We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just short of Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We have just returned from 8 nights at the Black Parrot suites at Coco der Mer and would agree with a lot of the comments made by recent reviewers. Our room was large and very comfortable except for the bed, which could do with being replaced. The staff are so friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. At times we were the only people using the fabulous pool and facilities and it felt a lot like our own private villa.

The Waterfront Spa is staffed by two wonderful therapists and we loved their individually designed treatments.

Although we had a wonderful time, our holiday was somewhat spoilt when our room was broken into while we were at dinner on our second night. Luckily, we didn't lose anything as they were obviously looking for cash, which was safely locked in our room safe and our cameras and my Kindle were left untouched in the room. The hotel owners, managers and staff were wonderful and immediately moved us to another room and by way of apology, organised a day's car hire and a good bottle of wine, both free of charge. We can't fault their response but the incident was a little unsettling.

The food was good but we were very grateful that we had taken the advice of another reviewer and booked in half board as the dinner buffet was very expensive.

July is not the best time of year on this side of the island and you can't really swim in the sea because of all the seaweed. The hotel solves this by offering a free shuttle to Anse Lasio on the other side of the island, where the swimming and snorkelling were idyllic. We also did a day trip, organised through Select Seychelles, to La Digue island which was a highlight and we'd strongly recommend it.

All in all, we'd rate the Black Parrot as very good, but it falls just short of Paradise.

Room Tip: If you want to have peace and quiet and avoid noisy children, it's worth paying the extra to sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy-PE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

Huge room with private veranda. Lovely pool, great over water hangout. Friendly staff especially the guy who hired out the kayaks and did the garden tours - climbing the coconut trees was good. Unless you have a car you will end up eating there, the food was fine but buffet night was very expensive - there are better, more atmospheric, places to eat. Two tiny things- doors and windows were left unlocked (twice) after the rooms were cleaned and fake plastic ferns were a bit naff - overall the decor was fine but felt a touch dated.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davofrombr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Not long back from a wonderful holiday in Seychelles. My husband and I booked through the internet directly with Kuoni, and their local representative tour operator Creole were perfectly organized and efficient throughout our trip.

Journey
Flew with Emirates from Glasgow to Dubai, Dubai to Seychelles. It took 21 hours from our front door to arriving at Coco De Mer in Praslin (15 minutes Air Seychelles flight from Mahe), so a heck of a long journey but definitely worth it. Have seen some negative comments about Emirates in other reviews, however we thought they were fine - everything was on time, connections not overly long, food was acceptable and there were plenty of movies and games to keep the sleep-deprived traveler occupied. Only travel hitch was that on the return journey we had to spend six hours at Seychelles airport due to the timing of the Air Seychelles flight from Praslin to Mahe, so it took 25 travel hours to get home but it didn’t dampen our enthusiasm to return one day.

Hotel
There is no doubt that Coco De Mer is a beautiful place to stay. More suited to couples than children as there is not much for kids to do except splash around in the sea and pool. It certainly has that Wow Factor, and everything is meticulous presently. Our room was beautiful - we paid a bit more to stay in a Superior room with the ocean just outside our door. The beaches were picture-perfect and pretty much deserted, and the pier was a great place to hang out in the evening and admire the star-filled night sky. On the days we didn’t have any trips planned, spent a thoroughly relaxing time wandering the grounds, lazing around on hammocks reading, playing large chess and taking the sea kayaks out. Forget the mini-golf though as it is tiny and in desperate need of repair. The hotel offers a free nature trek up into the hills behind the hotel and the view from the top is definitely worth the climb - the guide was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and obviously loved what he did for a living.

There were some downsides which I will touch on briefly, some others that I won’t that we found more amusing than off-putting, however I must stress that these things did not affect our holiday that much but are the only reason my review falls from a perfect five to four stars.
1. The evening buffet - although it was delicious with plenty of choice, the price was astronomical - around £80 a night for a couple (including one beer and one cheapo glass of wine). Needless to say we found ourselves looking for alternatives like the pool bar that was just as nice but almost half the price. Unfortunately the pool bar was only open about three times during our ten night stay, so found ourselves ordering room service a few times which was the same menu and price as the pool bar. The package we booked was B&B and an upgraded room - if we were to go back I would definitely ditch the room upgrade and go with half board instead as there is not really anywhere else to go unless you book a taxi into the small town or hire a car.
2. My usual bug-bear of swanky hotels - having to pay for internet usage. £5 an hour is steep, but a good excuse not to check email for 10 days.

Snorkeling just off the beach outside the hotel was a little cloudy at times, but did manage to see plenty of rays and many varieties of fish. The best snorkeling was at the end of the pier but go early as all the fish tend to take shelter from the sun during the heat of the day. The hotel feeds the fish every morning, however a couple of times we went snorkeling and they must have forgotten to feed them that day as the fish were trying to nibble on us - my husband and I are divers and comfortable around sea life, however hundreds of hungry fishes nibbling at our masks was a bit disconcerting so we didn’t stay out too long.

Day Trips
We booked all of our trips and car hire through Creole Travel, and I could not recommend them highly enough. Prices were reasonable, everything was organized seamlessly and the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. I won’t go though all the excursions we did (about one every second day) but will touch on two of the highlights.

1. Car hire - Praslin is a small island and it doesn’t take too long to drive from one end to the other. The roads are certainly an experience - plenty of hairpin bends with frequent 10% gradients is not for the faint-hearted, especially at night. We had a tiny Kia and discovered that we had to turn the A/C off in order to get enough juice to make it up most of the hills on the island. Drove to Anse Lazio beach on the northern tip of the island twice (went back for the sunset) but the hotel does offer a free shuttle bus there every second day. Great snorkeling around the rocks at Anse Lazio and a very beautiful beach, definitely worth a visit whilst on Praslin.
2. Bicycle tour of La Digue was by far the best excursion we did. There are very few cars on the island so the vast majority of travelers are on bikes, and there is plenty of time in a day trip to cycle from one end of the island to the other, even at the leisurely pace that we rode (and sometimes walked) at. The beach at Grand Anse is a must-see - absolutely stunning but swimming is not recommended due to the strong currents. Definitely take loads of sun cream, cover up and water as you are outside in the heat all day.

In a nutshell I would definitely go back to the Seychelles, they really are a breathtakingly beautiful collection of islands. I would recommend Coco De Mer to other travelers - everything about the hotel and surrounding area was stunning and as beautiful as we had anticipated. We went looking for a relaxing holiday with a few short trips thrown in and were not disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, but some could be a walk from the beach. Superior rooms are a stone's t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TravlinSaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Stayed at Hotel Coco de Mer September 2011 staying in the Black Parrot Suites for one week. We had an absolutely fantastic holiday made perfect by the staff, room, views, beach, facilities, restaurant and food. Everything was excellent and would love to reurn one day. Staying in the Black Parrot Suites is certainly worth paying just that little bit extra.

Room Tip: Black Parrot Suites at the Coco de Mer a must, especially with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maxene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Nothing wrong with the Constance Ephelia, in fact it was faultless, but perhaps a bit too perfect. The staff seemed like clones of one another in their immaculate cream silk outfts and nothing was too much trouble but it all seemed slightly false and clinical. We spent the last 2 nights of our holiday there having spent 2 weeks at the Coco de Mer which was a charming little place, only 40 rooms and a really personal feel. The staff, without exception, were friendly and helpful from the managers down, we were made to feel at home from the minute we arrived and were greeted with a cold flannel and a cool drink. Check in was immediate and simple, even though we arrived 2 hours before our room was supposed to be ready, and we were shown to a lovely big room on the front with masses of wicker furniture on the patio and sun beds under the palm trees on the sandy sunbathing terrace. The room was spotlessly clean with a huge bed and a big corner bath as well as a well equipped bathroom.
There were plenty of sunbeds on the beach and around the pool and we never experienced any more than half of these in use.
The grounds were beautiful and the hotel also owns land over the road behind it where you can go on a nature trail which was excellent.
We were on a B&B basis and ate in the a la carte restaurant most nights where you could have a 3 course meal of your choice and a bottle of wine for less than the cost of the buffet without drinks, which at 790 rupees we thought overpriced.
Breakfast was a fantastic choice of food and the dining room was always airy and spacious. Another thing we were not so keen on at the Constance; far too many people milling around the buffet.
A couple of tips:- you can safely drink the water in the Seychelles, we didn't buy any bottles, and do pick the mangoes up that fall from the trees in the morning. They are perfection and should be eaten warm from the ground, letting the juice drip from your chin! Also do use the local bus, it is cheap and reliable and you can get all over the island, even if at breakneck speed!
A trip to La Digue is a must and can be arranged at the hotel. We spent a fantastic day riding bikes round the island, much better than the ox carts.
We would love to go back to the Coco some time in the future and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't bother upgrading to a superior room, ours was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank globetrotter186390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We were at Black Parrot Suites for 3 Nights and we have beautiful memories of the placeand people. The hotel is stylishly done both the BP suites and Coco der mer.

BP suites offer you privacy, the rooms are beautifully done and overlook the sea.

The staff is exceptionally good, Fiona at the BP suites was extremely professional.

The room rates are lill higher than other hotels but what it offers is worth paying that price.

We will surely go back to BP suites on our next visit to Seychelles.. :)

more food variety for vegetarians could be added. The extra charge on Room service is exorbitant and should be done away with.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RashmiParulChand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Coco de Mer from 28 April until 4 May. It was a wonderful experience. Our room was at the top of the garden on the corner, so we had a nice view of the sea and were also surrounded by beautiful trees and flowers. I think our room was larger than some of the others because it was on the corner and it had lots of windows, which we really liked. The lovely big bath in the room is very inviting at the end of the day.

The rooms were very neat and clean. The bed and the chairs were very comfortable. The beaches were also lovely They are quite private and well maintained. There is some seaweed growing in the water but we loved the privacy of the beaches. We went to some beaches on the other side of the island which were much busier and noisier. The local people enjoy going to the beach with their music, so we were glad to avoid that.

The gardens were also beautiful. We went on the nature walk and saw a fabulous view from the top of the hill. We did not feel too isolated as the island is small. The hotel also has bicycles to hire and we hired bicycles on two days. It was a lot of fun. In addition, the shuttle to Anse Lazio also gives you a scenic trip around the island and it takes you right to the beach. If you use the local bus, you have to walk for a kilometer or so to reach the beach (in the heat).

We especially enjoyed the restaurant. There is a stream flowing right through the hotel and it was lovely sitting next to the stream or at other tables overlooking the sea. The food was excellent. There was a different themed buffet every night and the variety and quality of food was excellent. We also enjoyed looking at the sculptures made by the Sri Lankan chef out of butter and polystyrene. They were really works of art.

If we ever get a chance to return to the Seycelles, we would definitely return to the Coco de Mer.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room and don't think you need a beach front villa. The garden villas are also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Bois de Rose
2.8 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,376 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,028 reviews
5.8 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#4 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,054 reviews
5.0 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
171 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Grand Anse
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites

Address: Anse Bois de Rose Bay | Praslin Island, Anse Bois de Rose, Praslin Island 22965, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Bois de Rose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Bois de Rose
Price Range: £220 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beauty, safety, peace, tranquility and quality, surrounded by nature, and named after the unique Coco de Mer Palm tree which, although extremely rare, occurs in abundance in the tropical forests, around the Hotel. This traditional yet modern, four star hotel lies in over 200 acres of natural beauty on the edge of the Indian Ocean. Spacious grounds, comfortable rooms, private location and a friendly atmosphere offering spectacular views of the surrounding islands, forested mountainsides and glorious sunsets. Located on the 2nd largest island in the Seychelles, Praslin, at Anse Bois De Rose, on the South west coast • Distance from airport – 8 km (15 minutes by taxi). • Flight time from the main island, Mahé, is 15 minutes • 55 Minutes by high speed ferry boat Adjacent to the Coco De Mer, our junior suite wing, “the Black Parrot Suites”, are perched on an imposing granite rock out-crop, that offers magnificent views of the Indian Ocean and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco De Mer - Black Parrot Hotel Anse Bois De Rose
Coco De Mer - Black Parrot Suites Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing