We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real Castaway experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chez Batista Villas
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Takamaka
London
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A real Castaway experience”
Reviewed 11 April 2010

I booked into Chez Batista with a slightly worried look on my face, greeted at the reception by someone holding a young baby, the place itself quite 'rustic' I did wonder what the experience would be like....

The room I was gievn sat back from the main reception, but was large, clean and beautifully laid out, if a little disjointed in its decor. The bathroom was sizeable and the a/c worked, which is always a bonus in Seychelles.

Once I'd unpacked, I ventured out to the restaurant for a quiet beer, armed only with my book. It was at this point when any cares or concerns I may have harboured, just ebbed away and I suddenly felt like I was truly at home. The views from the restaurant/bar area were stunning and the beer was nice and affordable, not words one usually associates with Seychelles. The sea lapped in front of me on a large and empty beach, with small white ghost crabs feeding on scraps found in the pure white sands.

The meal I had was a beautiful home made octopus curry which is an absolute must have in Seychelles, but done fantastically well here.

Takamaka is a stunning beach, shared amongst the 8 or so rooms of Chez Batista and the locals who come down to enjoy the afternoon sunshine. So essentially the space and sea is yours. It's nice swimming with some coral if you venture out and some inquisitive fish who followed me around as I took my afternoon dip.

To sum up then, it's a brilliant place to stay, great value for money, properly homely and warm in its welcome and stunning in location terms. The food is very good value and it's one of the most amazing places to enjoy a sundowner beer (£3.50) or cocktail.

Just a lovely lovely place to enjoy a few days r & r.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mitchurchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    33
    21
    21
    24
See reviews for
23
65
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Got married here in 2008 after visiting in 2006 and 2007 (and then again in 2009 and 2010). Great restaurant (but a bit pricey) and Judith and the team are really friendly and with a well stocked bar (unusual for Seychelles) you can wind your afternoon and evening away with ease.

Perfect sunsets and with great rooms at a reasonable rate and an ok breakfast it really is rather nice here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinDower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

Perfect ocean view villa right on the beach with a jacuzzi on your tarrace.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekuchareczka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Ocean
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2009

My first officer and I had dinner at Chez Batista last night (24 Feb '09). We ordered a bottle of mineral water, a bottle of South African Merlot (maybe - it was served uncorked), avocado salad (OK), grilled lobster (over-cooked and dry), grilled octopus (over-cooked, very tough), contorno buffet (OK), creme brullee (86), coconut sorbee (nice), and espresso (OK). The bill came to EUR 122 + 4.5% surcharge for using a credit card = US$157. We wish that we had gone to "The Boat House".

Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank CaptainCatawba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Takamaka hotels

Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2009

Chez Batista's is what any discerning traveler would want to keep a well hidden and deep secret but that would not be fait to the owners, Mr. Batista and Judith and their wonderful team of local people. The location is absolutely fabulous. Their restaurant, run by head chef Agnes is the best creole restaurant in the Seychelles. A fantastic place with fantastic people. Go and enjoy but please keep it a secret!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildberrystudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abuja
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2008

Lovely location, nice room, nice food, decent value (for the Seychelles!).

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of our honeymoon. The room was very nicely decorated, and you could hear the waves from the balcony.

The food was nice, the breakfasts fullsome (mini bananas, fruit, toast with jams, and a choice of eggs (pancakes, omelettes scrambled). The juice at breakfast seemed like carton juice, although they gave us a nice fresh smoothie on arrival and served fresh juices at lunch and dinner.

The buffet on sunday was excellent, including a wide range of foods, and good enough value that many of the customers were locals. The lobster my wife had was her favourite during the holiday.

Service was friendly, and the beach that the hotel sits on is gorgeous, with some great sunsets.

  • Liked — location, food
  • Disliked — not much
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank timandvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2008

Chez Batista Villas, Anse Takamaka, Mahe, Seychelles.
Monika and Nick de Nooyer, Basel, Switzerland.
We just returned from 9 days at this hotel with 3 standard rooms, 7 superior rooms and 2 mini/suites in a wonderful location directly on a beautiful bay in southwestern Mahe. We had lunch here 10 years ago and we decided then that one day we would come back to stay.
Our superior room, number 14, was very new but we had a look at another one and decided that it would have been acceptable as well. We could see the ocean from our room and terrace, which is also possible from room number 6 and from the 2 mini suites. The rooms have all amenities like hairdryer and airconditioning and are clean. Our room had no door dividing the bathroom from the rest of the room but other rooms do not have this "feature". We took most of our dinners and some light lunches at our restaurant where the food was good, especially if you like fish, and this just yards from the ocean (sunsets). The staff is very friendly and helpful and we rented a car with the help of Judith, however there is also a public bus stop on the main road close to the hotel. Buses are cheap and run frequently. Hotel phone number 00248 366300 (Judith)

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness and comfort
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dutch65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takamaka
12.2 mi away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
12.3 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
0.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Le Relax Hotel and Restaurant
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Batista Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Batista Villas

Property: Chez Batista Villas
Address: Anse Takamaka | PO Box 3013, Takamaka, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Takamaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Takamaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chez Batista Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chez Batista Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Batista Villas Hotel Takamaka
Chez Batista Hotel
Chez Batista Villas Seychelles/Mahe Island - Takamaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing