We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A happy return after 21 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Bain

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bain
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A happy return after 21 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I made a detour, actually a long detour to stop by the restaurant of Grand Hotel Bain as I had such memory for this place and the kind and smiling owners. It was a new generation of this family dynasty who hosted me with the same professionalism and kindness as what I remember.
The food was such delight from a menu with appetizers, main course and dessert. I choose the omelette aux fines herbes as a unusual starter but to be one of the best ever I had in my life. Again, I took the uncommon Tripe Nicoise, which was superbly prepared and finishing with another rare ile flottante, which I had not had for a few decades but still of a such joy to appreciate.
I didn't lodge this time but would stay again with these people again and any time I would be passing by a few hours away.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    53
    21
    10
    2
See reviews for
17
55
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

The place is nearly otherworldly, in the evening not a single car drove by in two hours. Good bar, decent rooms with the smell of village. Come if you want a respite from town life.

And it's silly on the part of tripadvisor to push the contributors to write long reviews

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vadim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

This was the second year in a row we stayed in this charming, tradional hotel. The location is in a small village with wonderful views and although a short drive from the gorges du Verdon it is peaceful and quiet. Its been a hotel since the 1770's! and run by the same familly for generations. The service is excellent and the restaurant very good. The bathroom in our room this year was new and much nicer than the one we had last year. Its a shame they dont make more use of the garden at the rear of the hotel, it was a bit unloved last year and now overgrown and closed to guests; if they restored the garden it really would be perfect

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice
Level Contributor
167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

While visiting the area, by 2 daughters and I found ourselves with no place to sleep on a sunday night at nightfall.. And while driving around we found Hotel Bain in a small village named Comps.
The hotel was very well lit from the outside and warm inside ! The woman who runs it is really very welcoming. Our room was very clean and beds comfortable. Being sunday night nothing was open so we ate dinner at the hotel's restaurant and it was delicious, especially the homemade deserts..
I would reccomend it for anyone who is in the area (gorges du verdon) ~

Room Tip: We had room 22 with a large double bed and 1 single.. large and clean. Just don't take your sock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lunamare62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stopped in Comps-sur-Arby, on our way to the Gorge de Verdon, and called at the Grand Hotel Bain for lunch. Which was excellent, with a very good menu. Good food well cooked and presented and served by helpful staff. The diningroom has wonderful views over the surrounding countryside. Before you leave buy a pot of M. Bains wonderful orange conserve it turns your breakfast toast into a dream. We hope to return for a longer visit soon.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieuwrode, Belgium
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

I come here for more than 25 years now and every time it is a pleasure! Here you can find recepies that did not change for decades. This familiy runs the hotel for several generations.
Come here for the authentic provencal dishes: ommelette, daube, paté and terrine, lamb and of course truffle... do not forget to start with a pastis! ;o)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teckel1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stopped at the Grand Hotel Bain for a long lunch on a gorgeous fall day. The food was what you would hope to find in the French countryside. High quality ingredients with no fuzz traditional preparation. We had salad with cantaloupe, greens and cured ham. Then honey glazed duck with pumpkin mash and chestnuts. The dessert was tarte tartin with vanilla ice cream - a dream. It was hard not to be able to enjoy a long nap after those enormous portions...

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VitelloTonatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comps-sur-Artuby
6.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lachens
Hotel Du Lachens
#1 of 1 in La Bastide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
#1 of 3 in La Palud sur Verdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
4.8 mi away
Chateau de Trigance
Chateau de Trigance
#1 of 2 in Trigance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Moulin de la Camandoule
8.3 mi away
Hotel Le Provence
Hotel Le Provence
#3 of 3 in La Palud sur Verdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
15.6 mi away
Auberge des Salles
Auberge des Salles
#1 of 2 in Les-Salles-sur-Verdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bain

Property: Grand Hotel Bain
Address: rue de Praguillen, 83840 Comps-sur-Artuby, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Comps-sur-Artuby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Comps-sur-Artuby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel Bain 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Bain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bain Comps-Sur-Artuby, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing