We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PINDORIA 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Louis
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“PINDORIA 2014”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A great experience throughout the week. The Butler service was exceptional and the spa truly amazing run very professionally.
Food was poor for a quality of the hotel especially the dinners for us being vegetarian.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SHASHI P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsogoSun, General Manager at MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad you had a great stay with us. It is always good to hear that our service levels lived up to the high standards we set. I regret, however, that we did not exceed your dining expectations during your first few days with us. I have reminded our culinary team about the importance of noting guests’ special dietary needs, and ensuring that they are pro-active in keeping all our guests well fed and satiated.

Sincerely

Ernst and The Maia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    25
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
31
181
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed in Maia for 5-days as the second part of our honeymoon and having come from the tranquility and beauty of Denis Island the bar had been set very high - we were not to be left disappointed from the moment we set foot into the premises.

We were greeted with a lovely warm welcome and for the next 5-days the warmth, friendliness and happiness of all the staff without being over bearing helped contribute to a great 5-days.

Our villa (221) with breathtaking panoramic views was amazing and simply took our breath away. The infinity pool looking out onto the ocean, the outside bath enabling relaxing baths with a glass of champagne with the beautiful red sunsets as a backdrop, the bar area where you could sit, relax, eat/ drink and enjoy the serenity of this most marvellous resort.

Every villa gets their own personal butler and it was a bit strange for us to begin with, not being used to someone waiting on you hand and foot but Gusti was great for us and anything we wanted he provided.

Having breakfast looking out over the ocean was a lovely way to start the day and the quality of the food whether breakfast or lunches we had in our villa was very good.

The restaurant food was like stepping into a michelin star restaurant every night - the menu had plenty of variety with five different cuisines - creole, thai, indian, japanese and mediterranean - and i went through each of the 5 cuisines and was never let down. The quality is first class but be warned some of the servings are very generous, so we rarely made the dessert course!

Prior to eating make sure you pop to the bar where the barman will make you any cocktail you want and always will take time out to talk with you.

WE also had a couple of massages at the spa - amazing!! I normally go for a medium-strength one although found this much firmer than usual although the soft one was so relaxing i came out feeling like I was bouncing on the clouds.

The only word of caution would be in relation to the weather, we went in the first week of June and it was quite temperamental, cloudy at times, some rain and also some blazing sunshine!

Overall a fantastic compliment to Denis Island and a great romantic honeymoon destination.

Room Tip: They're all good as they only have around 30 rooms - the ocean panoramic rooms have great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KevL69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsogoSun, General Manager at MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. It is great to know you felt like a rock star during your stay with us, and our pleasure to spoil you on your honeymoon. We have a fantastic team of staff who embody the Maia philosophy, and we all endeavor to provide generous hospitality from the heart, as you experienced with your Butler, Gusti, and Ron, our Barman.

Best regards

Ernst and the Maia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at Maia for 6 days in late May. This resort truly is a 5 Star + property in every way. From the minute you arrive to the moment you leave, the entire staff goes out of their way to ensure your stay is memorable. Each villa has a butler, our butler Mandie was fantastic. We wanted for nothing and we were so well cared for. His attention to detail was outstanding and went out of his way too make everything special. A couple of examples of this was orchestrating a birthday dinner on the beach as well as a barbecue on the helicopter pad on the top of the Maia peninsula, where the views are breathe taking. Every encounter we had with anyone from the Maia staff was positive. They simply smile, place their hand over there heart and share the wonderful spirit of Maia. Our villa was beautifully decorated and provided everything one would need. We enjoyed our private plunge pool but also the large pool by the beach. The recreation staff attends to your every need. Sharon and Hendricks ensured our umbrella was up to keep us dry during a passing shower and provide ample water, including delicious fresh coconut water. The spa is beautiful and peaceful. I highly recommend the 90 minute Maia Signature Massage, Clara was fantastic! My husband took advantage of Yoga offered in the morning as well, he loved the sounds of the water falling against the granite. The food served in the villa and the restaurant was top notch. Both the menu and wine list are vast and cater to all tastes. A couple of our favorite dishes included: grilled red snapper steak, passion fruit souffle, teriyaki beef, and the Thai steamed snapper with chili lime sauce. Service in the restaurant was equally amazing. Brigitte, Annette, Aldo, and Hansel went above and beyond to ensure we enjoyed our dinner. I wish we had more time at Maia, I truly felt relaxed and appreciated as a guest. I couldn't think of thing to change about our experience. Maia is an out of this world experience, I highly recommend you consider this resort for your next holiday in Mahe.

Room Tip: We booked an ocean panoramic room, villa 209. The view of the bay was beautiful and the villa had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spindygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsogoSun, General Manager at MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest

It is with great delight that I read your glowing feedback regarding your recent stay at Maia. You’ve described a dream-like experience and it is our wish that everyone takes away similar memories from their own unique experiences with us.

Thank you for sharing all of your highlights with us. It will be my pleasure to pass your comments on to our passionate staff, particularly the ones you gave special mention to. We hope to ensure that we always provide unprecedented, exclusive experiences in our bid to be the best resort in the Indian Ocean.

Warm regards

Ernst and the Maia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Maia is absolutely beautiful. The villas are beautiful, views are perfect and the sun sets in front of you each night. The snorkeling is great, it's as easy as waking up and jumping in. Each villa has its own butler, and these guys/girls, can't be faulted. Anything you require, they will provide. The prices within the resort are a bit ludicrous, especially if you do venture out and see what you are charged at any of the local restaurants/shops. The mark up is something like 200-300%. Asking some of the locals, apparently all the hotels charge these rates, which probably isn't the best idea for tourism, but at the same time, the resort was fully booked. Not that you would notice - all the villas have 100% privacy, and all you can hear are birds and the sound of the ocean.
It's a great place to relax, each villa has their own private pool and sun beds and stunning views. If you want to see more of the island, your butler can help arrange anything you want to see. This really was a little touch of paradise.

Room Tip: I recommend villa 205, as it is the only one with its own private beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank humanmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsogoSun, General Manager at MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you review and generous comments on our levels of service and beautiful villas. Maia Luxury Resort and Spa is truly an island paradise like no other, unique in its philosophy and attention to detail. We are also most fortunate to have a beautiful, bountiful reef right in front of the resort which is ideal for snorkelling. As the resort is situated on the southwest side of Mahe, we are prefectly positioned to take in the romantic sunset vistas, all year round!
You made some remarks regarding our pricing which I need to clarify: First of all, although the Seychelles is not a cheap destination as a whole, it fares better than the Maldives, for example. As far as pricing at the resort is concerned, one would be amazed to discover that our local dishes and curries are priced on par with the little local restaurants, and with an incomparable difference in quality of preparation and service. Also, I can vouch from firsthand experience that our pricing model offers much better value and quality than all of the large five-star properties on the island!

All that said, we are gearing toward an exciting new presentation of Maia which will truly reflect our generosity of heart and spirit. We are excited for this next development as Maia constantly strives to stay ahead of the rest, and we hope you return in future for an even more enchanced experience.

With tropical regards

Ernst and the Maia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I have just enjoyed a short stay at Maia (we wanted to experience a couple of hotels whilst in the area - hand picked for us by Seyexlusive) and were blown away.

From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the Manager to the escorted service to our room to checking out and everywhere in between.

The spa is beautiful, wonderfully relaxing and the range of treatments and products simply brilliant. (We had a signature double massage in the grounds of the spa which I totally recommend).

The restaurant and bar area with its fine selection of local and international cuisine coupled with an extremely knowledgable sommelier make a memorable relaxed fine dining experience (make sure you try the locally caught tuna).

And as for the accommodation and views... The words absolute rustic luxe sanctuary spring to mind - with beautiful soft furnishings, over sized beds, giant showers with a tropical feel, Hermes toiletries, your private kitchen and bar area and private pool over looking the sea and topped of with a personal butler to help you with anything you need, want or wish.

We will definitely be coming back for a longer stay and can totally recommend our tour operator Seyexclusive who arranged absolutely everything for us including the transfers from the airport and onward destinations.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbigailMaryLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsogoSun, General Manager at MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to hear just how happy you were with all aspects of your stay. We do our best to be the stand-out property in the Seychelles and Indian Ocean.

Our dining experience is special, whether it is in-villa, at the restaurant or under the stars. In Genevieve, we have a passionate and knowledgeable Sommelier who has a knack for presenting wine in a simple, uncomplicated fashion. And, her WineSign tastings in the cellar are also fun-filled affairs!

We eagerly await your return visit for a longer and even more memorable stay. Given the exciting things we have planned, no doubt you will have plenty to look forward to.

With tropical regards

Ernst Ludick and the Maia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is by no way a cheap holiday but it is worth every penny. The location and setting is so wonderful. We stayed in a signature villa on the beach. Its was very special and absolutly fantastic situation for the day time as well as being private we could still see the beach or sit at the beach without leaving the villa. However, in the evening the lighting is very poor round the resort so we could not see anything from the villa then but if you had a villa on the hill for the evenings that would give you a superb view. Our butler Pasek was first class, nothing is any trouble, they will accommodate your needs in anyway possible.

It was our Silver Wedding Anniversary and Pasek made it a night to remember by organising a band to play for us in our own private dining area. Magical!

We also had the best massage that we have ever had.

On the down side the baths don't fill like you see on the web, there is not enough water. This is a shame as they are beautiful and the spa oils they use are fantastic but you get cold sitting in just a small amount of water or alternatively you can fill it but then the water is cold, so we didn't use it after the first couple of days.

As said above the lighting could be better in and around the resort for walking in the evenings, although they do provide buggies to ferry you around if you wish.

All is all I really recommend this place but wish I could keep it as our secret.

Room Tip: depends if you go for the view or the beach but hill villa's for view and beach villas for the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 56dorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsogoSun, General Manager at MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is great to receive your glowing compliments from your anniversary stay with us here at Maia Luxury Resort and Spa – Mahe’s most exclusive resort.

Your praise for Pasek has been passed on, as well as to the Spa team for their fantastic work in our Maia spa. You might be interested to know that we have recently switched to using the exclusive Omorovicza range of beauty products which have been well received so far.

You left some constructive feedback for us, and I am pleased to advise that we have re-looked the lighting around the resort and have made improvements by way of re-positioning existing lights, as well as adding additional lighting in areas that were particularly dim. Also, we have a plan in place to ensure that all the outdoor bathtubs receive sufficient hot water for that to no longer be a concern.

Wishing you well, and looking forward to welcoming you back to Maia, your little secret.

With tropical regards

Ernst Ludick (General Manager) and the Maia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had to leave the Banyan Tree on Mahé due to disappointment (which we originally booked for one week). So we decided to go to the Maia. What a brilliant choice we made. The team was very attentive and friendly, the hill-side villa with our butler simply stunning, the food very delicious and flexible, the spa truly relaxing. all in all we had a first class stay at Maia!
We had a romantic surprise offered by the Hotel: candle-light dinner by the Beach with a live Band who played just for the two of us! And the chef was amazing: he prepared delicious dishes and we can say that this was one of the most memorable evenings that we have had during our honeymoon.
Maia's infrastructure is made of the finest: big pool area by the main building, the restaurant, the "lobby" pavilion, the villas…. all reflect impressive design and architecture. They use excellent products as well i.e. Hermes in the Bathrooms.
Everyone who works there is extremely friendly and helpful. They achieve well in making your stay at Maia feel like home.
We went to visit some other 5 star resorts; but this is by far the most impressive, relaxing, tasteful and cozy Resort that we have seen on Mahé. Thank you for saving our honeymoon! :-)

Room Tip: We recommend to choose hill-side villas! the view is truly incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsogoSun, E-Commerce Manager at MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing Maia Luxury Resort & Spa as a romantic hideaway in Seychelles.

We value your feedback and appreciate you praising our property. We thank you as well for the beautiful pictures illustrating your personal comments.

We look forward to another opportunity to see you again here at Maia Luxury, and wish you a most enjoyable flight back to Switzerland.

Kind regards,

Philippe Cornaille (E-Commerce Manager) , for Maxime Rachel (Resident Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Louis
9.2 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
4.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
8.0 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
6.6 mi away
Constance Ephelia
Constance Ephelia
#6 of 35 in Mahe Island
3,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa

Property: MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa
Address: Anse Louis, Mahe Island SEZ, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Anse Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maia is more than a sanctuary, more than an escape and much, much more than a hotel. It is a place of physical, mental and spiritual awakening, a place of rediscovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maia Luxury Hotel Anse Louis
Maia Luxury Resort And Spa
MAIA Luxury Resort & Spa Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing