We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place - really feels like home”
Review of Ashburnham Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashburnham Estate
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Elkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A great place - really feels like home”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Ashburnham is a lovely tea plantation 'bungalow' - full of old world charm. It's a little worn around the edges but to be honest for me that just adds to the charm.

It's a long winding climb up the hill from Kandy but once you get there, it is a brilliant blend of breathtaking and chilled out. From the verandah (where you will spend most of your time, I'm sure) the knuckles mountains are in view: tea is served almost constantly by the every present and ever friendly Vish - within minutes we felt 'settled in'.
Peter and Mozelle, the hosts, are friendly, chatty, but give you plenty of space. We were really looked after. The hospitality of these guys and their team are really what makes this place special (oh, and the view!) You really felt that they couldn't do enough for you.
Drawbacks? The food wasn't quite as good as the reviews would suggest - don't get me wrong it is good but as we travelled around Sri Lanka we did find better. A lot of it was excellent, but some of it didn't quite hit the spot, and given that (given its locale) there are few food choices to be had, this is a drawback to be considered, particularly if you are staying for more than a couple of days.
The dogs are lovely, and kept our daughter company throughout our stay.
But all in all the location, the friendliness of the team and the chilled out atmosphere makes Ashburnham a place we would definitely return to.

its a good 30 minutes back into Kandy, but easily done in a day trip. there are lovely walks, and even a waterfall to swim in on the grounds. The bungalow is surrounded by the tea plantation so a 'tea tour' can be squeezed in to even the shortest itinerary.

A really good stop, and so much better to be in Elkaduwa than in Kandy. A very special place that made us feel instantly relaxed and chilled out and at home. thanks Peter and Mozelle and all of the team!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikebkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
69
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
oman
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We didn't stay at the Estate however Mozelle and Peter were kind enough to allow us to go have lunch and use their wonderful waterfall / rock pools. The walk down to the pools is lovely with wonderful views over the valley and the waterfall and pools themselves are like something out of a movie my kids were thrilled. The walk back up was a challenge for me being asthmatic but slow and steady won the race although my kids found it no trouble at all.
We returned up the main house for a scrumptious lunch and Mozelle was so kind to consider my picky eaters and made them some nuggets and chips! We had a great lasagne and salad and scrumptious garlic bread.
While there we had a look at the house and we said we would love to return to there one day. If you are looking for a "tea experience" but dont want to go up to Nuwara Eliya then this is the place to go. So much more personal and a wonderful experience with warm hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank umlaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here two nights, upon the recommendation of friends of mine who had stayed 6 months earlier. Our stay was fantastic, Mozelle and Peter (and baby Patrick) were fantastic hosts, Reggie's Sri Lankan dinners were amazing (and cooked to our spice requirements) and Vishy's attention to our needs was just impeccable. We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of the tea plantation with Mr Das, even having a chance to pick tea (I am no tea picker). The grounds are stunning and the walk to the waterfall beautiful (just watch out for the leeches), the swim was wonderful too. The one thing we learnt while staying here is to listen to the locals and take their advice on what to do and see!

Room Tip: Request the Sunset room (and hope for a sunset!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We spent 16 days touring Sri Lanka with our driver Shiran. He was used to taking people on the usual gringo trails, staying at tourist hotels. So even though he lives in Kandy, he had never been to Ashburnham before. Like us, he was blown away by the location, the view and the house. He even turned up an hour early to collect us so he could look at the view again!
Moselle and Peter were perfect hosts. Not intrusive, but happy to join for dinner (we were the only guests towards the end of the season) and tell us all about the estate and life in Sri Lanka. The food was good, and excellent value. The wine and gin and tonics did rather push the extras bill up a bit :) They even set out to try and rescue my husband who had set off for a walk but then got caught in a torrential downpour. Thankfully he had managed to get back to the gate lodge, so wasn't too soggy.
The breakfast patio (picture attached) is one of the most beautiful spots we've ever eaten toast at! The bedrooms could do with a bit of attention, but I know that is the plan over the next few months, to make Ashburnham even more of an incredible place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahnfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

well worth the drive ... visited with 2 youngsters who for their various reasons be it the monkeys all around you, the swimming pool slide, the fabulous waterfall or the great walk through the local vilalge ... and of course the most welcoming hosts which truely made our stay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lalaclem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed here in the family room (Albizia Suite) for 3 nights in April, 2 adults 2 children. We had the most amazing time. We normally tend to go for the bigger, 'anonymous' hotels, so this was a total change of style for us. The managers Moselle and Peter and baby Patrick were extremely friendly and welcoming, and made sure we always had refreshments, or anything else we needed. Reggie's food has already been very highly praised by other reviewers - but it really was delicious, and everything was cooked fresh to order. We even got given a choice of what we wanted each day. It was superb.

Our room was very nice - simple, country style, but clean and very comfortable, although with no a/c we needed plenty of fans to keep the room cool. When we woke up the next morning, it was to such a beautiful view across the mountains. It is so beautifully quiet here that you very quickly feel Ashburnham working its charms - it is very, very hard not to relax. We went down to the waterfall on one morning too, which is beautiful but a slightly challenging walk for little legs. The estate is a nature lover's paradise, but equally you have to remember that this is the countryside, and therefore it is not insect free! Make sure you have some insect repellent with you.

While we were staying here there were another couple of families, plus the owner and his own children. The kids immediately got together in a group to play, go for a swim in the pool, and generally have a wonderful time, running around all over the show and forcing the owner to give them piggy back rides - but nobody seemed to mind. Although none of us knew each other before we came, I genuinely enjoyed having dinner with the other guests (although we were offered a table just the two of us if we preferred some alone time!!) and came away feeling as if we had made some friends. On our last day, they arranged for us to visit the tea plantation part of the estate, and the children had a wonderful time learning all about how they grow and pick tea, and learning a few words in Tamil!

Our stay at Ashburnham unexpectedly turned out to be one of the highlights of our holiday. I really can't recommend it enough to other families looking to combine some time in the hill country with maybe some time on the beach.

Room Tip: They are all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I finished off a business trip to Sri Lanka with two days at the Ashburnham Tea Estate, they were by far and away the highlight. The website pretty much says it all but for the avoidance of doubt...

The staff are brilliant, nothing is too much trouble and everything is done with a smile. Vish mixes a mean Rum & Coke whilst Reggie's food is both plentiful and of the highest quality.

Set up in the hills, about 2,400ft above sea level, this is a great place to escape the heat of summer, sit back and relax whilst taking in the views. I went on five hour trek up one of the nearby mountains with a peak at around 4,900ft - the views were spectacular. One of the best days walking I can remember.

With excellent wi fi, a welcoming pool & books galore, there isn't a dull moment. For me, traveling alone, I especially liked the fact that some of the guests chose to dine together in the evenings joined by Mozelle & Peter, the managing team both of whom were excellent company and run the place like clockwork. Peter just happens to be the best Cellist in Sri Lanka too whilst Mozelle bakes the meanest cakes, be sure to seek proof of both claims.

I very much hope to return soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Potage2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkaduwa
3.7 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
2.0 mi away
Hunas Falls by Amaya
Hunas Falls by Amaya
#2 of 3 in Elkaduwa
387 reviews
2.7 mi away
Green View Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 54 in Kandy
506 reviews
8.1 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 54 in Kandy
325 reviews
11.1 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashburnham Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashburnham Estate

Property: Ashburnham Estate
Address: B416 - Elkaduwa Road, Elkaduwa 21012, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Elkaduwa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Elkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the foothills of the Knuckles Mountain Range, between the Cultural Triangle and Kandy, our 98 acre tea estate, offers guests a perfect location for exploring Sri Lanka's famous sites.Alternatively Ashburnham Estate, offers you the perfect spot to unwind. Relax on the veranda and enjoy the stunning views and magical sunsets. Or cool off in our swimming pool, 60 foot waterfall or Cascade Pool.With such lush natural surroundings there is ample opportunity to walk through our working tea estate, and help the ladies picking, or onto the hills to enjoy spectacular views.Our original 1930’s Principal Planter’s bungalow, offers 4 double rooms, a family room and our luxurious Ashburnham Suite; all beautifully decorated to offer unique character.So, what are you waiting for, come and enjoy the beauty of Ashburnham Estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Ashburnham Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashburnham Estate Hotel Elkaduwa
Ashburnham Estate Sri Lanka/Elkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing