We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

I hadn't been to the Seychelles before and staying at this hotel made the holiday even more special. The views are amazing and the service is excellent.

The staff are super friendly and helpful especially Gavin and Kevin. The food is lovely and variety you get is brilliant.

I had a birthday whilst staying at this hotel and had a massage in the morning which was a dream and a surprise dinner organised by the hotel on the beach.

I'm looking forward to going back to the Seychelles and I will be staying at this hotel again.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Hayley0043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

The hotel itself is lovely with a quaint rustic sort of charm. The rooms are large and clean and the pool although cold is lovely. That unfortunately is the end of the good things about this hotel.

The Manager "Artuga" is one of the most unfriendly and uncaring people I have ever met. It is therefore no surprise that all the staff mope around looking like they have the most miserable existence.

We have a young daughter and therefore specifically asked for a quiet room so she could sleep unhindered. The first one we were given backed on to the kitchen and was very noisy. The next one seemed okay until the weekly "entertainment" started and we had extremely loud 3rd rate karaoke style singing inflicted on us. This was when we first encountered the odious Manager who made it very clear he didn't care one bit that he had woken our daughter and left her distressed through lack of sleep.

As others reviews have mentioned the hotel is in the middle of no-where, the beach is unusable due to seaweed and most of the facilities other than the pool were in a terrible state of dis-repair. However, the pool and pool bar over-looking the beach are lovely and under the correct management I'm sure this hotel could be wonderful.

Other than the pool the other good feature of the hotel is the bus shuttle to Anse Lazlo, the best beach I have every visited (beautiful soft sand, wide open beach, not too busy, beautiful clear water, strong waves making the water great fun to play in and a decent small restaurant at one end of the beach).

Unfortunately this bus shuttle just emphasised the problems with the Coco De Mer. It was a 45 minute journey each way to this lovely beach, the timing of the shuttle meant you only got about 1hr 45 minutes at the beach and made getting lunch almost impossible. The shuttle bus was always late picking up guests (between 10 and 20 minutes each day) and therefore you spend a lot of time queuing rather than enjoying the wonderful beach. The journey itself was also fairly precarious as the shuttle driver spends most of the trip on his mobile phone and appears to pay little attention to the narrow and windy roads.

The Seychelles are lovely and Anse Lazlo is glorious, so I strongly recommend you find a hotel on that end of the island and avoid the Coco de Mer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CountryCollectorUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We just spent a week at the Coco de Mer and enjoyed ourselves.

First, the good:
The rooms are large and clean.
The bed is very comfortable.
With a few exceptions, the food is generally good.
There are plenty of loungers, umbrellas and hammocks.
The placement of the villas gives you a beautiful view, and you only need to step out the door to get some sun.

Now, the not-so-good
As others have mentioned, the beach gets a lot of seaweed on it and is quite narrow.
The resort is pretty remote, with nothing of interested within walking distance.

We were prepared for this, based on the other reviews on TripAdvisor. One thing that soured our experience at Coco de Mer was drinking water. Upon arrival, we were informed that the tap water was drinkable. We drank the tap water for several days with no issues, refiling our water bottles each night.

A few days in we had a large thunderstorm and the tap water turned brown. Concerned that the water may no longer be potable, we asked the front desk if they could provide us with some complimentary bottles of water until the tap water cleared up. The staff and duty manager informed us that in no circumstances would they provide bottled water at no charge, and that they didn't recommend drinking the tap water anyways. We would have to purchase water at 24SCR per bottle. The cost of the water is negligible, but we have never been at any hotel or resort that did not provide complimentary drinkable water, be it tap or bottled. This was particularly galling considering the bottled water came from only a few KM away at Vallee de Mer.

Aside from the water issue, we are happy to stay at Coco de Mer. It was quiet and relaxing, and I'd have no hesitation recommending it as a place to stay on Praslin.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank crownbrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

If you want a small, quiet hotel in a beautiful position on the beach, with good food and helpful staff then the Coco de Mer is a good choice. There is little evening entertainment but the range of cocktails is extensive! We stayed in one of the Black Parrot Suites which was very roomy and well-appointed. The 12 suites have their own pool, lounge and bar. The breakfast and dinner buffets are varied and plentiful. It is situated in quite an isolated area so you may need to hire a car or catch the local buses. The beach is small and weedy but there is a daily free bus to one of the most beautiful beaches on the island (book in advance as places are limited). Taxi's are reasonably expensive. Take plenty of insect repellent as the mosquitos are active and remember the sun cream even if you sit under the umbrellas.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jagate01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Nice place by the ocean, this is a nice hotel.
We stay in the ocean view room, with jacuzzi, large bathroom and large bed which is very clean, decorated with beautiful flowers every day. The roomservice was really luxurious, The staff are wonderfully friendly and good food and cocktails are served all day, the food was delicious. There is a private beach which is very beautiful and you can find there characteristic to Seychelles rocks.. However there are more beaches around hotel- a little walk and you can find plenty of desert beaches.
Coco de Mer is an excellent hotel, worth recommending to everyone that would like to have a peaceful retreat

Room Tip: Coco de Mer is an excellent hotel, worth recommending to everyone that would like to have a peaceful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatiana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have just returned from a two week stay here.

Lovely hotel, really friendly staff. Plenty of choice for breakfast. We caught the local bus service from just outside the hotel this was really easy to use and a great way of exploring the island. Room was really spacious and clean. Made our anniversary celebration really special

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank brains_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Very nice location, very helpfull staff.
Veiws amazing, very peacefull.
The location is slightly remote so i'd suggest renting a car. We rented a small Kia for less than you might pay for a taxi. The hotel staff can arrange all this.
The food was fairly poor, but it would be normal for Syechelles I think. We ate in many places on Praslin & Mahe and sorry to say the food isn't good anywhere really. Also, we liked the fact there was a dress code in the restaurant.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Black Parrot suites, the newer rooms slightly up the cliff. These seemed nicer tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monza886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Bois de Rose
2.8 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#1 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,440 reviews
3.1 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#4 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,080 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
2.7 mi away
Hotel L'Archipel
Hotel L'Archipel
#1 of 1 in Au Cap
613 reviews
5 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites

Address: Anse Bois de Rose Bay | Praslin Island, Anse Bois de Rose, Praslin Island 22965, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Bois de Rose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Bois de Rose
Price Range: £214 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beauty, safety, peace, tranquility and quality, surrounded by nature, and named after the unique Coco de Mer Palm tree which, although extremely rare, occurs in abundance in the tropical forests, around the Hotel. This traditional yet modern, four star hotel lies in over 200 acres of natural beauty on the edge of the Indian Ocean. Spacious grounds, comfortable rooms, private location and a friendly atmosphere offering spectacular views of the surrounding islands, forested mountainsides and glorious sunsets. Located on the 2nd largest island in the Seychelles, Praslin, at Anse Bois De Rose, on the South west coast • Distance from airport – 8 km (15 minutes by taxi). • Flight time from the main island, Mahé, is 15 minutes • 55 Minutes by high speed ferry boat Adjacent to the Coco De Mer, our junior suite wing, “the Black Parrot Suites”, are perched on an imposing granite rock out-crop, that offers magnificent views of the Indian Ocean and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco De Mer - Black Parrot Hotel Anse Bois De Rose
Coco De Mer - Black Parrot Suites Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing