We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Expensive Place... Rude Staff” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Louis
Certificate of Excellence
prague
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Expensive Place... Rude Staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed here for just 2 nights and paid quite an amount. The place looks lovely and the service towards guests is fine.

However, we were so embarrassed with an unfriendly behavior of one of hotel employees - Artur Jakobenko. Friends of us, who stayed in Seychelles the same time, visited Maia considering moving here. The friends came to Maia when we were away and they asked for a tour around the hotel. Artur started to harass friends by telling them that they may not know how expensive Maia is and they probably can't afford it! He refused to do a tour in first place.

It was just unacceptable and I'd never stay again at Maia. That behavior delivered quite some misunderstanding with the friends who felt abused by Artur.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ivanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsogoSun, E-Commerce Marketing Manager at MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide positive feedback about your recent stay at Maia Luxury Resort & Spa. At Maia, it is our mission to deliver world-class service which not only focuses on providing the finer things in life, but matches the unique beauty of our property. Our staff are dedicated to ensuring that each guest receives that “special treatment” and therefore we were shocked to hear that a member of staff, who we might add, is no longer employed by us, was rude to your visitors who were interested in viewing the property. Sadly, this is a case where “one bad apple can ruin all the good” but we also know that our staff work tirelessly to harness the spirit of goodwill, which is reflected in the number of glowing reports we regularly receive from our guests.

We are disappointed that our image has been tarnished by this one individual, who unfortunately, we are unable to censure, as he is no longer with us. Please be assured that we are committed to providing exceptional service, and a memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Maia.

Francois Richli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    25
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
28
176
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

We spent 4 nights in bliss! The hotel has no reception so we got maximum privacy going in and out. Our butler suggested and arranged excursions depending on availability and weather, she even arranged bath after a long day out.

The rooms in Maia are spacious but yet ours sometimes smelled a little off so pay attention to that when checking-in (which takes place in your room). In terms of cleanliness, i'd suggest that you ask to have checked when making a reservation; the pantry was a little dirty with stains and sticky cupboards. On the other hand the bed was so comfortable, you wouldn't want to get out of it. A buggy was always outside so we never had to wait. Our butler was great at preparing our breakfast and would give us our time when we needed our privacy. Don't expect much out of the main hotel restaurant though, guests usually go to Four Seasons and Banyan Tree for dinner and we did just that however we were always encouraged at Maia to ask for something that was not already on the menu and they prepared it for us.

Room Tip: Your clothes could be taken for dry cleaning without your permission. We ended up paying 160 euros f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LadyLaiaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive F, Public Relations Manager at MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear Lady Laia,

We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay and overall experience with us at MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa.

Your comments are noted and taken seriously, especially the bad smell in the villa upon your arrival, which we will do the necessary to rectify as a matter of urgency.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and recommending us on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back at MAIA in the future.

Regards,

Clive Figaro on behalf of Frederic Vidal (Resort Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

This is without a doubt one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The service is impeccable, the food is excellent and the villas are gorgeous. The attention to detail is superb - from the incredible coco de mer bathroom taps to the service from all of the staff (including your butler) to the questionnaire that you fill in before you arrive to ensure that everything is to your liking (music, flowers, etc).

The hotel is situated on one of Mahe's best beaches (Anse Louis) and even though the beach itself is not a private one - no beaches are in Seychelles unless you are on a private island - the resort is incredible exclusive. They do not allow non hotel guests to use the hotel facilities, so the place does not feel crowded. In fact, for the whole of our stay we did not even see another hotel guest - although we did eat all of our meals in our villa! You could probably spend the entire holiday in your villa, swimming in your pool and looking at the stunning views. However this would be a shame because there is a lot in Seychelles that is also worth seeing.

Our butler Samantha was brilliant and provided an incredible service. As a Seychellois she was able to tell us a lot about the country, which gave an added dimension to our stay. Basically this is the hotel to come to if you want a tailored experience - if you can think of it, they will provide it and we simply had the time of our lives.

We will definitely return.

Room Tip: If you want maximum privacy then take a villa in the hills rather than one on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loobyloz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive F, Public Relations Manager at MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review about your stay with us. It is a pleasure to read that you had a wonderful experience and I am pleased that we made your stay special.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay at Maia Luxury Resort & Spa and we look forward to welcoming you back on your private peninsula in the Seychelles.

Regards,

Clive Figaro on behalf of Frederic Vidal (Resort Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

My husband Mike and I spent our last 3 nights in the Seychelles at Maia Luxury Resort & Spa on Mahe Island. I can only describe this as a totally exquisite experience. On arrival at the airport, you are collected by the hotel PR who suggests excursions, finds out if you need a car, and points out the local attractions en route to the hotel. The entrance and reception is captivating and starts to prepare you for the most amazing journey you continue on...scented flowers, exquisite gardens as you wind your way past the spa and restaurant area up to your private villa to meet your butler. It is all just breathtaking. Maia takes detail and service to a new level. The views are incredible and the privacy factor just amazing.The villa is so spacious and built on different levels. You have a private pool and a further pool surrounding a large outside bath which gets filled with flowers and decorated with shells and candles with champagne and canopies as a "surprise". You have the choice of sunbathing in loungers that you wade to in your shallow pool or the private white sandy beach near the restaurant. We enjoyed dinner in our villa served by the butler as well as the restaurant which is an experience in itself. Here you are told which chefs are on duty and they prepare meals created just for you. Mike had the best sushi he has ever tasted and the detail again was at another level. For couples this has to be the most romantic and private place. The spa too is in a setting which appeals to all your senses and the massages we still dream about! Compliments and thanks to all the staff who made our stay so special. We highly recommend Maia on all levels for an exceptional holiday. It really is a taste of heaven! Jenny and Mike Stricker-Greeff

Room Tip: Any villa is special as you get driven around in golf carts so no need to worry about the steep hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RubyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed only one night at the Maia, and had a late check out till late afternoon, no words enough to explain the view from our villa, the ocean Panoramic Villa # 214, for the past few weeks we reviewd a lot of Mahe hotels reviews, and posted the usual Maia Vs 4 Seasons etc. posts, at the end we are so glad that we made the wright decision, I will not repeat what was written here in most of the reviews, yes it is very expensive, but it worth every penny you will pay; staff are very well selected and trained, our buttler Erna was so helpful, not only for preperaing our meals, moreover,she gave us many advice and help us in having a wonderful stay in this paradise.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sweify54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

We arrived for a 4 night stay in a hillside villa which had a sea view but with limited view
We where met by our butler who would cook our breakfast in villa every day .
All well and good if you want a 3rd party at breakfast .
We found the hotel reluctant to let us know where, and the quality of the local restaurants . We took 2 chances and found after a 45 euro taxi ride on both occasions the food not to be much .
We then found a restaurant 5 mins away whilst on a day trip which the hotel we where later told, did not like telling the guests of its existence, in order to keep you trapped paying extortionate prices in it's own restaurant .
So if you want to pay £5.30 incl tax and service for a can of coke .then this is for you if not then you should look elsewhere

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive F, Public Relations Manager at MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

On behalf of the Management of the Maia Luxury Hotel & Spa, we’d like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us. Your comments are valuable to us, as we are constantly evaluating how we can improve our services to provide you our valued guest with the deluxe treatment you expect and deserve.

We were therefore disappointed to hear that your felt the butler service was a little intrusive, as discretion is part of our philosophy and we pride ourselves on this service. We also understand that guests like to explore the island and experience different dining options, but do advise that these outside restaurants are simple and casual offering Creole cuisine, and we only recommend a select few which we know try and deliver good food and service. Our food and beverages rates are in line with other properties of the same level in Seychelles.

It’s the little touches that we continually provide like the surprise bath and fresh coconut from our garden, which was specially prepared for you that we believe show how valuable you are.

Thank you for your feedback; it is appreciated as it enables us to ensure that we deliver on our reputation as being one of the best deluxe resorts in the Seychelles. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back as our valued guest.

Sincerely,

Clive Figaro on behalf of Frederic Vidal (Resort Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed at three islands while visiting and I have to say Maia was my second favorite. The villa is beautiful and the beach was great, we had a beach villa so it was so convenient for us. Our butler Sellwin was exceptional. He made us breakfast everyday and arranged our dinners for us. The spa is great, I get lots of massages and this was probably one of the best massages ever! I would definatley go back here again. The Staff is very friendly and concerned about your needs, food is very good, and they made my husbands birthday very special! Only one complaint and that was the bed, that mattress in our room definatly has had it, was extrememly uncomfortable to the point that i took pills for sleeping ( which i only brought for the plane!) Other than that its a must

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank iris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Louis
9.2 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
4.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
Banyan Tree Seychelles
#1 of 2 in Takamaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
2.9 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
2.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
6.6 mi away
Constance Ephelia
Constance Ephelia
#6 of 36 in Mahe Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa

Property: MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa
Address: Anse Louis, Mahe Island SEZ, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Anse Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maia is more than a sanctuary, more than an escape and much, much more than a hotel. It is a place of physical, mental and spiritual awakening, a place of rediscovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp and Travelbag so you can book your MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maia Luxury Hotel Anse Louis
Maia Luxury Resort And Spa
MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing