We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hunas Falls by Amaya
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Elkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic place and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed there for 3 days and it was nice. Very nice hotel and excellent food. we had one of the best sri lankan traditional food there. Staff were amazing and service was fantastic. Only issue with this hotel is, if you plan to go for a kandy sightseeing. This hotel is not meant for that. If you plan to do that then you would rather stay is Amaya Hills or other hotels in city. This is little far from kandy and takes more than an hour of travel. Really recommend this hotel if you want to just relax there and enjoy the place and do activities nearby hotels, bird watching etc.

Room Tip: Suite will be good, if you need else almost all the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajay1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    123
    22
    16
    10
See reviews for
105
192
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

It takes a while to drive up the winding narrow roads to get to this luxury hotel, which is perched on the side of the mountain. Take a walk around the grounds and manicured garden; the monkeys play on the bridge overlooking the top of the Hunas waterfall. You can visit the falls on your way down or up for 300 rupees (£1.50). Worth the entrance as you can walk right up to the rocks where the falls cascade down. Gorgeous.

Room Tip: All rooms face out across the mountains so all have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

It was a perfect 2-days stay, the hotel was amazing and the view was such a fantastic one. We enjoyed the small lake, the fall, the green hills specially while taking our breakfast on the restaurant. The room was clean and comfort and the crew was really very friendly and helpful. The only issue with the hotel is the way to reach it which will take more than 30 minutes to drive 11 Km on a very tough road... But really it deserve.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at Hunas falls in Dec'13. The resort is about 30 kms from Peredeniya station and took us Rs 2,000 and 1 hr tuk tuk ride to reach there. There are no cabs/ tuk tuks near the resort so we got the same guy to come and pick us back. The 'lake' inside the resort is very small and even the falls is nothing spectacular. The weather is Dec was great and we loved being outdoors. I went for the Shaheen trek (2 hrs overall, moderate climb) which was a good exercise. The resort is not at all kid friendly as the grills everywhere (rooms/ restaurant) are very broad and dangerous. The food was pretty expensive and we did not enjoy the vegetarian food at all. Food in general in Sri Lanka was a disappointment. We were appalled when they told us that they charge Rs 600 for room service which was very surprising to us. Also there were water drainage noises early morning from nearby rooms which was a bit annoying. Nice 2 days stays but nothing spectacular.

Room Tip: People with young kids should ask for 1st floor rooms which open into the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charu_Akash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

If you want to have peace and tranquility away from the hustle and bustle, then this is the place to be at. It takes at least an hour to reach Hunas Falls from Kandy town...in fact, our bus driver took some 90 minutes along the long and windy road to reach the hotel.

The view along the way is beautiful and when you reach the hotel and gaze out to the mountains, the time taken to reach the hotel is well worth it.

Check in was fast and the staff members were always smiling and greeting us. We had 2 dinners at the restaurant and we found it to be one of the better ones we had in Sri Lanka. My only negative comment would be the lack of air circulation in the restaurant. There is a 'wok' station where you can request for a dish and the cooking fumes lingers in the air. I came out with my clothes reeking of oil.

The room is pretty standard and a bit tired looking. The bathroom looks like it has just been renovated.

If not for the view, I wouldn't return to the hotel. Not because of anything bad but purely the time taken to travel up and down the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Hunas falls by Amaya was the only places that offered views that amazing from all the places I visited so far this Holiday. And also has alot of fun activities to keep you occupied and out of the room. The only let down for me was that they served pork in the buffet and all of it being cooked in the same kitchen because me being a Muslim and pork is forbidden for us is an issue that can't be looked over. All in all, it was a great place and most of the Hotels in Sri Lanka serve pork and only a handful of them take special requests and not cook it in the kitchen was a let down for the whole visit.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Nuski A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Rooms are recently renovated and tastefully done - marriott style. Extensive grounds great for small walks especially around the mini lake. Played golf on the mini par 3 pitch and putt course which was very well maintained. Had a walk with the resident naturalist who knows his stuff and is good fun. We saw eagles and other large birds. Staff are great and very friendly. The restaurant is lovely, food awesome - especially the breakfast buffet which is very extensive. There were not many guests when we stayed so lacking a bit of atmosphere but guess most people come here for the views and tranquility.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaandPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkaduwa
2.3 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
8.4 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
1.1 mi away
Green View Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
9.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
8.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunas Falls by Amaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunas Falls by Amaya

Property: Hunas Falls by Amaya
Address: Elkaduwa 21012, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hunas Falls Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Elkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Elkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hunas Falls by Amaya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A score of spectacular waterfalls tumble down over rocks and precipices throughout the cool high country of Sri Lanka. Among them is Hunas Falls, which derives its name from Hunasgiriya Peak, the forest covered mountain which overlooks this tranquil landscape. Located close to the former royal capital of Kandy, Hunas Falls provides an astonishing setting for Hunas Falls by Amaya. Sprawling gardens with walkways, flowers and the lake with a bridge to cross it, a waterfall and a mini golf course all constitute a most beautiful background to the calm serenity of your room. Considered one of the most scenic spots in the country, Hunas Falls by Amaya is an alluring Sri Lankan honeymoon hotel. It is committed to energy saving practices, recycling, giving back to the community and reducing wastage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hunas Falls by Amaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Hunas Falls Elkaduwa
Hunas Falls Hotel
Jetwing Hunas Falls Hotel Elkaduwa
Hunas Falls By Amaya Sri Lanka/Elkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing