We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, very nice hotel, very average service, expensive and silly rules”
Review of Constance Lemuria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Constance Lemuria
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Anse Kerlan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2010

This is a beautiful hotel set on 3 fabulous beaches, one smallish main beach, another which is a buggy ride away from the hotel and the third not really suitable for swimming due to seaweed and currents, but still nice for strolling and sunsets.

The rooms were elegantly decorated and food & wine in the all the restaurants were excellent. Breakfast was more limited and exactly the same every day. However this hotel is very expensive - much more so than other in my view better, 5* resorts we have stayed However, it is the service and staff attitude that really lets this hotel down. For many it all just seems like too much trouble! We ordered an ice bucket every evening at 6pm in the room and it failed to turn up 7 nights out of 7 - sometimes after 2 reminders!! There are many petty rules too and staff eager to hide behind them for example bikes (pretty shoddy ones at that) must be returned each day at 6pm or guests incur a fine and men including teenage boys must wear long trousers in the evening in all the restaurants including the beach bar or be sent back to your room to change (certainly a novel experience that one for us!!) We did express our views at the time to the President, who listened to our comments, and was very understanding. Whether he has the appetite to change much tho, remains to be seen.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

526 - 532 of 1,916 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2010

I am going to try to be objective writing my review about Lemuria. My husband and I stayed there as part of our honeymoon to Seychelles, Botswana and Victoria Falls. Lemuria were our first stop in Seychelles. I’ve always dreamed about postcard’s beaches and Seychelles definitively met all my expectations.

1 – Rooms: We stayed in a junior suite. It’s true that the rooms are quite standard, no amazing views or modern furniture but very clean, comfortable and well-equipped. People complained about the walk to the main building and reception. To be honest we found quite nice the little walk to the restaurant and didn’t bother us at all. Internet connexion in the rooms is free, good point compare to other resorts were they charge you quite a lot of money for that. This is not the fastest Internet connexion I have ever had but you are in Seychelles, not in Manhattan!!!

2- Service: The “Seychellois” are not the most reactive and efficient people I met, but even though I don’t have any complains about the service. We ordered a pique-nique to Anse Georgette and the pique-nique was perfectly delivered on time. The guy who brought the pique-nique prepared everything for us and came back to pick us the rest of the nique-nique when we ordered him to do so. My husband had several mosquito bites in his legs that itched him a lot. We asked for a pharmacy to get some after bite relieve and they drove us immediately to the doctor of the hotel who gave us a whole bottle of relieve cream. We said that we didn’t really need the whole bottle and he insisted to keep it for us. The service in the restaurants was ok. Maybe not Four Seasons standard but I would never qualify the staff as rude.

3 – Prices: Range of prices is quite high but Seychelles is a very expensive destination whatever hotel you are staying in. I didn’t find the prices of Lemuria particularly expensive considering the destination and location.

4 – Beaches and location: That was the top of the top. The location of the hotel is just amazing and worth to go even if there are other aspects to improve. As you can see in the pictures the hotel is situated between three beaches. Right next to the rooms and the restaurants there are two beaches. A very long beach very nice but not excellent to swim, and a small perfect beach (Petit anse kerlan) which is just lovely: not many people, immaculate sand and turquoise water. And the third one…the best of the best…Anse Georgette. Definitively the best beach I’ve ever seen. If you close your eyes and think about a perfect beach you are probably seeing Anse Georgette. The beach is on the other side of the golf course. You can take a buggy in the reception to go. They give you towels and bottles of water because there is absolutely no service in this beach. They wanted to keep the beach “just perfect the way it is”. After a short ride by buggy you get to a small path between the forest, and you can hardly imagine what you are going to find at the end of the path: THE PARADISE!!! Shining green vegetation all around, pristine waters, perfect waves, and immaculate with sands. And around 10 people in the whole beach. You can not dream better.

5- Common areas and food: Swimming-pool is very nice, but you don’t need it considering the beaches you have around. Food is very good, breakfast buffet is varied and the diner as well. We had a lobster menu during our last night and it was very good, the lobster was fresh and tasty.

Conclusion: Go to this hotel if you want to see one of the most spectacular beaches on earth and discover the island of Praslin. Do not go there if you expect One&Only and Four Seasons service/quality, this is an average 5 star hotel, not a top luxury resort.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nounouparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We were two couples. Our friend had organized marriage by this hotel.
We stayed one week at this marvellous and charming Hotel and were very sad to leave. The hotel is simply perfect. A huge territory with not so much people, wonderful beaches and everything is at the disposal of the Clients.
Initially we have booked two Junior Suites, but what a surprise we've got by coming. It was just unbelievable, coz instead Junior Suites, we've got a complete beautiful and charming 725 sq.m. villa for 2 couples with private beach, swimming pool, kitchen, 2 bathrooms and so much other facilities, including Villa Master - an agreeable man from Indonesia (Jerry) without paying some extras. It was like a dream, we really couldn’t believe our eyes!!! And we were feeling us as Kings, treated on the best way. Everything was already organized for us and what is really strange, it was for free (I guess included in the booking price): we've got 4 bicycles for a whole week, we've got body-serfs and snorkelling equipment, we could play tennis every evening (including rockets and balls at our disposal), we’ve got golf lesson, electric car, a lot of spa procedures (2 saunas, Jacuzzi, our friend even got complete 2 hours spa complex for 2 as the hotel present for their marriage), really good gym, every day at 14-00 we were served some gormandizes, juices and sandwiches free of charge. Still water was also for free and every day several bottles for each person in the rooms as well as on the main beach. As extra, on the main beach in the middle of the day we were served some fruits. The hotel offer to all of their Clients pareo and nice beach bag. We’ve also got an excursion
The personnel is really nice and agreeable, everything was done in time and carefully. All the territory of the hotel is treated against mosquitoes, so we didn’t see any one over there, what is also very nice, especially if you are laying on the beach and looking to the starry sky.
I have also to mention that marriage ceremony was carefully organized, with nice flavours for bride, decoration as well as on the beach, so in the rooms, tasty cake, good photograph and so on.
I would say, that me, my husband and my friends CAN FULLY RECOMMEND YOU THIS HOTEL!!! IT’S THE BEST ONE!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusikBlond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We spent 5 days of our honeymoon at Lemuria and it was absolutely fantastic. The rooms were spacious and immaculate, the service was superb and the staff were very friendly. The resort manages to retain an intimate feel despite having a lot of rooms.

The beaches in the resort are beautiful but do make the time to go to Anse Georgette which is a short shuttle ride away. Thoroughly recommend a day trip to La Digue. We got a taxi and went independently but you can do tours. It works out slightly cheaper to do it independently and you don't have to follow a guide around! Also recommend visiting Anse Lazio - stunning beach.

The hotel provides complimentary water in the evenings and on the hotel beach. It is cery expensive so worth walking the 10 mins outside the hotel to stock up. Also, if you're on half board and eating at Legends buffet, you can order a bottle of wine and have what's left put aside for the next night. Worth doing if you're not big drinkers as the cost of wine is astronomical.

Apart from that, cannot recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivaLaVida79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

This hotel is in a beautiful location on Praslin island, with 3 lovely beaches. It is quiet and relaxing. However, the customer service is very hit and miss and this is probably due to the large numbers of staff who on occasion are unsure what they should be doing. For example I witnessed one couple wait 90 minutes for their lunch to be brought to their table, even though the restaurant was quiet and there were 4 waiting staff on duty. Another example was the staff at the golf course who were seemingly disinterested when I wanted to play a round of golf. Don't get me wrong there were several pleasant members of staff who went the extra mile but they are few and far between.

You should also be aware that alcohol is not only expensive, but the hotel is blatantly ripping off it's guests. The cheapest bottle of wine is available for £70 (once you add the compulsory 5% service charge and 10% tax), this same bottle is available in the UK for £8.99! I expect to pay 5 star prices for 5 star wines, not 5 star prices for 1 star wines!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank techylaslammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

We stayed here for a week at the end of a 3 week touring and safari holiday. My dad chose the hotel mainly as we knew there would be little to do on the island and this hotel had a choice of 3 restaurants. however we could only eat in 2 as the beach grill menu in the evenings was all fish (my mum doesn't eat fish!).

We stayed in senior suites which were gorgeous and very spacious. The staff were lovely and the grounds beautiful. Bit disappointing that the beach near our suite had a dangerous current warning as did the beach at Anse Georgette leaving only one beach safe to swin. The hotel swimming pools aren't that big. In addition there was a smell of sewage on the far side of Anse georgette we assumed due to people doing their business!

We found this to be the most expensive hotel we have ever stayed in (and we've stayed in quite a few top class hotels). We were bed and breakfast only and found the buffet restaurant in the evening lacked choice for the cost (approx £55 GBP each). Drinks too were expensive with 3 drinks costing around £30 GBP. Everything you buy has an automatic service charge added that you have to pay.

I had a facial at the spa and have to say it was probably one of the best facials I've had and in a lovely setting. the spa is well worth a visit.

It is a beautiful hotel in a lovely location but to be honest once you've been here you've seen what there is to see so I wouldn't return here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClassyT24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

The hotel is beautifully located, with Anse Georgette (one of the beaches of Lemuria) being the most beautiful beach of Praslin. We went snorkelling in the bay near the hotel and saw beautiful fishes, a turtle and some whitetip reefsharks (not dangerous!). Depending on time of the day and wheather conditions you might be lucky. If you do have the opportunity, book a tour to Coco Island and la Digue. Near Coco Island you can snorkel as if you are in an aquarium, very impressive. We found the staff very attentive and friendly. The food we loved it, it was well prepared. The Seychelles are very expensive, and that does not stop at the border of your hotel. As far as we have experienced, the cost of living is high.
We also stayed in other hotels in the Seychelles, and although all very nice, we thought this hotel had the best ambiance, best food and best staff.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Kerlan
4.2 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,376 reviews
10.7 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,029 reviews
5.8 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
806 reviews
3.8 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#4 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Lemuria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Lemuria

Address: Anse Kerlan, Praslin Island 00284, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Kerlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Anse Kerlan
Price Range: £523 - £893 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Lemuria 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisite beaches, clear topaz water, lush vegetation and big boulders; choose from one of the 88 Junior Suites, 8 Senior Suites, 8 Villas or the exclusive Presidential Villa at Constance Lemuria. Enjoy elegant spacious suites and villas or unwind in swimming pools seemingly crafted by nature. Indulge in fine food and customised spa treatments at Constance Lemuria. Fully trained coordinators at the Constance Kids Club will lead your children to wonderful island exploration trips, culinary activities, scavenger hunts and more. For real adventure and wonderful memories, try the only 18-hole golf course in the Seychelles or explore the world famous diving sites! To create a cocoon of luxury amidst vibrant nature, materials such as wood, stone, pink granite, marble and thatch palm has been beautifully used to create a modern yet warm feel at Constance Lemuria. Seychellois’ flavours can be savoured in all the restaurants and bars of the hotel; the warmth can be felt in all the suites and villas. All Suites and Villas which are endowed with exclusive view are luxuriously designed to offer complete comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelbag, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Constance Lemuria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Lemuria Resort Of Praslin, Seychelles Hotel Anse Kerlan
Lemuria Hotel Anse Kerlan
Lemuria Hotel Of Praslin
Constance Lemuria Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing