We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a dump!!”
Review of Hostel Wunderbar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Wunderbar
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a dump!!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hostel is really the worse place I have ever stayed, there is broken down junk everywhere! the rooms in the main building are very tacky and cheaply furnished. The owner Sylvia was very rude, and always seemed to be angry.
There is no internet, and although there is a kitchen, there is no where locally to buy any food to cook.
Puerto Lindo should be renamed Puerto Sucio, as it is a very dirty place!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silvia b, Owner at Hostel Wunderbar, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hello,

I am sorry you did not enjoy our hostel. We offer lots of advice about the area on our web page and do advise the tiendas in Puerto Lindo are very small and that we do not offer internet (but that it is available in a cafe less than 500 metres awa). The Harley Davidson motor bikes are going to move very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    11
    2
    4
    8
See reviews for
5
20
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here 2 days too many. Watch out there is absolutely NO internet and no hot water. The beds are very uncomfortable for a price of 45$ per day for 2 people. Stay away from the pillows. The owners do not even take care of the place; they offer the services of a backpacker in exchange for his board, and in my case the person knew less than I did about Panama. If you have a room on the second floor you will have a view of a junkyard, which is truly shameful in the middle of an amazing jungle. We had trouble with the air conditioning, and I reported that the toilet was broken on the first day, but no one came to fix it the entire time we were there. There is no pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karterkreations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silvia b, Owner at Hostel Wunderbar, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hello,

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, we did not have any idea it was so bad for you. I (the owner and manager) was the one who brought your coffee up to your room for you and was onsite for all of your stay. Our volunteer was visiting and we did not realise you did not get enough assistance from him as it appeared to us you were very happy spending time with him. If you had asked us or looked through your guest book I hope you would have found out more information about the area. We do not advertise that we have internet anywhere, however we do have a very good cafe with strong internet less than 500 metres away. We also do not advertise that we have a pool anywhere because it is not full size, however our guests are more than welcome to use our above ground pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Isla Grande hotels

Punta Uva, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This property has a good kitchen area and a really fantastic dorm with decent beds and quality mosquito netting. The hang-out area outside of the dorm probably would have been really great but it, and the whole property, really, was pretty much monopolized by the family volunteering as managers for the hostel. Nice enough people but the guests should have fair use of their common areas, too. Really this was my only complaint as the price was good and the location, right beside Puerto Lindo and a bus ride from Portobello, is handy.

The staff have done a good job of providing a laminated booklet with information about the area, tours and bus schedules. And the produce truck stops there regularly, a God-send!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SocklessJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silvia b, Owner at Hostel Wunderbar, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hi! Thank you for your comments. I'm really happy you enjoyed your stay here! We have taken your comments about the communal area away and ensure this area can be enjoyed for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

A lovely spot in an area of Panama that people should spend much much more time in! Guido and Slyvia where brilliant hosts We stayed here for 10 days while trying to sort out a motor/pedal bike lovely laid back area of the world and if your thinking of going to Colombia GET the boat! The San Blas Islands are incredibly gorgeous.

Stayed in the large dorm room which was just fine clean and tidy and beautifully built in the traditional style of the Kuna. There were monkeys down by the river on a couple of mornings and some nice little walks that you can take.
Pop in to the local village we had a brilliant meal of fish in this ladies front room!! Slightly surreal but delicious food!

Thank you guys for a lovely stay hope Manu is growing up fast!

David and Sara

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKilner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flims, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed in a nice room on the upper floor with a comfortable bed and a nice wooden terrace. The owner are always improving their place, thats why sometimes noisier work has to be done. We were informed before and they paid respect to our holiday time.
They helped and gave us everything we asked for, and we were feeling very welcome.
Regarding informations, this people are more than helpful.
We liked to stay there and respected their willing to improve permanently. They asked us about idears and what we like to have more for our conviences.

Room Tip: Rooms in the upper floor are the newest and have everything, TV, AC, Hot shower and they are very cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank latok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

this hostal was a perfect fit for the start on my trans-caribbean trek to colombia.the staff was terrific and the $35 i paid for a single room with private shower was top drawer.i totally recommend it

Room Tip: if going to colombia this is a must stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skipholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Despite what other reviews say here, the owners are friendly, nice, and helpful people. Their dogs were kept under control while we were there and were not a problem (3 big rottweilers). At first we had first chosen to stay the night at Puerto Lindo Hostel, the red house in the village. It was fine for the price, but Wunderbar was such a better decision, especially for us because they spoke english (and german and spanish). Their location is much nicer too, out of the village a little, and closer to the national park. They are doing a LOT of renovations, so by the summer that place is going to have a lot more rooms to offer. We paid $40 a night for the private bedroom with bathroom (yes, there is no hot water, but hardly anywhere in Panama does lol) we had an A/C and got a nice There is a kitchen but the local store doesn't sell too much, we made some instant noodles and toast and eggs. Stayed two nights and asked them for a tour to see monkeys and they took us to see them. There are 3 monkeys on a near by island that the owner brought there. The 4th one was killed for attacking a girl, so be careful feeding them, they wont go in the water. While we were there we got full use of the dorm area where there are 8 bunk beds in open air with mosquito nets for each bed. They have a billards/pool table, lots of spanish, german, and english books and 2 nice hammocks. They have a pizzeria that is open fri/sat/sun from 6pm. The only thing I can say bad about this place is no internet, but the price was totally fair. They also advertised TV but we didn't have one or see one at the dorm area, but did hear their daughter watching TV. We didn't mind though, we don't watch TV! Anyways, if you are planning to stay in that area, this is a very good choice!

Room Tip: I'd pay the extra money for a room rather than using the open air dorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahMayCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Grande
6.1 mi away
El Otro Lado
El Otro Lado
#1 of 1 in Portobelo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Macondo Hostel Isla Grande
Macondo Hostel Isla Grande
#1 of 3 in Isla Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sister Moon Hotel
Sister Moon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Isla Grande
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
La Casa Congo
La Casa Congo
#2 of 10 in Portobelo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Panama Reef Hotel
Panama Reef Hotel
#2 of 2 in Puerto Lindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
8.9 mi away
Octopus Garden Hotel & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Wunderbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Wunderbar

Property: Hostel Wunderbar
Address: Puerto Lindo | Costa Arriba, Isla Grande, Panama
Region: Panama > Colon Province > Isla Grande
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Isla Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is a nature lover's paradise. Situated within the Portobelo national park and less than 500 metres from the sea, it is the perfect location to explore the coral reefs, mangroves and jungles that are part of this amazing protected reserve. Our cabanas are clean and comfortable and are the perfect base for you to explore the surrounding areas. Catch a water taxi to Isla Grande directly from Puerto Lindo which is less than 5 minutes walk away. The historical towns of Nombre del Dios and Portobelo are both about 20 minutes away. You can also explore our local beautiful nature walks, horse ride, dive, kayak, surf or snorkel. Considered experts in organising crossings to and from Colombia and the San Blas Islands, we can assist in making your bookings with the most reputable captains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Wunderbar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing