We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few days on Praslin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Jewels Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Amitie B&B and Inns
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
“Few days on Praslin”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We (two friends and I) stayed at Ocen Jewels for two nights in July, 2013 and we found the place very charming. It's super neat, beautiful and has everything you could need in a self-catering apartment. The owners were very helpful and also stayed out of your way so that you can enjoy your vacation. If we go back to Praslin, we're definitely staying there!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ethioguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Ocean Jewels Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Ethioguru,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We truly appreciate the effort and positive feedback you have added.
It was a pleasure to have you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Paul & Brenda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    33
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
85
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saltsjö-Duvnäs, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Michael and I spent our 14 days in Seychelles at Ocean Jewels Resort and we loved it. Everything was perfect, except that the seeweeds where in the ocean, so I couldn´t swim at the beach at the hotel. That was a pity but Paul and Brenda couldn´t do anything about it.
Paul and Brenda helped us when we needed and we made friends with whole their family and fiends. Michael tried to cook a Swedish dinner that we shared with Paul, Brenda and the children and Friday evenings we met with their friends at the café le Monde and Michael played the guitarr as well.

Room Tip: We had a whole house by ourselves and there isn´t any pool or fitness center in the hotel, so that´s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Ocean Jewels Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Maria N,

Thank you for your kind review and wonderful comments. We miss the sounds of Michael's guitar playing on the patio. We hope to see you back very soon to celebrate 61.

It was wonderful meeting and sharing your holiday with you. Thank you for tagging along and adding such a wonderful atmosphere to our TGIF pizza night. We all had a wonderful time singing along to Michael's incredible talent of playing the 12 string.

We miss you and please stay in touch.

Warm Regards,

Paul & Brenda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ooo
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We've spent 6 nights at the Ocean Jewels in April 2013 with our 2,5 years old toddler.
Location is perfect for Island exploring ...bus stop near Villas ->going all around Praslin. Local airport just 2 minutes drive from Ocean Jewels (flights from Mahe to Praslin).
Accomodation was very good : CLEAN ,large appartment with big balcony.Very well equipped kitchen for self catering guests. Local small shop just around the corner).
In April/May on the Grande Anse can appear seaweeds on the beach,however I would not move to any other hotel, as the hospitality was perfect.
Brenda, Paul ...many thanks for your help, great holiday and amazing BBQ on the beach!

Room Tip: I would recommend villa with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magda x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Ocean Jewels Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Hi Guys,

Hope all is well on your side! I thought you had forgotten about us so thank you for this surprise. It was great meeting you and hope to see you again very soon. Our wishes to Jake and Oli.

Please tell Oli that we now have a swing in the garden for his next vacation.

Warm Regards,

Paul & Brenda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blantyre, Malawi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We have enjoyed every moment at Ocean Jewels Resort. The location was great for us, directly in front of the beach, the house was equipped with all necessary facilities and daily cleaned, and the owners were very friendly and willing to help. The family house where we stayed was very baby friendly and also the top floor balcony was safe for our baby. We highly recommend this place for young families who want to stay on Praslin.

Room Tip: Family house is beach front and baby friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arbokkekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Ocean Jewels Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Family V.

Thank you for your kind and wonderful comments. It was a pleasure having you and sharing your vacation with you. Good luck for the next 3 months and do let us know of his arrival.

We look forward to having you all back soon.

Warm Regards,

Paul & Brenda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We spent eleven days here. It was great. Quiet neighborhood. Service at the highest level, the apartment clean, very large and well equipped. Everything like new. Very nice couple running the resort, Paul and Brenda, always smiling and helpful.
Many thanks for your hospitality, We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarekC37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Ocean Jewels Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Marek,

Thank you for taking the time out of your very busy schedule to write this wonderful comment on Ocean Jewels. We really enjoyed having you with us and hope to see you back very soon.

Warm Regards,

Paul & Brenda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2013

My husband and I spent 7 nights at the Ocean Jewels Resort in April 2013 and were blown away by the service and attention to detail. We have travelled around the world and stayed in many self-catering establishments, so you can say we have become “aficionados” in this regard. Ocean Jewels rates high in my ranking and I have to give credit to Paul and Brenda (the Owner/Manager) who have put this little Jewel together very nicely. We’ve seldom come across a husband and wife team in our travels and I must say the partnership works extremely well. We were also pleasantly surprised to see the little additions like the Nespresso Machine in our room, I love coffee, so I was in Heaven. I searched the entire Island for the Capsules and didn’t come across any, so hats off to Paul for ensuring that I had an endless supply.
The daily supply of fresh fish from the fisherman next door was incredible! We had the opportunity to taste nearly all the different kinds, AWESOME tip from Brenda!

We wish you all the best with this beautiful property, we know you’ll continue to do great things. We’ll be back soon!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Ocean Jewels Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Oxygal,

Our work is made easier and extremely rewarding after we read such wonderful and kind comments. Our only wish is whilst you're here with us you have the best possible vacation we can provide. As travellers ourselves, we enjoy sharing this amazing destination with others.
Seychelles is a wonderful place to visit and the memories created here will hopefully last a life time.

I must also thank you for participating in our activities, it made our lives easier knowing you a little better. I know we will see you again soon!!

Warm Regards,

Paul & Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Ocean Jewels is located in Amitie, Praslin island, on the Grande Anse beach which isn't really suited for swimming, being quite dirty (at least in May when I was staying). However, the hotel location was good, not far from a bus stop with buses going all around Praslin. Which means that for only 5 Seychelles Rupees (about 0.5$) you can travel anywhere, including the magnificent Anse Lazio and other beaches. Buses are available from early mornings till 6 PM and the time table isn't always followed, but usually you can catch a bus every half an hour or so.

The hotel rooms were very good and there's a lot of space both inside and at the balcony. There's a large bedroom, living room and kitchen with plenty of space, suitable for a long stay (which wasn't the case for me). So, it's probably a great place for a family vacation.

The managers and personnel are friendly and will help you with anything you need. There's also WiFi, both paid and free, with free being available in the yard between cottages. They can also provide transfers for a descent price, since taxi prices on Praslin (and everywhere on Seychelles for that matter) are ridiculous.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Owner at Ocean Jewels Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Igiss,

It was wonderful meeting you and sharing your holiday with you. We enjoyed having you and as I said, you're always welcome back!
Thank you for taking the time to write this helpful and informative comment. Your kind words is very much appreciated.

Warm Regards,

Paul & Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amitie
9.0 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
858 reviews
1.3 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
148 reviews
4.9 mi away
Chalets Cote Mer
Chalets Cote Mer
#2 of 3 in Baie Ste Anne
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,310 reviews
5.1 mi away
Iles des Palmes
Iles des Palmes
#3 of 3 in Baie Ste Anne
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Grand Anse
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Jewels Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Jewels Resort

Property: Ocean Jewels Resort
Address: Amitie | Grande Anse, Amitie, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Amitie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Amitie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Jewels Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit Seychelles, the Pearl of the Indian Ocean, the Ocean Jewels Resort, will allow you to have it all, a home away from home as well as the powder-white sandy beach, literally, right outside your doorstep. These six self-catering, luxury, modern chalets, complete with air-conditioning, will give you the comfort and tranquility you desire, not to forget the flexibility to do things at your own pace and leisure.Perfectly situated near car rentals, bus stops, shops and the beach, the Resort will give you the opportunity to plan your holiday as you want it. Put away your watches and enjoy the surroundings of the Resort which will give you the chance of living the fantasy; have breakfast in a tropical garden and cocktails on the beach watching a kaleidoscope of sunset colors after a day of snorkeling, diving or island-hoping.At Ocean Jewels, your comfort is our priority. Bedding, Crockery and island warmth will all be provided at no cost to yourself. Our helpful staff will ensure that you have what you need: the space to relax with the added comfort of home. Enjoy paradise your way, at your leisure, at the Ocean Jewels Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Jewels Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Jewels Resort Seychelles/Praslin Island - Amitie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing