We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not love at first sight but in the end a great place to stay!”
Review of Constance Lemuria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Constance Lemuria
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Anse Kerlan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2010

After staying 12 days in the Lemuria (and having read many comments here) we would make the following observations:

Resort: In the beginning you could be disappointed because it is not really fancy with outstanding gardening and nice carpaths (actually, the concrete used for the the many paths looks horrible). But over time you appreciate that it is just natural. It is like nature is and one should respect that locals wanted to leave it that way. Anyway, it is a huge resort with only about 100 rooms and you have nowhere the feeling of a crowded place.

Crowd: As we were staying during summer holiday season many families with kids where there. We would guess 50% French, 30% Italians and others the rest (mainly British). Average age is hard to tell as - besides some honeymooners - another pattern to observe is the huge age difference between husbands and spouses but that seemes to be owed to the overall price level ;-)

Prices: We would recommend halfboard for sure. You can also go to the other 2 restaurants beside the main restaurant and would only have to pay up if taking e.g. Lobster or other fancy stuff. Added to prices is always 10% tax and 10% service charge. We do not think additional tipping is expected from restaurant staff even if there is a line on every bill for that reason.

Food: Great food! Sure, other buffets might be bigger with more options but what was served was simply well cooked and tasty. Good quality, some meals freshly prepared in front of you, we were not lacking choice. If you fly to the Seychelles and expect 10 different kinds of French cheese for dessert you will be disappointed but - in our humble opinion - you should better go to France then next time.

Staff: Very, very friendly, professional and helpful! We cannot say anything different! Starting from the driver picking us up (don't take the catameran ferry if you get seasick easily - never seen so many people puking in such short time), the reception, the golf staff, concierge and housekeeping. Housekeeping supervisors regularely passed by and asked if everything was OK. Concierge was making courtesy calls asking if any help is needed and managment was inviting to cocktails giving a chance to talk to senior staff.

Rooms: We had two junior suites as our boy is too old for staying in the parent's room (>12) and this option was cheaper than taking a senior suite. 4 suites are in one house and we had the ones on the ground floor which we would recommend as you have a great view on the ocean and can just walk from your patio 20 meters to you deckchair. We had a room close to the main area (no. twentysomething), if you have higher numbers you might prefer calling a cart picking you up and driving you (just takes a couple of minutes). We would see rooms between 15-40 as perfectly located within the resort. Our suites were spacious with a nice patio. Bathtube and shower is available plus two basins. Flatscreen with international programms (News and sports mainly) and free Video on Demand with a good selection of movies. Free WiFi access and also a wireless keyboard so that you can use your TV set also as a fully fledged (Apple) computer. CD/DVD player is also available. A/C is individually managable. Rooms are neat and clean and definitely no reason to complain. Minibar and safe also standard.

Golf: We were playing pretty much every day and had our own clubs with us. Millionairs golf! Not many are playing and if you start at 11a.m. you have a good chance not seeing any other flight during your game. However, don't expect PGA course level. Fairways are very well maintained but the greens lack of quality. Also, there is a water hazard pretty much everywhere...We are normally playing solid rounds in the low 90s but here we were losing balls in the same speed than points. It is a sensational golf course when it comes to the layout and stunning views on the ocean but it is also one of the most frustrating courses we have ever played. They offer 2nd hand balls in the shop and we picked up a dozen close to daily...Carts are compulsory and are about 30 Euros for 18 holes. If you ask friendly you might be allowed to use the car also later on for your visit to Anse Georgette, THE beach of the Lemuria...

Beaches: Anse Georgette is of course an outstanding beach with white sand and turquoise water! Unfortunately, it is pretty far away from the main building and the way is very hilly. Carts are regularerly going from the reception to the beach and vice versa. There is no infrastructure there (deckchairs, bar, restroom, etc.) - it is pure nature and that's just great! Don't miss it! Nevertheless, more convenient is the main beach which is also more than OK (and less currents/waves which is especially important for those traveling with smaller children). The 3rd beach is the one in front of most of the rooms. You can't swim there (dangerous currents) but it is just great for a walk. Chances are good that you are completely alone and can watch the sunset - romantic at its best!

Tennis courts are available and very well maintained, same is true for the gym and the Spa center.

We find the price for value OK -> it might be not One&Only or Four Seasons level in terms of quality of the facility but a) it's not that expensive either; b) management and staff really shows great attitude and c) after 3 days you enjoy more the different kind of birds you see already during breakfast than missing your favourite cereal.

Would we go there again? Yes, but...: make sure you have convenient connections to Praslin! Don't take the ferry in summer if you are getting seasick! Don't take the Air Seychelles domestic flights if you are afraid of old planes (flight was great, however!). For Europeans there is a big bonus: pretty much no jetlag compared to similar destinations like in Mexico or Hawaii!
And if you spend likely $1000 per day anyway please don't complain about the wine list. Either you can enjoy yourself or you are in the wrong place anyway!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank msspiderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,883)
There are newer reviews for Constance Lemuria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

509 - 515 of 1,883 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2010

The hotel is excellent, lovely staff and great service. Drinks are very expensive as is eating in any of the restaurants. Go half board if you can and save yourself lots of money. We tried going to restaurants reccomended on the island to save cash but this was a false economy. The place is also very popular with Italians...very

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SecretStayer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We visited lemuria following a week long safari on kenya. The idea was to basically chill out and relax while visiting some of the islands and famous beaches.

I had read the previous posts about the resort so was interested to see things for myself. The resort is reasonably large with something like 100 rooms and our standard air conditioned rooms were spacious and clean with lovely beds that meant we slept well. Of the three beaches adjoining the hotel Anse Georgette is the most spectacular and it is a wonderful but we enjoyed Anse Kerlan which has its own bar adjoining the resort where you can get drinks, food etc. The boat house was also there which meant that the kids could take out body boards and snorkelling equipment which they enjoyed. The staff there also came round with fresh water and occasional fruit which was a nice touch.

I was expecting a lot of honeymoon couples at the resort but in fact most were french and italian older families (some brits) many with children. Most seem well off so its definitely not a budget place - Emma Watson the actress was there with her family during our stay.

We really liked the food at the restaurants - the kids loved going up and having whatever they liked in whatever combination and the dishes changed frequently giving plenty of variety. We really looked forward to all our meals - would recommend going half board as we did.

Drinks are expensive but not absurdly so - beer and spirits are OK (beer is about £4 a bottle) but wine is expensive with a cheap glass of wine about £8 and a cheap bottle about £40. However I thought that was fine if you drink in moderation but if you are a big drinker it will be very expensive.

We found the staff very helpful and friendly and had no service issues during our stay. We took the boat to see the large tortoises and snorkelled off coco island before visiting La Digue which I would recommend plus visiting the world heritage site at the Vallee de Mai.

So in summary I would agree with the recent contributer who said that lemuria was an upmarket resort but not top of the pile as in the One and Only etc. However the seychelles are a wonderful destination with some of the best beaches in the world and the lemuria resort is a great place to stay on Praslin and enjoy them.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank britabroad9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

This is a beautiful hotel set on 3 fabulous beaches, one smallish main beach, another which is a buggy ride away from the hotel and the third not really suitable for swimming due to seaweed and currents, but still nice for strolling and sunsets.

The rooms were elegantly decorated and food & wine in the all the restaurants were excellent. Breakfast was more limited and exactly the same every day. However this hotel is very expensive - much more so than other in my view better, 5* resorts we have stayed However, it is the service and staff attitude that really lets this hotel down. For many it all just seems like too much trouble! We ordered an ice bucket every evening at 6pm in the room and it failed to turn up 7 nights out of 7 - sometimes after 2 reminders!! There are many petty rules too and staff eager to hide behind them for example bikes (pretty shoddy ones at that) must be returned each day at 6pm or guests incur a fine and men including teenage boys must wear long trousers in the evening in all the restaurants including the beach bar or be sent back to your room to change (certainly a novel experience that one for us!!) We did express our views at the time to the President, who listened to our comments, and was very understanding. Whether he has the appetite to change much tho, remains to be seen.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

I am going to try to be objective writing my review about Lemuria. My husband and I stayed there as part of our honeymoon to Seychelles, Botswana and Victoria Falls. Lemuria were our first stop in Seychelles. I’ve always dreamed about postcard’s beaches and Seychelles definitively met all my expectations.

1 – Rooms: We stayed in a junior suite. It’s true that the rooms are quite standard, no amazing views or modern furniture but very clean, comfortable and well-equipped. People complained about the walk to the main building and reception. To be honest we found quite nice the little walk to the restaurant and didn’t bother us at all. Internet connexion in the rooms is free, good point compare to other resorts were they charge you quite a lot of money for that. This is not the fastest Internet connexion I have ever had but you are in Seychelles, not in Manhattan!!!

2- Service: The “Seychellois” are not the most reactive and efficient people I met, but even though I don’t have any complains about the service. We ordered a pique-nique to Anse Georgette and the pique-nique was perfectly delivered on time. The guy who brought the pique-nique prepared everything for us and came back to pick us the rest of the nique-nique when we ordered him to do so. My husband had several mosquito bites in his legs that itched him a lot. We asked for a pharmacy to get some after bite relieve and they drove us immediately to the doctor of the hotel who gave us a whole bottle of relieve cream. We said that we didn’t really need the whole bottle and he insisted to keep it for us. The service in the restaurants was ok. Maybe not Four Seasons standard but I would never qualify the staff as rude.

3 – Prices: Range of prices is quite high but Seychelles is a very expensive destination whatever hotel you are staying in. I didn’t find the prices of Lemuria particularly expensive considering the destination and location.

4 – Beaches and location: That was the top of the top. The location of the hotel is just amazing and worth to go even if there are other aspects to improve. As you can see in the pictures the hotel is situated between three beaches. Right next to the rooms and the restaurants there are two beaches. A very long beach very nice but not excellent to swim, and a small perfect beach (Petit anse kerlan) which is just lovely: not many people, immaculate sand and turquoise water. And the third one…the best of the best…Anse Georgette. Definitively the best beach I’ve ever seen. If you close your eyes and think about a perfect beach you are probably seeing Anse Georgette. The beach is on the other side of the golf course. You can take a buggy in the reception to go. They give you towels and bottles of water because there is absolutely no service in this beach. They wanted to keep the beach “just perfect the way it is”. After a short ride by buggy you get to a small path between the forest, and you can hardly imagine what you are going to find at the end of the path: THE PARADISE!!! Shining green vegetation all around, pristine waters, perfect waves, and immaculate with sands. And around 10 people in the whole beach. You can not dream better.

5- Common areas and food: Swimming-pool is very nice, but you don’t need it considering the beaches you have around. Food is very good, breakfast buffet is varied and the diner as well. We had a lobster menu during our last night and it was very good, the lobster was fresh and tasty.

Conclusion: Go to this hotel if you want to see one of the most spectacular beaches on earth and discover the island of Praslin. Do not go there if you expect One&Only and Four Seasons service/quality, this is an average 5 star hotel, not a top luxury resort.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nounouparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We were two couples. Our friend had organized marriage by this hotel.
We stayed one week at this marvellous and charming Hotel and were very sad to leave. The hotel is simply perfect. A huge territory with not so much people, wonderful beaches and everything is at the disposal of the Clients.
Initially we have booked two Junior Suites, but what a surprise we've got by coming. It was just unbelievable, coz instead Junior Suites, we've got a complete beautiful and charming 725 sq.m. villa for 2 couples with private beach, swimming pool, kitchen, 2 bathrooms and so much other facilities, including Villa Master - an agreeable man from Indonesia (Jerry) without paying some extras. It was like a dream, we really couldn’t believe our eyes!!! And we were feeling us as Kings, treated on the best way. Everything was already organized for us and what is really strange, it was for free (I guess included in the booking price): we've got 4 bicycles for a whole week, we've got body-serfs and snorkelling equipment, we could play tennis every evening (including rockets and balls at our disposal), we’ve got golf lesson, electric car, a lot of spa procedures (2 saunas, Jacuzzi, our friend even got complete 2 hours spa complex for 2 as the hotel present for their marriage), really good gym, every day at 14-00 we were served some gormandizes, juices and sandwiches free of charge. Still water was also for free and every day several bottles for each person in the rooms as well as on the main beach. As extra, on the main beach in the middle of the day we were served some fruits. The hotel offer to all of their Clients pareo and nice beach bag. We’ve also got an excursion
The personnel is really nice and agreeable, everything was done in time and carefully. All the territory of the hotel is treated against mosquitoes, so we didn’t see any one over there, what is also very nice, especially if you are laying on the beach and looking to the starry sky.
I have also to mention that marriage ceremony was carefully organized, with nice flavours for bride, decoration as well as on the beach, so in the rooms, tasty cake, good photograph and so on.
I would say, that me, my husband and my friends CAN FULLY RECOMMEND YOU THIS HOTEL!!! IT’S THE BEST ONE!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusikBlond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We spent 5 days of our honeymoon at Lemuria and it was absolutely fantastic. The rooms were spacious and immaculate, the service was superb and the staff were very friendly. The resort manages to retain an intimate feel despite having a lot of rooms.

The beaches in the resort are beautiful but do make the time to go to Anse Georgette which is a short shuttle ride away. Thoroughly recommend a day trip to La Digue. We got a taxi and went independently but you can do tours. It works out slightly cheaper to do it independently and you don't have to follow a guide around! Also recommend visiting Anse Lazio - stunning beach.

The hotel provides complimentary water in the evenings and on the hotel beach. It is cery expensive so worth walking the 10 mins outside the hotel to stock up. Also, if you're on half board and eating at Legends buffet, you can order a bottle of wine and have what's left put aside for the next night. Worth doing if you're not big drinkers as the cost of wine is astronomical.

Apart from that, cannot recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivaLaVida79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Kerlan
4.2 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,356 reviews
10.7 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
5.7 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,017 reviews
1.0 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
166 reviews
3.8 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#5 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Lemuria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Lemuria

Address: Anse Kerlan, Praslin Island 00284, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Kerlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Anse Kerlan
Price Range: £523 - £1,182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Lemuria 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisite beaches, clear topaz water, lush vegetation and big boulders; choose from one of the 88 Junior Suites, 8 Senior Suites, 8 Villas or the exclusive Presidential Villa at Constance Lemuria. Enjoy elegant spacious suites and villas or unwind in swimming pools seemingly crafted by nature. Indulge in fine food and customised spa treatments at Constance Lemuria. Fully trained coordinators at the Constance Kids Club will lead your children to wonderful island exploration trips, culinary activities, scavenger hunts and more. For real adventure and wonderful memories, try the only 18-hole golf course in the Seychelles or explore the world famous diving sites! To create a cocoon of luxury amidst vibrant nature, materials such as wood, stone, pink granite, marble and thatch palm has been beautifully used to create a modern yet warm feel at Constance Lemuria. Seychellois’ flavours can be savoured in all the restaurants and bars of the hotel; the warmth can be felt in all the suites and villas. All Suites and Villas which are endowed with exclusive view are luxuriously designed to offer complete comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Constance Lemuria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Lemuria Resort Of Praslin, Seychelles Hotel Anse Kerlan
Lemuria Hotel Anse Kerlan
Lemuria Hotel Of Praslin
Constance Lemuria Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing