We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Environment showing its beauty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hunas Falls by Amaya
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Elkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Environment showing its beauty”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Amaya hunas hotel is situated in a very special place in srilanka. it is situated where hunas falls starts its journey. what attracted me to the hotel was its view from the bedrooms. it was just awesome. it would be one of the best honeymoon trips one could ever have. if you had a walk to about 10 mins you can get to the place where hunas falls is originating. its one of the best places to have a bath :D. perfect and peaceful place to stay. talking about food... i must say they have to improve their kitchen to give the best experience... for me it was 3/5. highly recommended to people who love to spend their vacation peacefully with a little bit of adventure.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dil222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    124
    22
    17
    10
See reviews for
107
197
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed two nights in Hunas Falls and immediately fell in love with the idyllic surroundings. The hotel is situated up in the hills north of Kandi set amongst the jungle, waterfalls and tea plantations with spectacular views. The hotel has a small lake and a 6-hole pitch & putt golf course (a small fee is required to use the course). The hotel itself is a little dated but very comfortable to stay in. The buffet meals were well presented and very tasty, the egg hoppers we had for breakfast were particularly good. The only concern we had was that the hotel was a little too isolated for us, an hours drive to and from Kandi meant our time at the hotel during daylight hours was a bit limited.

If you like peace and serenity and are tired out from your travels through the cultural triangle then this place is perfect to unwind and recharge the batteries.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01Andrew_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Away from the busy surroundings its a very nice,calm place to spend your leisure time....nice surroundings where you can enjoy...mountain,waterfall and birds to observe....during my stay @hunnas falls food served was great...no complains about that...staff was really friendly and always @ur service....so a place to visit i recommend...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prabuddha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This hotel scores a perfect 5 for me in every aspect. The place has got a stunning view and very well maintained, service is exceptionally warm and courteous, the food is delicious.
We stayed here for 3 nights and would love to come back. If you are travelling towards Nuwara Elliya... this place is a must. The room rates might sound a bit steep, but its worth every penny.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good but if you can afford the HIGHLANDER SUITE nothing like it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankushM83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Our trip was totally worth it and the food was great.
The cool weather and the beautiful scenery makes it a perfect place to relax and unwind.
Would recommend for locals as well.
Bird viewing and lots of other activities makes it more fun for the whole family.
It was a truly great experience
Would like to visit again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank davion81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

chose your mode of transport carefully not a tuk tuk to get to this amazing hotel set on a high elevation in a tea estate. It is a small hotel which offers tremendous views, gentle strolling or serious walking, you do not need a guide for this. We have stayed here on every visit for the past 30 odd years and always look forward to our return visit for its simple charm instead of big city sophistication but well worth a visit for one or two nights. The staff are very friendly and helpful and always willing to help with a smile. The views are breathtaking and the mood changes as the clouds pass by. The dining room overlooks the lake and the bird life at breakfast is remarkable. If you have to find a fault the check in is slow. We will certainly visit Hunas falls again next year and thoroughly recommend this hotel to people who are looking for a peaceful interlude for a couple of days.

Room Tip: We prefer their deluxe ground floor rooms which allows you to walk straight into the garden for earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highbrooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

As we approached the hotel and seeing this very special location we were very excited for our stay here on our honeymoon. But soon after we arrived we began to realize that it wasn't going to be the 5-star hotel experience that had attracted us in the first place. Firstly, contrary to what we had been told, there was no guide at the hotel, so there were no tour or trekking options (one of the reasons we had initially booked). We were told the guide was on holiday and there was no back-up so to speak. The romantic and special A-La-Carte menu/dinner we were promised at checkin was downgraded to a not-so-romantic serve-yourself buffet with a random selection of fairly unclear excuses/explanations by management and head chef. Up in the room, there was no toilet roll in the bathroom and no-one answered at reception or housekeeping, which was a little embarrassing for all parties involved! These were just a few of the negatives that came up in the first few hours of our stay, we then asked to speak to the manager only to be told that he was busy but he would come and find us when he became available (strange type of 'service'). By checkout the next day, no manager, no explanations, no service. After approaching the reception to ask again where the manager was we were told he was busy (having breakfast this time), again, an unusual response... I could go one, but won't. In short, a potentially wonderful hotel but from our experience, it's managed badly, bad communication, bad customer service. Facilites are very limited (very limited spa services), and the design and decor of the hotel definitely needs updating. Positives, the food quality was quite good (as long as you're happy to have a buffet three times a day) and the few trails within the grounds of the hotel (that you don't need a guide for) are very pretty.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeLasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkaduwa
2.3 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
8.4 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 2 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
1.1 mi away
Green View Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
9.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
8.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunas Falls by Amaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunas Falls by Amaya

Property: Hunas Falls by Amaya
Address: Elkaduwa 21012, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hunas Falls Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Elkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Elkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hunas Falls by Amaya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A score of spectacular waterfalls tumble down over rocks and precipices throughout the cool high country of Sri Lanka. Among them is Hunas Falls, which derives its name from Hunasgiriya Peak, the forest covered mountain which overlooks this tranquil landscape. Located close to the former royal capital of Kandy, Hunas Falls provides an astonishing setting for Hunas Falls by Amaya. Sprawling gardens with walkways, flowers and the lake with a bridge to cross it, a waterfall and a mini golf course all constitute a most beautiful background to the calm serenity of your room. Considered one of the most scenic spots in the country, Hunas Falls by Amaya is an alluring Sri Lankan honeymoon hotel. It is committed to energy saving practices, recycling, giving back to the community and reducing wastage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hunas Falls by Amaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Hunas Falls Elkaduwa
Hunas Falls Hotel
Jetwing Hunas Falls Hotel Elkaduwa
Hunas Falls By Amaya Sri Lanka/Elkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing