We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three days in paradise”
Review of Ashburnham Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashburnham Estate
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Elkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

It's just a piece of paradise in the middle of the mountains.
The hotel, staff, food, panorama, nature, location are just incredible. It was such an amazing surprise that we were sorry we couldn't spend more days in the Estate.
It was a little rainy but nothing to worry. We saw the tea plantation and the walked around a little. A "must-see" place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

A delghtful property in a spectacular location. Peacful and beautiful. Lovely staff and management in a casual atmosphere. Arrange for us to see tea pickers working which was interesting and natural. Great walks around estate and surrounding area. Accommodation was comfortable with lots of areas to relax and take in the views. Highly recommended and a highlight of our holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert3764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We loved our stay at Ashburnham Estate, so much so that I was taken kicking to the car on our departure! Everything about our stay was perfect, the welcome from Vij and Reegi, our first pot of tea overlooking the estate, our homely and spacious room and our first lunch on the balcony of fresh salad and quiche (so delicious that I had a cooking lesson with the chef and felt privileged to have him share his secret recipe with me). The weather was drizzly so our host Andy, much to my joy, set an open fire around which enjoyed scones and jam and tea. Bliss! Our evening meal, was just as wonderful. We shared great conversations with other guests, Andrea, Simon, Lily and Finn over wonderful curries and pudding. What could be better, other than sweet cuddles with baby Neo, the manager and his wife's very new baby. Thanks Carrie for sharing. Would I stay here again? Absolutely! Would I recommend staying here? In a flash. It is one of my most favourite memories of Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan652013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Just came back from Ashburnham Estate a week ago. I had such an amazing time. Ate one of the best Sri Lankan curries i have ever had. Best thing to do while you are there is to go on a long walk around the tea estate and visit their cascade pool and waterfall. Just a perfect little gem tucked up in the hills of Elkaduwa. Not only that but everyone there was extremely kind, helpful and welcoming. I will be suggesting this place to anyone who plans on visiting the hill country of Sri Lanka. Its so much more than a place to stay and I don't have a single complaint about the place.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Meta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The brochure really doesn't lie when it says that Ashburnham Estate is 'heaven on earth'. I was lucky enough to stay there over a weekend in early July and my only regret was not being able to stay longer. The views from the bungalow are absolutely breathtaking and offered the perfect atmosphere for some much needed rest and relaxation. My friends and I were lucky enough to be given a tour of the tea estate and we greatly enjoyed swimming in Ashburnham's very own waterfall. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all fantastic with the highlight definitely being the feast of Sri Lankan rice and curry we had on our last night. Regis, the chef, cooks probably the best brinjal curry on the whole island. A special mention must go to Andy and Carrie, an extremely amiable English couple who look after the bungalow. They were very welcoming and regaled us all with their stories of travelling around Asia. There is so much to do on the estate itself and it is also within a comfortable distance of Kandy, Matale and the Knuckles range. I have stayed in a lot of places in Sri Lanka but this is definitely the best so far. If you want somewhere beautiful, tranquil and friendly to stay then this is where to go.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S-Mac-the-Knife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

No doubt, every Englishman's house is his castle! David- the owner of this beautiful holiday bungalow is married to my Srilankan friend Indee.

We had the good fortune of spending the day at their estate over the weekend and what struck me first was how breathtakingly beautiful it is! Andy and Carrie, a lovely English couple who help take care of the bungalow, made us feel completely at home. It simply exudes class and comfort and yet effortlessly gives off an atmosphere of homeliness.

It is THE place to base yourself if you want a quiet, relaxing and perfect holiday! Can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shameema J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

If you're looking for a beautiful, peaceful place to stay, with the warmest welcome, delicious food, spectacular views and wonderful walks, then this is it. Carrie and Andy made us feel right at home, from the delicious afternoon tea when we arrived, to the loan of a hairdryer, use of their guidebooks, and the games of Rummikub with them at night. Our room was beautifully done with colourful local fabrics, and a romantically-draped mosquito net - they even let us borrow their insect repellent for the walk down to the waterfall (highly recommended, especially with the dogs who love to come and keep you company). We had to drag ourselves away, very reluctantly to continue our trip. We'd definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leggers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkaduwa
3.7 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
2.7 mi away
Green View Holiday Resort
2.0 mi away
Hunas Falls by Amaya
Hunas Falls by Amaya
#2 of 3 in Elkaduwa
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 56 in Kandy
557 reviews
8.1 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 56 in Kandy
340 reviews
5.5 mi away
A&B Events
A&B Events
#2 of 2 in Matale
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashburnham Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashburnham Estate

Address: B416 - Elkaduwa Road, Elkaduwa 21012, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Elkaduwa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Elkaduwa
Price Range: £102 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the foothills of the Knuckles Mountain Range, between the Cultural Triangle and Kandy, our 98 acre tea estate, offers guests a perfect location for exploring Sri Lanka's famous sites.Alternatively Ashburnham Estate, offers you the perfect spot to unwind. Relax on the veranda and enjoy the stunning views and magical sunsets. Or cool off in our swimming pool, 60 foot waterfall or Cascade Pool.With such lush natural surroundings there is ample opportunity to walk through our working tea estate, and help the ladies picking, or onto the hills to enjoy spectacular views.Our original 1930’s Principal Planter’s bungalow, offers 4 double rooms, a family room and our luxurious Ashburnham Suite; all beautifully decorated to offer unique character.So, what are you waiting for, come and enjoy the beauty of Ashburnham Estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Ashburnham Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashburnham Estate Hotel Elkaduwa
Ashburnham Estate Sri Lanka/Elkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing