We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Islander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Islander Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed for 5 nights. Liked the apartment, clean tidy and well kept. Very friendly and polite staff.
Only had breakfast which was standard fruit,toast and eggs but was very nice and more than sufficient.
From what we could make out the beach has suffered sever erosion and is now rather small and has a bank of granite rocks stopping further erosion.it certainly is not the beach being advertised on its own brochure which is a shame as it is such a lovely place.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank stuartb0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Islander Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013

directly at the beach (30m). The "double room" IS a 2 room apt. (sleaping room + citchen + bath + terrase). All very clean. Beach is nice, sunset. Walking distance to great Anse Lazio 35 minutes. Beach is sandy but may have some underwater rocks (carefull). With no waves shnorkeling is possible (swim 20 m to the rocks).

Room Tip: Double Room = Apartment !!! (with self catering facilities etc). In the morning and evening some 2-p...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hei248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The room I had was beautiful and very large, and there's a nice porch facing the water. There is a nice size fridge & a small kitchen. There is a safe in the room. By far my biggest gripe is the extra charge for the A/C - it was the only place I stayed in the Seychelles that tacked that onto the bill. [I stayed 4 places in 12 days]. But I paid it b/c the room was way too hot without it. And I don't think there were screens on windows/doors, so I don't really want those open all the time anyway b/c of bugs. The beach here is not good for snorkeling & not great for swimming if you want clear water. However, it is peaceful & uncrowded and nice for sunset. It's true that you might be the only person on the beach here. There is a bus stop nearby [EVERYTHING is far], but please know that the buses run about 1x/hr & stop around 5pm, so not great service. I did rent a car from here for part of my stay & it was a reasonable price. There is a store just minutes away [walking]. If you are looking for quiet & cozy, this won't disappoint. If you want to be closer to snorkeling & action, I'd suggest the other side of the island. As for the restaurant, I did not have a good experience but the owner was gracious & did not require me to pay for the meal. It was quite busy during my stay, so it is quite possible that my experience was a rare exception.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 101travelerNo_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We didn't stay at The Islander's Guesthouse, but we went there to eat in their Capricorn Restaurant.

It is quite out of the way from the general areas of Praslin Island, however trust me the location here is to die for. I have been everywhere on Praslin to look over the sights, and it took me 3 days to find this majestic place. It is difficult to even put into words when you look over at the Indian Ocean from the Lands end near the Capricorn Restaurant. We went there around sunset and the images we saw were wonderful. You had to be there to experience it, we tried taking photos, however the experience was lost in translation.

We came upon Capricorn restaurant by accident, we were looking over a brocure of the Praslin Island and there it was advertised. We figured we have been to so many restaurants on the island trying to find good food, lets try another one. We called ahead and explained our dietary requirements, we are vegetarians and can't eat meat or fish, and they catered superbly for our diet. I did look over the menu, it is not extensive but has a good decent selection of fish and meat dishes, with a Creole touch. The decor is magnificient and should be a blue print for the rest of the island to follow. The waitress was very attentive and the chef was amazing delivering good quality food.

After which we wondered, why aren't we staying at the Islander's Guesthouse. Guys think of it like a Villa type accommodation, plus if you like you can go either with full english breakfast included or half board with your dinner included. Capricorn restaurant is the BEST eatery on the island, and if you stay there you have to eat there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travellbuzz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We have been now about 8 times on the Seychelles (Mahe, Praslin, La Digue). Since we found the Islander Guesthouse on Praslin, we prefer to stay here as our base camp and make excursions from this place to other islands. This year we have been here the 4th time – and we will go there again.

It is very individual if somebody likes a place or not therefore I list the reasons why
we like this place:

• The location is tiny, calm, authentic and well-tended with direct access to Anse Kerlan
beach (we have no road to cross or a long walk from our Apartment to enjoy the Indian
Ocean)
• The beach is never crowded, sometimes we are the only ones
• Because there is no reef in front of Anse Kerlan, the water-level is high and we can
always swim (there are a lot of beaches on Praslin which look very nice e.g. Grand
Anse or Anse Volbert but the water-level in front of their reef is not really high enough to
swim
• It is a good snorkeling spot, especially near the rocks offshore the coast
• It is on the West-Coast, so we have wonderful sunsets
• We have a fridge in our Self-Catering Apartment to cool our drinks
• A Supermarket is very near by (5 Min walk) where we get anything we need for daily life
• A very nice and good Restaurant belongs to the Islander, where we get delicious creole
dishes and individual wishes fulfilled
• The Bus Stop at the Supermarket belongs to the main bus line, we get almost
everywhere by bus. We never had to rent a car.
• We can walk to the most beautiful beaches on the Island to have some exercise in the
nature. To Anse Lazio crossing the Island on a food path (about 50 minutes) to Anse
Georgette taking a trail through the Jungle (about 1,5 h).
• The hosts are very friendly and organize for you what ever you need (e.g. reservations,
excursions etc.) but they are never pushy.
• The price-performance ratio is good. We don’t pay for things we don’t need e.g.
swimming pool.

For us this place is wonderfull because it is not touristic and we like very much to stay here enjoying the nature and having all comfort we need.

If our reasons are also values for you, you will enjoy this place.

If you are looking for entertainment and more luxury this is the wrong place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Sila_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

As already mentioned in another review: this place is basically at the very end of the Western Road on Praslin. You will not be able to get anywhere from here if you don't have a car. Yes, this place is quite remote, but that also makes it quite quiet. Guests stay in a number of relatively large cottages, each of them split in halves. There is a nice restaurant on the grounds, and it has direct access to a (very small) beach. Each cottage half is equipped with a large fridge, and a proper kitchen (i.e. 2 electrical stove tops, sink, pans and pots, etc.) so you can actually cook smaller meals (but don't go overboard, stuff is pretty shonky by Western standards).

The negative things:
- There are no mosquito nets, neither over your bed or on the window frames. If you don't have tropical strengths mozzie spray, you'll be eaten alive over night.
- You have to pay an extra 10 Euros (!!!) to use the air-conditioning, per day! And the ceiling fans won't get you far in the heat.
- The adjacent beach is tiny, rough, and the water is quite muggy as a result. There are a thousand places on this island that have better beaches, so don't rely on this one.
- All cottages are split in halves, and house two apartments. Unfortunately, there is no noise insulation whatsoever. We had a crying baby next to us that made it impossible to sleep before it decided to not scream anymore...
- All the really nice beaches are on the other side of the island - so you will always have to cross the island to get to them (about 30 minutes drive).

Now the positive things
- The cottages you are in are very spacious. They can easily house 4 people without stepping on each other's toes. The bathroom is very spacious, and it has a bit of a living room area, combined with the kitchen.
- For the standards on the Seychelles, the service was good, and the breakfast was delicious.
- Beach towels are readily available, and you can take them out for a day or two.
- There is a small shop literally next door to the guest house. You can at least get some bottled water and other small items there, which is handy in a country where you shouldn't drink tap water.
- The adjacent restaurant looked very nice, and seemed quite popular: every evening, there were way more customers in there than could have stayed in the cottages. We weren't so keen on seafood, and the restaurant really only had one non-seafood dish, so we didn't actually eat there.
- Perfect to watch the sun set.

Conclusion:
If you are planning on hiring a car, and you get a good offer for this place, you might as well take it. It won't blow your mind, but it's also not bad. If I went back to Praslin, I would probably rather pay a little bit more and go into something a bit more luxurious. a little less off the beaten track. Service was friendly and good though, and considering some of the other places we stayed in on the Seychelles, at least this one was clean and spacious.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matthias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miette G, Owner at Islander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Kerlan
0.1 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
166 reviews
3.9 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,360 reviews
6.2 mi away
Chalets Cote Mer
Chalets Cote Mer
#2 of 3 in Baie Ste Anne
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,018 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villas de Mer
Villas de Mer
#3 of 8 in Grand Anse
165 reviews
4.1 mi away
Berjaya Praslin Resort - Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Hotel

Address: Anse Kerlan, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Kerlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Anse Kerlan
Price Range: £84 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Islander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islander Guest House is a small family-run hotel. We are located on a property of more than 4,000sq metres of flat land at Anse Kerlan Beach, in the north-west coast of Praslin, one of the world's most beautiful tropical islands. The Islander Hotel offers comfortable relaxation in a holiday home of your choice, in self-contained Creole style bungalows, ranging from Standard to Family Villa. All accommodations stand proudly amongst well-tended lush gardens, filled with a riot of flowering shrubs. The Islander Hotel has its own private parking. A tortoise-pen is found close to the parking area and guests can feed them from the nearby grasses or leaves. The reception offers assistance for all your holiday requirements, such as excursions, fishing trip, diving, car rental, taxis, and more. The beach is a few steps away, providing the ultimate enjoyment of sun, sea and sand practically on your doorstep, and capping most every day with glorious sunsets. There you can find a newly built gazebo in the Balinese style, with beach beds, chairs and tables, shower, and other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Islander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islanders Guest House Hotel Anse Kerlan
Islander Hotel Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing