We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”
Review of Ashburnham Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashburnham Estate
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Elkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
el015e
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We had such a lovely time at this beautiful house, set in the hills outside Kandy in a tea estate. Carole and her team made us feel extremely welcome, we couldn't have asked for more so we extended our stay heresy we could enjoy it for longer. We took one trip into Kandy which is around 30 minutes away in a car, this was quite enough for us as it is a busy town and a bit touristy (the best thing we found there was an organic health shop that sold the best mosquito bite cream ever). We found it much more enjoyable to have long walks around the Ashburnham area. Reggie the chef is a great guy and his food was wonderful, we even had a cooking lesson one evening. The climate up there is a little chilly in the evenings especially when you find yourself in a cloud, but a log fire is promptly lit and soon you'll be too hot again! We had a great time at this lovely estate and would highly recommend this place to couples and families who like to watch the comings and goings of nature amongst friendly people.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank el015e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
62
67
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Our little family, with 3 daughters, stayed at Ashburnham for 3 nights, at the end of our 10 day tour of Sri Lanka. It was perfect after 7 days of heat and bustle to come up to the cooler air and quieter surroundings, to explore the countryside around, and take stock of all we had experienced before on the island.
The service and food were great, the rooms were exceptionally spacious and comfortable, and we had fun swimming in the waterfall and other pools, and hiking in the hills.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stocksund_AFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We booked to stay at Ashburnham through Booking.com from 25-27 Dec. I wrote to them for confirmation of the booking (as a a precaution) and heard from them after 3 weeks informing me that the resort was in fact fully booked and there was an error by Booking.com. Rex on his behalf did apologize but the time it took to inform me forced to to change plans and look for alternate options in peak season. This is not a review of the resort which I am sure is great (given all great reviews on TA) but anyone booking here please reconfirm your bookings.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Charu_Akash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We thought that Ashburnham Estate was spectacular and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were fantastic (we especially enjoyed our cooking lesson with Regis) and the accomodation was relaxing, spacious and comfortable. The surrounding area is fascinating with exceptionally friendly locals. We would love to stay here again and highly recommend it

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kat w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

It's just a piece of paradise in the middle of the mountains.
The hotel, staff, food, panorama, nature, location are just incredible. It was such an amazing surprise that we were sorry we couldn't spend more days in the Estate.
It was a little rainy but nothing to worry. We saw the tea plantation and the walked around a little. A "must-see" place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

A delghtful property in a spectacular location. Peacful and beautiful. Lovely staff and management in a casual atmosphere. Arrange for us to see tea pickers working which was interesting and natural. Great walks around estate and surrounding area. Accommodation was comfortable with lots of areas to relax and take in the views. Highly recommended and a highlight of our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert3764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We loved our stay at Ashburnham Estate, so much so that I was taken kicking to the car on our departure! Everything about our stay was perfect, the welcome from Vij and Reegi, our first pot of tea overlooking the estate, our homely and spacious room and our first lunch on the balcony of fresh salad and quiche (so delicious that I had a cooking lesson with the chef and felt privileged to have him share his secret recipe with me). The weather was drizzly so our host Andy, much to my joy, set an open fire around which enjoyed scones and jam and tea. Bliss! Our evening meal, was just as wonderful. We shared great conversations with other guests, Andrea, Simon, Lily and Finn over wonderful curries and pudding. What could be better, other than sweet cuddles with baby Neo, the manager and his wife's very new baby. Thanks Carrie for sharing. Would I stay here again? Absolutely! Would I recommend staying here? In a flash. It is one of my most favourite memories of Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan652013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkaduwa
3.7 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
2.0 mi away
Hunas Falls by Amaya
Hunas Falls by Amaya
#2 of 3 in Elkaduwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
2.7 mi away
Green View Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#3 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
8.1 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
11.1 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashburnham Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashburnham Estate

Property: Ashburnham Estate
Address: B416 - Elkaduwa Road, Elkaduwa 21012, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Elkaduwa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Elkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the foothills of the Knuckles Mountain Range, between the Cultural Triangle and Kandy, our 98 acre tea estate, offers guests a perfect location for exploring Sri Lanka's famous sites.Alternatively Ashburnham Estate, offers you the perfect spot to unwind. Relax on the veranda and enjoy the stunning views and magical sunsets. Or cool off in our swimming pool, 60 foot waterfall or Cascade Pool.With such lush natural surroundings there is ample opportunity to walk through our working tea estate, and help the ladies picking, or onto the hills to enjoy spectacular views.Our original 1930’s Principal Planter’s bungalow, offers 4 double rooms, a family room and our luxurious Ashburnham Suite; all beautifully decorated to offer unique character.So, what are you waiting for, come and enjoy the beauty of Ashburnham Estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ashburnham Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashburnham Estate Hotel Elkaduwa
Ashburnham Estate Sri Lanka/Elkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing