We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for honeymooners”
Review of New Emerald Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Emerald Cove
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse la Blague
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
604 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for honeymooners”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is a nice hotel for honeymooners but not as much for more practical tourists, since it's quite expensive and there's no road access.
The facilities are nice and well-kept with the sole inconvenience of lack of light because of the venetian blinds. The huts facing the ocean are the nicest. The bathrooms are quite modern, with shower cabins and all amenities (shampoo, shower gel, conditioner and lotion).
There are three giant turtles just wondering around the hotel's gardens. They try to hide under small bushes but don't realize one can spot their big shells from a distance.
The service could be improved. In several occasions we had the feeling that staff in the restaurant couldn't care less about us and our needs. On the contrary we were always impeccably treated at the reception desk and one of the staff here even had the kind gesture of holding the shuttle boat at the pier for us to be able to return to the hotel from the jetty.
There's a lot of Italian tourists, since the owners are Italian. The furniture, the appliances and even yogurts are imported from Italy!
Breakfast is buffet style and very continental (oat meal, crepes, sandwich loaf, yogurts ). Apart from the local fruits, everything else feels too much international or even just Italian.
They serve complementary coffee/tea and cakes between 5 and 6pm. One is also entitled to a complementary bottle of water, which we never got.
The shuttle boat respects the schedule but it's not enough. One is obliged to have dinner at the hotel, since the last boat is at 23h15 but upon request. The last regular boat is at 18h15.
Transfer from the airport costs 30EUR. A taxi will cost half that price.

Room Tip: The huts facing the ocean are the nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hazinheira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    305
    99
    40
    31
See reviews for
131
607
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Great place to relax and enjoy a calm and relax life style. Rooms clean and well kept.
Food needs improvements as not enjoyable. Very basic menu, poor quality (staff canteen style, rather than hotel guests)

Room Tip: I had a great room in front of the ocean! make sure you get one as the sound of the ocean at night i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matrix772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

What's good
- the environment is fantastic, great nature
- excursion to coco and sister island
- snorkeling
- local people (not the ones working at NEC)

What's bad

- personal is rude and not friendly
- we have been charged for everything,
- price of one lobster is 70 euro per person
- Seychelles are awesome, this place is a trap for new comers

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Paolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Finally found the time to write a review about this marvellous place, called New Emerald Cove
Our family has been in the New Emerald Cove hotel two times: in January 2011 and in October 2012.
For us, this is the best hotel we‘ve ever been to. After the long-haul flight, ferry and boat trip you will arrive tired and exhausted to the secluded, palm lined beach with some buildings in front of the rising mountain. We were met by friendly staff who welcomed us with cool towels and refreshing welcome drinks. Our room was nicely decorated with tropical flowers.
Though this place is a part of Praslin island, you really feel like you are on a separate island as there are no roads connected to the “mainland” and the only connection is by the hotel boat. There’s also a path over the hill, through the jungle, but I can say from my own experience that it is not an easy way to walk. Due to its separated location, the beach is quiet and the perfect place to relax, as you only have to share it with other guests.
This means the only connection is by the hotel boat and there are only the people from the hotel on the beach, which is almost empty, especially on Anse la Farine, which is situated on the left side of the hotel.
The houses in the hotel look quite rustic, but are comfortable inside, especially the superior rooms on the second floor. There you can see the sunrise over the ocean.

The staff in the hotel is very friendly and helpful, especially Catia, who seems to be on duty 24/7 and Geoffrey, who arranged snorkelling and sports events.
When it gets boring, it is worth of going to “mainland” by boat which cruises about 10 times per day.
Praslin has good bus connections and travelling by the local bus is very cheap and also quite fun as the drivers seem to think they are driving a race car.
The best beach experience we had, was Anse Georgette, a picturesque white sand beach in the northern part of Praslin, surrounded with massive rocks on 3 sides. This is actually the private beach of Lemuria Resort and you can only go there with a reservation, which you can do in the reception of New Emerald Cove.
The beach nearby Anse Lazio is also a great place to visit.
The food in NEC is very good, especially dinner when you have a big variety of different creole dishes.
The minor thing to complain about is the slow WiFi connection in the restaurant area in the evenings when there are many users. The tip is to use the internet in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArturGregorF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

What a place. On the island of praslin but magnificently secluded from the hustle of any cars etc. take a boat from the jetty to the hotel through turquoise blue waters. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean. The buffet is scrumptious and the massages are truly relaxing. Whenever you want, you can just hop onto the boat and head into praslin. Wonderful island experience

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamilah7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Our family was there for 5 days during New Year holidays 2012\13. It was so wondefful! Very nice and friendly people! Special thanks to Catia and Maria, a lot of attantion! Very good snorkling, very cosy rooms! Tasty, really tasty food and good prices! We like New Emerald Cove very much!!! And hope to again! Our child Anna liked this place even when it was raining! So beautiful garden and wild nature everywhere. Later we were at La Digue and Siluette - but New Emerald - is the best! :) Marina, Andrey, Anna

Room Tip: Only the rooms on the ground floor have the terrase. The best view to the sea is from rooms with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarinaAnnaAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

A lovely location away from the main island although easily accessible. The rooms are lovely and the staff very helpful, friendly and professional. The breakfasts buffet was good and the evening also quite varied although if you are vegetarian it was a little limiting - the fish kebabs were awesome! We had New Year's Eve at the hotel and enjoyed the buffet but was a bit annoyed to pay corkage for the champagne we bought at the hotel! We did not have the coffee supplies in the room restocked every day which I did expect.
The excursion we took was lovely and the bbq on the beach was super!
The location was ideal and this is a peaceful and relaxing place to spend a lovely time. I wish I was back there!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trudie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse la Blague
3.2 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
985 reviews
2.9 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
757 reviews
3.4 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
836 reviews
2.5 mi away
Acajou Beach Resort
Acajou Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Anse Volbert
350 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel L'Archipel
Hotel L'Archipel
#1 of 1 in Au Cap
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Emerald Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Emerald Cove

Property: New Emerald Cove
Address: Anse La Farine, Anse la Blague, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse la Blague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse la Blague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — New Emerald Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on its own private beach at Anse la Farine, the New Emerald Cove Hotel, provides the perfect gateway to one of the most distinctive islands in the world: Praslin.Anse La Farine is situated opposite the Baie Ste. Anne jetty and the Hotel is reached by short boat trip. With the sea being the only access route, the New Emerald Cove offers its lucky guests a unique experience: that of being on an island of one’s own.The HotelIdeally situated between a thickly wooded hill on one side, and the azure sea on the other, the New Emerald Cove offers comfortable and refined accommodation in an unforgettable tropical setting. As there is no road access tranquility and privacy are ensured.The reception, the impressive high-ceiling restaurant and the seven chalets - totaling 42 rooms - and are scattered in the lush gardens just beyond a white sandy beach. The swimming pool, cleverly located almost on the beach itself, offers beautiful views of La Digue and Round Island: a scenery that deserves to be admired. This, of course, provides the lucky guests with the added incentive for perfectly justifiable, guilt-free lazing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Emerald Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Emerald Cove Hotel Praslin Island
New Emerald Cove Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing