We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning nature, top notch service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunas Falls by Amaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hunas Falls by Amaya
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Elkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Stunning nature, top notch service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2008

Never has a hotel made me feel so welcome. We were treated as special guests and even as friends. Our perfect 5 night stay at Hunas is among the top hotel experiences of my lifetime. We came for the nature, but it was the kind and caring people working at this lovely hotel that made our trip so special.

This comfortable retreat is remotely located about an hour north of Kandy on an accessible but rugged road. (* See below for details on transport and transport costs.) Our Deluxe room was large and pleasant with a comfortable queen-sized bed and a large private balcony. The spacious bath had a nice shower/tub with hot water and a pretty vanity. Everything we needed was provided.

There are many lovely walks around the hotel, showing off the gorgeous views and wildlife. The hotel offers an impressive variety of activities and excursions. We recommend the head massage! Don't miss the short hike to Shaheen peak for truly stunning views of the entire valley below. Hikes can be done with or without the naturalist, but in either case, leech socks are a must. Pick them up from reception.

The food at Hunas is delicious. Both Sri Lankan and western dishes are well-prepared and with a homey touch. We enjoyed good wine, an extensive menu, and especially loved the morning breakfast buffet.

Location aside, it is the staff that makes this hotel so outstanding. Gracious, kind, confident, and attentive, the Hunas team happily goes about exceeding the expectations of its guests. Housekeeping paid close attention to when we breakfasted, so that our room was always immaculately clean by the time we returned. Mention a favorite Sri Lankan specialty, and you will be asked if it can be special ordered for you for your next meal. If you take an interest in something, they will do what they can to oblige, and they'll make it fun along the way. To the staff at Hunas, bravo for your outstanding quality of service! We can't wait to come and stay again.

--------------------------------------------------------
* A note on transport. Prices are surprisingly high for short-term private cars & vans, and we found the rates to be consistent among operators. The standard one-way rate from Kandy to Hunas is currently 2500 rupees (~US$25). The rate between Airport & Hunas is 8500 each way (6000 each way for Airport & Kandy) and this can be arranged with the taxi service at the Airport, and again at the hotel for your return. We tried switching in Kandy to get cheaper fares, but it actually cost us more and took longer. We did have good luck one day taking a local bus/train combo into Kandy. Less than US$1 apiece between Hunas and Kandy, and a fun, memorable trip! Ask around for bus & train times. Currently a bus stops by the Hunas hotel at 10am and gets you to the train at Wattegama in time for an 11am departure to Kandy. Be prepared for many curious onlookers!

  • Liked — wonderful staff, great service, location
  • Disliked — expensive transport in/out of resort area
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, Management at Hunas Falls by Amaya, responded to this review, 14 October 2010
Thank you very much for your comments. We are happy to see that you were satisfied with our facilities & services.

We hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Management of Jetwing Hunas Falls Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    118
    22
    13
    10
See reviews for
99
187
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2008

I Stayed there 2 nights with my family in the highlader suite,
it was such amazing.
The kids enjoyed horse riding around the hotel lake, and i took them for a walk around hotel area buildings including hotel big kitchen.
Hopefully we can make a 2nd visit in 2008.
My special thanks to ( lenin ) our super hotel man who was serving us throughout our stay.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank ABUHAMDANAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, Management at Hunas Falls by Amaya, responded to this review, 14 October 2010
We thank you for your positive comments and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Jetwing Hunas Falls.

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2008

We spent our honeymoon in this hotel. We actually checked in for 3 days but because the hotel is so beautiful we stayed an extra night.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The buffet meals were very nice, it included traditional Sri Lankan dishes as well as International dishes.

The view was fantastic; we are planning to go back to this hotel for our first anniversary

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbirmingham70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, Management at Hunas Falls by Amaya, responded to this review, 14 October 2010
Thank you for your positive comments and good reccomendation.

Warm Regards,

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2007

An excellent hotel with excellent service.
The manager told us that the hotel is officially rated two star but you honestly would not believe this.
The restaurant service, overseen by the food manager, Prasad, was always to a very high standard and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

We stayed in the Royal Suite which is in a vey good position near the restaurant, reception, bar and grounds. Notwithstanding this the room was exceptionally quiet.

Don't count on a reliable internet link if you require internet use. It is a dial up connection. Mobile reception is very good.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Lanmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2007

We arrived at this hotel half way through a 5 day tour of Sri Lanka with Kuoni and were immediately taken with it. It was so different from the other areas that we had stayed in. The view from our room was stunning. Please just take time to sit on the balcony and drink the tea from the local plantation whilst watching the ever changing sky. It was so peaceful and calm and yet it felt so 'English'.
The grounds were superbly kept and the gardens are a delight to walk round.
The room was comfortable (could do with refurbishment), but the housekeeping staff were excellent.
Actually you couldn't fault the service at all in the hotel. The food in the restaurant was superb again with service to match. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
We took advantage of taking a walk up from the hotel and into the tea plantation at the back which is to be recommended.
Overall it made a lasting impression on us both

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — slightly tired decoration
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank beebusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2007

We recently stayed at the beautiful Hunas Falls resort for our honeymoon. We stopped here on a leg of the tour between Colombo and Kandy, for which it's ideally placed. It's in the most beautiful surroundings on the edge of the tea-picking country.

Some of the room rates include a free walk with the hotel's own nature guide, which is a really unique feature of this hotel. We had a two hour walk with the guide which was fascinating (he will do whatever you want to do -- whether it's just a walk round the lake or a trek up the nearby mountain). Within minutes we'd seen golden orioles, barbels, mongooses, Shaheen falcon.

The food was excellent and the service very friendly. The hotel appears to be a very popular honeymoon destination for Sri Lankans too.

My only slight disappointment was with the rooms which were functional, though not especially luxurious.

  • Liked — The scenery and nature walks
  • Disliked — The rooms were a bit functional
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2007

The best hotel we stayed at during our Kuoni South tour. Absolutely stunning location that takes your breath away – huge picture windows in the restaurant to make the most of it, as well.

Despite it raining nearly all the time we were there, making for misty, moody views, it really was the most magical experience, with really wonderful food and wine, lovely staff and a pleasant, clean, comfortable room. Would happily have stayed longer.

Definitely take the nature trip – an early start, but the guide was great and it was fun and informative, with great photo opportunities. The leech socks are - er - an experience, too!

Well done Hunas Falls! You made our stay really special, and we'd be back like a shot.

  • Liked — stunning location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank musicmaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkaduwa
2.3 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
8.3 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
8.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#10 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
9.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#8 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
9.4 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunas Falls by Amaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunas Falls by Amaya

Property: Hunas Falls by Amaya
Address: Elkaduwa 21012, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hunas Falls Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Elkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Elkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hunas Falls by Amaya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A score of spectacular waterfalls tumble down over rocks and precipices throughout the cool high country of Sri Lanka. Among them is Hunas Falls, which derives its name from Hunasgiriya Peak, the forest covered mountain which overlooks this tranquil landscape. Located close to the former royal capital of Kandy, Hunas Falls provides an astonishing setting for Hunas Falls by Amaya. Sprawling gardens with walkways, flowers and the lake with a bridge to cross it, a waterfall and a mini golf course all constitute a most beautiful background to the calm serenity of your room. Considered one of the most scenic spots in the country, Hunas Falls by Amaya is an alluring Sri Lankan honeymoon hotel. It is committed to energy saving practices, recycling, giving back to the community and reducing wastage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hunas Falls by Amaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Hunas Falls Elkaduwa
Hunas Falls Hotel
Jetwing Hunas Falls Hotel Elkaduwa
Hunas Falls By Amaya Sri Lanka/Elkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing