We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gamboa Rainforest Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gamboa
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!”
Reviewed 22 June 2009

This was one of the most amazing places that I have ever been! The grounds were amazing. The adventures were wonderful. We took off early in the morning for a self-guided hike and it was beautiful! Monkeys, ant eaters, camen, toucans, and blue morph butterflies! When it became too hot we stayed in the pool. We had a rental car, so we took night drives. This is so close to Panama City, yet you feel completely isolated. The monkey island trip was worth the money. They had many free activities. The only complaint was the very slow service and the price of food. Also, the deck and hammock needed to be cleaned. I would recommend this to families looking for an adventure and anyone who loves wildlife! I would be more than happy to answer any questions on this place!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seetheworld02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    636
    304
    145
    106
See reviews for
463
691
63
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pointe claire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

We spent four weeks at the Royal Decameron in Farallon ,( good food, good golf, good times) and then spent our last week in Gamboa at the Rain Forest Hotel.
I loved it! My husband, not so much, but he finds it a bit boring if there is not a golf course on his doorstep!

The staff were very helpful and courteous at all times and the accomodations were lovely, especially the hammock on the balcony overlooking the Chagres River.

The food was very well presented and the restaurant down by the river is a great place for lunch and watching the ships go by on the canal.
All in all a very relaxing week before coming back to snow and drizzle. Now, if they could only find a way for the mosquitos to get lost, it would be quite perfect.
Oh, by the way, the villas....Not too pretty outside, a bit old...opt for the hotel rooms instead.

Helpful?
2 Thank welltravelled090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

My husband and I stayed at Gamboa for part of our honeymoon and we loved it. Like other reviews have mentioned, the service in Panama is what some consider bad. If you learn to accept that and not get frustrated, you will have a fabulous time. Gamboa is in the middle of no where, so you are stuck on the property, but there is plenty to do. I would suggest stopping at the store and grabbing some groceries before you go. I would grab sandwhich stuff, drinks, and maybe some granola bars for brkfast. That way you can eat out for dinner and cut down on the cost. You can also grab some beer; since the drinks at the bar are expensive, but the green frog drinks are really good. Just keep in mind where you are and stroll around the property. We saw a tucan and some little monkeys; along with alot of other colorful birds. Remember it's Panama and you will have a blast.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingtexan537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

We read all of the reviews and were very hesitant to stay here, but in hindsight I am glad we did. You just have to understand where you are going. First, a word about the service. Yes, the service is bad. The service in Panama is different than it is in the US and Europe, and it's not great compared to what most people traveling there are used to. That said, the Rainforest Resort seems a tick worse than the country in general. A word of warning, they add a 10% "tip" to all meals without asking. This is then pooled by the hotel and the staff supposedly gets their cut. I told our servers I wouldn't pay it, and instead gave them a 10% to 20% tip that went to them (not the hotel) depending on how good they were individually. Regarding the service staff, some were very good, some were very bad. When we got there, it was 2:35 PM, and we were told no rooms were ready. The girl at the desk pointed at a sign that said check-in time was 3:00 pm. I asked for a manager and just said, are you serious??? So we dropped 5 big suitcases in the lobby and camped out to wait for our room. Somehow, about 5 minutes later, a room was ready and the manager came to get us. Some people have complained about the cost. We looked to reserve on their website and that was $425/night. No way it is worth that. Through Travelocity, we got rooms for $225/night with the third night free. It is definitely worth that. The restaurant is overpriced, and the food is not fantastic. It's not as horrendous as some of the reviews would lead you to believe, but it's adequate. You are also isolated and far away from everything, so you really have no choice but to eat there. The lobby and common areas are very nice. The pool was fantastic. I would also recommend spending a little time in the library upstairs. They have a few interesting things about Panama in there. For the tours, we did the monkey island tour, which was good, and the indian village which I highly recommend. Some people have complained here about bugs, bats, lizards, whatever. Here's a clue folks, you are staying in the rainforest. If you don't want to see bugs and lizards, stay somewhere else. The room was comfortable and clean. We stayed on the top floor and had a great view. I know in a couple of reviews here, there were some compaints about the hammock. All you have to do is reach up and unhook it and take it down if you don't like it?? Personally I liked it, it was relaxing swinging on the balcony.

All in all, it's a good place for families if you understand that you are staying in a rainforest in Panama.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PanamaMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Just returned from our stay at the Gamboa Rainforest Resort with my family (2 boys, 7 and 3 year old)
The resort is perfect for 2 or 3 days. About 40 minutes from Panama City. You are right in the Rainforest and next to the Panama Canal.
The rooms are big and comfortable. 2 Double Beds, terrace with a hammock overlooking the whole property and the river, and a big bathroom.
The food there is good. The pool is huge and perfect for kids.
Two Highlights of our trip; first, the kayak ride with my 7 year old on the Chagres River. We got to see all kinds of exotic animals including crocodiles, howller monkeys, and we got real close to the Panama Canal and the big ships.
The second was the tour to Monkey Island. They take you on a boat to the Panama Canal, and to this island where you get to feed the Howler Monkeys by hand. It was amazing. My kids loved it.
All in all, I definetely recommend this resort for families.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riccoq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, Lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

We arrived at around 10pm after a long day traveling from the UK so did not take much notice of the surroundings and went straight to bed. What a view we had the following day when we woke up, they are breath taking and listening to the birds first thing is something else. We were all inclusive and think this must be new to them as we had to wait for the information regarding what was included and had to ask for our wristbands in the morning.

Our room was very clean and well kept, although the toilet was a bit on the noisy side so had to keep the bathroom door closed. There is no need for a hammock on the balcony really, it takes up a lot of room and is not that comfy. You find you have to look over it if you use the chairs.

Restaurants where clean and the food was pretty good. We were all inclusive so stuck to the buffet and had one night at the Chagres River View Restaurant (on the all inclusive you are allowed to use this one in three nights). Only local drink is included on the all inclusive, but this did not cause us any problems, the beer is very nice and all the cocktails are included. The pool area was lovely, although a bit of a trek to the bathroom! Drinks at the pool bar are included in the inclusive package, the bar snacks are not, however we did try them one day and found them very tasty and plenty on a plate!

We took the night time safari which is free, but is a bit of a sales plug for the aerial tram, segway tours etc. As for the other tours we took the aerial tram with a very friendly guide and the views from the top are something else. The boat trip to monkey island is good fun although not sure I agree with them feeding them to encourage them onto the boats, wild animals should really fend for themselves and not rely on people to come and feed them. The speed boat tour on the chargres river was also great, the river was like a mill pond. We were surprised that they don't offer a tour to the locks on the canal, but they were very happy to arrange a taxi to take us there. Most tours are a few hours so gives you time during the pool each day too.

All in all we had a great stay and wished we could have stayed there longer and had less time at the Royal Decameron.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raleigh, nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

Gamboa Rainforest Resort is the best! The staff is GREAT! The setting is most beautiful and the pool is one of the best we have ever seen. All of the tour guides were knowledgeable and friendly. We just completed our stay of 7 days and didn't have as much time as we would have liked! The resort offers many tours on site and they also offer tours that are free. The free tours that we enjoyed included the walking tour in the rainforest and the night time tour of the wildlife; there are more -- we just ran out of time. We also took these tours and highly recommend them: Aerial Tram, Monkey Island Boat, Embera Indian Village. You can also have them arrange off site tours. We took a great tour of the Miraflores Locks and then went to lunch at a nearby island; the view was incredible! We toured old town Panama and did some shopping there -- very good prices for souvenirs. We got our guide to take us to the supermarket to get some snacks, water, and drinks; you will want to do that as the minibar in the room is very expensive and the supermarket is very inexpensive! The room was VERY clean, not a bug to be seen anywhere. The food was good and was very flavorful; if you order off the menu or got the buffet, it was all good. We were also very happy to be able to go to a Good Friday Service. There is a church in the town of Gamboa called the Gamboa Union Church. Here is there web site should you want to check them out www.gamboaunion.com before a visit to them.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ncoffour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gamboa
15.4 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
15.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
15.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#19 of 114 in Panama City
2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#16 of 114 in Panama City
1,122 reviews
6.4 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#25 of 114 in Panama City
915 reviews
18.0 mi away
Melia Panama Canal
Melia Panama Canal
#1 of 9 in Colon
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamboa Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamboa Rainforest Resort

Property: Gamboa Rainforest Resort
Address: Goethals Blvd. | Soberania National Park, Gamboa 7338, Panama
Region: Panama > Colon Province > Gamboa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gamboa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gamboa Rainforest Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the heart of the Panamanian rainforest lies the completely unique Gamboa Rainforest Resort. This magnificent destination rests where the scenic Chagres River meets the Panama Canal and is the only resort property in the area. Few places on earth offer such an amazing natural experience while providing an unsurpassed level of luxury. Escape the noise and hectic pace of everyday life and surround yourself with the tranquility of the mystical Soberania National Forest. Here, just a short 30-minute ride from Panama City, on 340 acres overlooking the stunning Panama Canal, you can commune with nature in a pristine environment where explorers and pirates once tread. Our Panama Tours offer an exhilarating variety of jungle adventures such as an aerial tram, guided boat tours, fishing expeditions, and much more. Our tours are designed to show you wildlife in its natural setting amidst the colorful splendor of the jungle flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gamboa Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamboa Rainforest Hotel Gamboa
Gamboa Rain Forest Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing