We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A marvellous experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2009

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at the Black Parrot suites in July of 2009. In our opinion we thought we got the best room, 512. It was absolutely beautiful, spacious, the decor was lovely, bathroom was huge.... just loved everything about it! The room overlooks the ocean front site. We didn't use the beach as it was constantly filled with seaweed. However, the hotel offers a free bus shuttle to Anse Lazio beach, which is absolutely stunning!

The hotel staff are just delightful and wonderful. They are very helpful and so friendly! The restaurant food is decent as they have a set menu everyday. I personally didn't like the taste of the food, it was very filling but tasteless. The menu gets tiring after a while for it's basically the same food all the time. However, they do have a buffet style every now and then, perhaps twice a week. We preferred the buffet more. One specific thing they lacked in the food menu were POTATOES! I craved for them so much it made me wonder if potatoes are scarce in Seychelles!

The Black Parrot suites are secluded from the Coco de Mer hotel so it is a little quiet there, a great place for relaxing. We liked the peace and quiet. Overall, we had a remarkable experience at this hotel. I give the best credit to my husband for picking this hotel, an excellent choice for our honeymoon!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank washam09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2009

Both myself and my new wife stayed here for our honeymoon in july 2009, As lots of people visting the islands know its well worth visting two islands and this was the first part of a two centre stay (to see part two of this review look at l'habibation cerf on cerf island)

We left from t2 at heathrow and im afraid this is a very old t so there are not to many bargins to buy, we flew with air seychelles and if im honest i would if we go again try and fly with a different airline if i could as the service was very poor. On the flight there there was no tv (now although this is not essential 10+ hour flight?!?) the airline stops over in vairous cities and we settled down in frankfert, again not the end of the world and the crew change however when you get told 30 mins and two hours later you are still sitting there its not the best start. We slept most of the flight so although it wasnt great if you can sleep through it,it will do.

We landed in a very old looking airport and walked through to collect our bags from this we was then greeted by a masons travel with a cool towle, We was walked to the internal airline and escorted to the internal plane. We took the small plane with our hearts in our mouth but it was fun. Once we landed i exchanged pounds to seychelles ruppies (and glad i did as it was a much better rate than the hotel!!). A car was waiting for us to take us straight to our hotel (all smooth and easy).

From entering the hotel we were given welcome drinks and walked to our room (in our oppinion the best in the hotel number 28) we upgraded and the room was next to the pool with sea views and had its own lobby). The room was fantastic it had all that wa needed and extra services like suprise bath service etc. The hotel offered a free bus to lazio beach mon to fri and it is well worth taking this up. The only real downside to the hotel is that the beach is covered in seaweed and although the staff mop it up daily its a loosing task. The beach at lazio is brill and again the only downside is there is two places to eat and rather exspensive but guessing there is no competition you can guess thats the case. The hotel do offer a pinic for 10 euros each and well worth a go, the food in the hotel is very good BUT BE WARNED if you dont like fish you will find the seychelles hard let alone this hotel as you generally have fish on every course every day with other limited options (although we like fish and found it very fresh and cooked well).

We also took advantage of the free nature trail offered by the hotel and hike the montain behind the hotel and although it was a hard walk it was well worth the treck with the views were amazing.

In short the hotel is well worth a stay and esp if you are on honeymoon as the staff are friendly and helpfull photos are to follow and part two of this review will be on l'hababition cerf

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

We travelled to the Seychelles for the first time in June this year for our honeymoon and we were not dissapointed with our choice of destination. We chose to stay in the Black Parrot suites which were just lovely. The standard of rooms are high and well worth the extra to upgrade. The pool and bar area for the Black Parrot suites are much nicer than at the Coco de Mer, although the pool is much smaller, the sun beds are of better quality and much more comfortable. You will pay a little more for a drink at the bar here than at the Coco de Mer, however, but this did not bother us at the time as the setting is better.
The food in the restaurant, which you take at the main hotel, is of a high standard and is varied in style and choice. Some evenings it is the set menu with some choice and others it is a buffet style with, usually a theme. There is a good wine list and is reasonable in price.

The staff here are just great! Nothing is too much trouble for them - one of the hotel managers even brough us a couple of beers in an ice bucket filled on to the beach - service excellence!

We can recommend the hotel's nature walk into the hills. It is abit strenuous but worth the hike when you get to the top. The guide is very knowledgable and its free!

You have to go to Anse Lazio as this beach is just stunning. The local restaurants at this beach - 2 of them, one of which was closed when we were there but Le Chevalier restaurant is of low quality and high prices so either take a packed lunch if going in the free mini bus from the hotel- which they will do for you for a small charge.

June is a quiet time to go as it is low season but the weather was very nice and pleasent. There is seaweed on the beach at this time of year on this side of the island which is swept up by the hotel staff. This did not bother us too much

We shall certainly return to this hotel in the future and can recommend if you want a romantic holiday in a fabulous setting.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckley2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

We stayed there for three nights. We were welcomed to the hotel, we sat down, the seating area was beautiful. We were given cold non alcohol tropical drinks whilst waiting for our adviser to give us the tour. He gave tips about the area, what we can do and not to do. Arrival to the room, we was so gobsmacked, the room is amazing... you can see the sea view which is brilliant... my husband got on well with the staff working there... the food was good, we had free drinks, the alcohol was strong... they provided us veggie meals, they gave us discounts on laundries, they cleaned our room daily... the beach was calm and clean... we toured around, they told us to come again... it was a lovely experience...

Stayed: December 2008
Thank kutchigal_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2008

We have just returned home after spending a fabulous 12 night holiday in the Seychelles; the first week of which was spent at the Coco De Mer at Praslin. This was our first visit to the Seychelles and it won't be our last - pure paradise. We booked with Kuoni who recommended this hotel, and we are very glad they did. The service we received from all the staff was excellent and very friendly. On Kuoni's advice we booked half-board as the hotel is quite a way from anywhere else to eat. This proved to be really good - excellent buffet breakfast with everything from fruits, cereals, continental to a full english with freshly cooked eggs. Evening meal alternated between buffet-style, BBQ or a la carte so there was quite a variety. Lunches, if needed, were taken at the poolside bar, where I have to admit, the menu was a bit limited. Our room was superb and spotlessly cleaned every day. The location of this hotel is wonderful with a great beach with loungers, seats and hammocks. Also enjoyed snorkelling around the jetty where there was a wonderful array of fishes just off the beach. Apparently December is a month when there can be lots of rain, and I think we had our fair share, but there were endless days of sunshine too and we enjoyed the tropical downpours. We hired a car one day and did the island at our own pace. Also took one trip with Creole to the three islands which we enjoyed, but felt it was a bit expensive. All in all, a wonderful trip and we would definitely go back.

Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
6  Thank RosieWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2008

Coc De Mer on Praslin is a very friendly hotel. We chose Praslin rather than Mahe because our son had also stayed there. We arrived after dark, and did not appreciate until first light that our room was very close to the beach, just across a very quiet service road, invisible from our ground floor patio. There was a short walk to the main single storey hotel building and the pool.
We found the buffets to be excellent, both at breakfast time and in the evening. There was always a great choice of dishes to suit all tastes, and jolly chefs who served you themselves.
A couple of nights whilst we were there there was a band playing, and another night the staff introduced us to Sega dancing, a local Creole tradition.
The beach itself was very good, with a bit of snorkelling to be had at the end, and there is a walk to the next beach around the bay. There is a very small fitness centre, which we did not use. Twice a week there is a walk arranged up the hill behind the hotel to a great viewpoint, and with a guide who gives you information about the wildlife in the area, including fruit bats!

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank metcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2008

We travelled with Kuoni for my partners daughters wedding.
The accomodation and location were wonderful.
They staff very friendly and attentive to our needs.
Wedding went off wonderfully if not a little breezy.
There was still some seaweed on beach but this was cleaned up daily.
We took a couple of the day trips organised by the local tour operators. Expensive but very good.
The pool at the Black Parrot Suites was lovely and warm as was the sea. I must admit we did spend a lot of time just chilling out by pool or on beach reading, drinking and totally relaxing.
We spent all 14 nights at the Black parrot Suites which it appears is unusaual. Most people we spoke to were combining more than one location. Either other islands in Seychelles or Mauritius seemed to be the most popular.
I think if I went out again I'd do more than one island. Probably combine Praslin with Mahe.However as its expensive I'm not sure I'll be going there again.
It was a wonderful holiday and after a few misgivingings having read earlier reports of Black parrot we were very very pleased.
The refurbishment certainly was to very high standard our room was beautiful.We think we had the 2 best suites between us.
Rooms 504 and 508.
The only criticism I could give would be that drinks at the Black Parrot Suites were dearer than at the Coco De Mer bar and I do not believe that should have been the case. They are expensive enough without a mark up to drink at the bar closest to our accomodation.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonySouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Bois de Rose
2.8 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#1 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,440 reviews
3.1 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#4 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,080 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
2.7 mi away
Hotel L'Archipel
Hotel L'Archipel
#1 of 1 in Au Cap
613 reviews
5 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites

Address: Anse Bois de Rose Bay | Praslin Island, Anse Bois de Rose, Praslin Island 22965, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Bois de Rose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Bois de Rose
Price Range: £214 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beauty, safety, peace, tranquility and quality, surrounded by nature, and named after the unique Coco de Mer Palm tree which, although extremely rare, occurs in abundance in the tropical forests, around the Hotel. This traditional yet modern, four star hotel lies in over 200 acres of natural beauty on the edge of the Indian Ocean. Spacious grounds, comfortable rooms, private location and a friendly atmosphere offering spectacular views of the surrounding islands, forested mountainsides and glorious sunsets. Located on the 2nd largest island in the Seychelles, Praslin, at Anse Bois De Rose, on the South west coast • Distance from airport – 8 km (15 minutes by taxi). • Flight time from the main island, Mahé, is 15 minutes • 55 Minutes by high speed ferry boat Adjacent to the Coco De Mer, our junior suite wing, “the Black Parrot Suites”, are perched on an imposing granite rock out-crop, that offers magnificent views of the Indian Ocean and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Travelbag, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco De Mer - Black Parrot Hotel Anse Bois De Rose
Coco De Mer - Black Parrot Suites Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing