on the balcony. This place is great for a couple of days if you are wanting to see wildlife. The beds were comfortable as well. No complaints about the hotel at all.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynz001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

This resort is beautiful, and the service was excellent. My sister and I saw so many kinds of birds from the privacy and comfort of our large deck right off our spacious and luxurious room. It was my birthday during our stay and I was treated like royalty by the staff. The food was excellent! Do include the buffet breakfast; it's great and you won't need lunch. We loved the resort and look forward to a return visit. It's a place for birdwatching and relaxing. If you want urban action this is not the right choice for you.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanda1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2009

The views are beautiful. Our room was fine. Clean with a balcony and a hammock with a beautiful view. There is plenty to see and do if you are a nature lover. The food was not particularly good. Not awful, but bland and not worth the price. The food is great in Panama City and it is worth going there as well. If you go to the resort understanding that it is about the nature and not the food, you will have a good time. All the tours we did had something to recommend them. For breakfast, stick with the yogurt or the scrambled eggs with hot sauce. For lunch go to the bar and have the shrimp cocktail. The fruit is fine and the local beer is good.
For dinner, get the simplest thing possible. On the way from the airport to the resort, stop by a bodega and get a few large bottles of mineral water, that will save you money. You want to bring water on the tours because you will get thirsty. We really had a great time. If you have time between check out and catching your flight, visit the old part of Panama City and hang out at Plaza Bolivar, which is beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plunketNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2009

We stayed 3 nights in the main hotel, in a river view room.

Room- after staying in a rustic cabana in San Blas, having a/c and hot water with good pressure, was heavenly. Our room was very attractive, in good condition, the patio was clean, the only issue with the bathroom was that the shower tiles could use some additional squirts of tilex.

Service-- the staff at the front desk and the restaurants were friendly and provided good service for the most part. The only hiccup was one afternoon we ordered food at the pool and I think they forgot the order, as we noticed the couple next to us got their food (and they had ordered after us), so we had to have the staff order it again. We also had an issue with the safe not opening, but maintenance came in less than 10minutes, (ended up battery needed replacing).

Pool- on Sunday, it was packed, Monday it was completely dead. Even on Sunday, though crowded, the waitresses were circulating frequently.

Food- average. Breakfast was included in our stay, and was a quite extensive buffet. For lunch we did the buffet once ( I think it was $22 or 24 plus drinks), we ate at the pool a couple of times ( club sandwiches, burgers, <$10 including fries/drink), ate in the bar one night ( most items <$10), and off menu in the restaurant (less than buffet cost). We stopped at a grocery in Panama City and bought a 2 pack of one liter water bottles for <$2 and a couple of smaller bottles for 39cents to avoid paying the high mark up.

Activities- its kind of set up not for those who want to explore on their own, but finding and being able to walk on your own to the marina, or to the nature trail was not difficult, even though not really clearly marked on their map. Free activites included morning nature walk, evening truck ride, kayak, bicycling. The only paid excursion we did was Monkey Island. We had tried to book it in advance for our preferred day before we left the US, but could never get through to anyone, so when we arrived, the only thing available was for that afternoon.

Overall, I found it a bit overpriced, but the room and setting are beautiful, and the pool area was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2009

I had a great time! wonderful view and friendly service

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2009

My husband, his parents and I stayed at Gamboa in mid-February. His parents had booked a suit, hearing that the hotel and its location were beautiful.

I hotel itself was nice – the lobby was really well decorated and filled with flowers and plants. On the surface, the rest of the hotel looked pretty too – but after an hour or two there, you begin to see that it is not as nice at they have advertised.

The room was adequate: bed, desk, chairs, nightstands, TV, drawers, balcony. The balcony had a table with chairs and a hammock – which was great, but each morning (after the bats had spent the night on the balcony) the furniture and hammock was covered in bat droppings. Anytime anyone sat on the hammock, they had to put a towel down first. My mother-in-law specifically requested a lake view, which was more expensive – and when we arrived, we realized that half of the hotel faced the lake, and the other half faces the pool which over sees the lake – so it may not have been worth it to pay extra for the special request.

The food is not great. Gamboa is in the middle of nowhere, so you are reliant on eating at their restaurants. Because they are the only game in town, I don’t think that they really try too hard. The food was disappointing 75% of the time. We always choice to order off the menu, though they had a large buffet, because the buffet price was a little much ($25 for breakfast, per person).

The hotel was not clean. In the room, the restaurant, the pool, everywhere there were little signs that the hotel was not maintained very well. The toilet in our room was constantly dripping water onto the floor from the base – and there was old caulk on the base of the toilet, indicated that this had been a problem for a while. The pipes and wood cover under the bathroom sink was exposed – and was not attractive. One day, as we were settling into our pool chairs, we noticed a plate with a half-eating hamburger, some fries and an empty cup sitting on one of the poolside tables. Waiters passed the plate 10 times within the next hour, but no one cleaned it up. An hour-and-a-half later, a bird and a cat had found the plate, and where taking turns stealing food from it. Other guests began leaving their old cups and plates on the table as well (because there are no garbage cans for guests to throw things away) – and when we left the pool after two hours, the mess was still there. There is no reason for that.

My husband and I have stayed at all sorts of hotels and are not high-maintenance people. The hotel that we stayed at before this one had a mattress on the floor and a bathroom – but we only paid $20 a night, so we knew what we were getting. But for the price that Gamboa charges for their rooms – it is not worth it. If you can get a great deal of under $130 a night – go for it – it is a pretty location and it is a nice change from the tourist locations in Panama City. But honestly, anything over that and you may feel ripped off.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustBtwnUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gamboa hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gamboa
15.4 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
15.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#17 of 114 in Panama City
2,636 reviews
15.0 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#16 of 114 in Panama City
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
6.4 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#26 of 114 in Panama City
893 reviews
18.0 mi away
Melia Panama Canal
Melia Panama Canal
#1 of 9 in Colon
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamboa Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamboa Rainforest Resort

Property: Gamboa Rainforest Resort
Address: Goethals Blvd. | Soberania National Park, Gamboa 7338, Panama
Region: Panama > Colon Province > Gamboa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gamboa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gamboa Rainforest Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the heart of the Panamanian rainforest lies the completely unique Gamboa Rainforest Resort. This magnificent destination rests where the scenic Chagres River meets the Panama Canal and is the only resort property in the area. Few places on earth offer such an amazing natural experience while providing an unsurpassed level of luxury. Escape the noise and hectic pace of everyday life and surround yourself with the tranquility of the mystical Soberania National Forest. Here, just a short 30-minute ride from Panama City, on 340 acres overlooking the stunning Panama Canal, you can commune with nature in a pristine environment where explorers and pirates once tread. Our Panama Tours offer an exhilarating variety of jungle adventures such as an aerial tram, guided boat tours, fishing expeditions, and much more. Our tours are designed to show you wildlife in its natural setting amidst the colorful splendor of the jungle flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gamboa Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamboa Rainforest Hotel Gamboa
Gamboa Rain Forest Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing