We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! Fantastic!! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow! Fantastic!! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The perfect place to stay if you are looking for a luxury getaway! The hotel staff is extremely helpfull and will make your stay unforgettable. We're very happy that we chose for this hotel. The junior suites are amazing, very big rooms and a private pool! Everything is beautiful and comfortable.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahdewinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    237
    64
    28
    20
See reviews for
111
485
13
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel is situated in a more calm part of the island so if you are looking for some vibe might not be the right choice. If you want relaxation and serenity then it is the right choice.

The ambiance is very nice especially thanks to the setup, the hotel and the garden fir perfectly into the nature which a good choice of wood and rock architecture. On top of that you get to be served by friendly staff.

We opted for a regular sea view room which we discovered that is massive. Apart from having a bathtub in the room which was supposed to be romantic but it look quite odd outside the bathroom, the decorations and the room were good enough to let you get into a proper holiday relaxation mood.

Time for the goods and the bads

Why we liked it

- friendly and funny staff
- beautiful setup and architecture
- good pool
- very good foot and fairly priced in comparison to what you get on the island
- free shuttle to Anse Lazio beach
- free kayak
- got a cake for my birthday :) thank you

Why you might not like it
- useless beach - small and full of sea weed
- during the Creole night you can't sleep because of the loud music coming from the restaurant
- wi fi only in the lobby
- they close the a la carte restaurant during the Creole buffet night which is very annoying especially for people like my wife who go for light meals in the evening
- the free shuttle bus to Anse Lazio comes back at 1 PM which is useless
- they don't give shower cap

It has good and bads but when you sum up there is a good value for money.

I recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the reception/restaurant as it gets very noisy during the Creole night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DragosJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a fantastic stay here, and would definitely recommend it to people wanting some quiet luxury. The overall setting is beautiful, with friendly smiling staff who are keen to help.

The Black Parrot Suites have an amazing location up on a headland, with sunset balcony views over the coast and sea. The rooms are very cosy, with in-room baths, and given there are only 12, we often had the lounge and pool area outside to ourselves. There is always a member of staff around who can make cocktails, arrange some lunch, or sort things out. It was great being able to have a swim, sit and overlook the Praslin coastline, then be back in the room in less than a minute.

The main Coco de Mer area is a short walk away past one of the beaches. We didn't actually use the main pool, but it looked nice. We loved the food - four course meals, usually fish which was incredible, and the occasional buffet night. We enjoyed sitting out on Fisherman's Wharf, the pier jetting out over the sea, and walking along the beaches, and also did the guided nature walk up the hillside.

We did several day trips - to Anse Lazio using the daily (weekdays) hotel shuttle, to Anse Volbert, Vallee de Mai, La Digue, and a catarmaran trip to St Pierre, Curieuse and Anse Georgette organised by one of the tour operators. As others have noted, the beach at Coco de Mer isn't great at this time of year due to seaweed, but it was very easy to get to other beaches, and many of these are world class so would be worth a look anyway. When planning where to stay, we had considered somewhere on Anse Volbert, and the beach there was stunning - so if having paradise sand on your doorstep was key, that would be a good option. However, the overall luxury and privacy of the Black Parrot Suites, combined with the stunning views, meant we were definitely happy with our choice, and would certainly go back again.

Overall, we had an amazing time, and would definitely recommend both Praslin as an island - just the right mix of quiet seclusion but with enough to do - and the Black Parrot Suites, as an unpretentious, friendly, and beautiful place to stay.

Room Tip: The Black Parrot Suites are something special and worth paying for if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John76xm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed for five nights at the end of February in the Black Parrot Suites, which are separated from the main part of the complex. The small number of rooms and excellent amenities give the Suites the feeling of a boutique hotel. The remote location allows guests a wonderful experience of the natural beauty of the gorgeous island of Praslin, far removed for the tourist activities in some other sections of the island.
Our room was spacious and luxurious, with a private covered deck overlooking the ocean and beach area. The beach itself was small but very nice. Seaweed issues were minimal, seemingly due to the prevailing off shore winds that time of year.
The Suites have their own pool area for the exclusive use of Black Parrot guests, and it is absolutely beautiful. Tastefully designed it sits high on a cliff side overlooking an unspoiled Praslin coastline, distant islands, and spectacular tropical sunsets.
The only caveat that I would raise is that due to some odd design issues with exterior walkways, I would not recommend the Suites to anyone with a leg injury or a balance problem. Overall, however, I can say that I have never spent this much money on a hotel room before (this is Seychelles, after all) and that I found it to be totally worth it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southbroom, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed for 7 day with my hubby for our honeymoon in May 2014, this is a superb hotel i would recommend anyone. The staff was helpful all the way from day one, and the food was good. Our room was spacious, big and comfortable. I will definitely visit again in this lifetime

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kakawagerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at the Junior Suite of the Black Parrot wing for 3 nights. The room is fantastically big and spacious, beautifully decorated. Our room over see the sea and beach. The view was beautiful.However, due to the location of the hotel, we couldn't watch the full sunset or sunrise as it was blocked by the hills. The only thing that could be improve in the room was the blanket. The blanket is too thin, not even a comforter.
The staff in the hotel gave us a very warm welcome at the reception when we first reached. The receptionists were all very friendly and helpful. They gave us directions on how to take the public transport to the other beaches like Grand Anse. They never hesitate to help. The facilities of the hotel were wonderful. The hotel is located between 2 small beaches. But the beaches where the hotel is located isn't that pretty. However, to the hotel provide free bus shuttle daily to the best beach of Pralin, Anse Lazio. Moreover, the hotel provide free guide to bring the tourists up to the natural reserve where you can have a bird eye view of the whole of Pralin. Lastly, the hotel provide free coffee/tea with cookies daily from 4pm-5pm. This really gave us a relaxing good time to have our high tea by the waters.
The breakfast spread of the hotel was excellent. However, the choices for lunch and dinner were limited. Even though the menu for lunch and dinner is the same daily, but the portion is very huge.
A hotel with excellent service is sure a must for a wonderful holiday!

Room Tip: The Suites are at the Black Parrot wing, and they have more privacy and extremely spacious with fant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle_Lek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here in a standard room on a bed and breakfast basis, the room was large, clean and comfortable. The room we had was up on a higher level and very peaceful . From the balcony although there were trees in the way, you still had a view of the sea. I actually preferred these rooms to the superior rooms which are located near the pool area. They were all occupied and looked more suited to families as children were playing on the grass areas outside the rooms.
We ate mostly at the poolside resturant and bar, the service was excellent and the staff were friendly. The meals were good and the afternoon tea was a nice extra.
This hotel is quite remote and taxis are expensive. We used the courtesy bus to Anse lazio, which is absolutely stunning. Remember to book in advance for the bus as it gets booked up.
There was a nature walk the hotel arranged and bikes available to hire.
We found this hotel to be very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank poppyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Bois de Rose
2.7 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
3.1 mi away
Domaine de La Reserve
Domaine de La Reserve
#5 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
2.8 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
5.9 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie
#1 of 8 in La Digue Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
5.6 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 8 in La Digue Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites

Property: Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Address: Anse Bois de Rose Bay, Anse Bois de Rose, Praslin Island 22965, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Bois de Rose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Bois de Rose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotelopia and Travelbag so you can book your Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco De Mer - Black Parrot Hotel Anse Bois De Rose
Coco De Mer - Black Parrot Suites Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing