We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place and excellent food/service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hunas Falls by Amaya
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Elkaduwa
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“beautiful place and excellent food/service”
Reviewed 21 July 2014


breathtaking place that one must visit.good place to relax and plenty of walking trails and other activities to enjoy.the weather is perfect in the area for walking/exploring.the food is great and the service is excellent.would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lekshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    127
    22
    17
    10
See reviews for
111
201
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Location : location is very nice. it will take 1 hour to reach there from Kandy. Roads are little narrow, so just be careful. once you reach there, you will feel like you are in Mystic Falls. It is surrounded from mountains and cold and very quite. Do not expect good mobile reception or internet. It is purely isolated.

Rooms : Rooms are nice and simple. Very comfy. Reserve a room with a balcony. They have the perfect view. you can wake up looking at the mystic gloomy mountains. and no harsh sunlight. bed is really comfortable and warm. Bathrooms are modern and very clean. And they have a bathtub in every room. But have to say they provide only 2 bath towels.

Food : Food is not up to our expectations. very limited menu. And we had our dinner in the bar, it was unnecessarily expensive. one vodka shot would cost around 650-750 LKR. and a Chicken Biriyani would cost 1600 LKR, which is not worth! And its not delicious even!

Service : Service is excellent. They have a very quick response rate. They are very helpful. They will inform you about the surroundings, activities that you can do and they will guide you as well. These locals are very helpful and friendly.

More: If you love to walk among green hills this would be an ideal place. You can reach to a waterfall within 30 mins walk. Be careful from leeches. You can ride a bike also, hotel will provide bikes if you want.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chathini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice place to relax. Foods very tasty. Very supportive staff. Rooms are in very good condition . Bath rooms ara very good too. This is my third visit. I and my family had a great time here. I invite all of you to come here and get a great experience. There are several activities you can do. Bird watching. Climbing mountain s bike ride Boat ride in the Lake. I am planning to come here next year too.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Aravinda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were warmly welcome by staff on our arrival to Hotel and check-in was bit slower but not bad at all. While booking through online reservation, I have requested for a Deluxe room facing to garden but we were offered with a upper 1st floor room.

Since we have my small kid, I was desperate to have direct access to garden. After explaining my situation to reception lady, she was kind enough to arrange room at ground floor that has direct access to their garden. I must thank again for her quick response !!!!

First day there was heavy raining that prevent us go around the hotel but we enjoy the Dinner Buffet at their "Lake view restaurant".

We booked BB basis and therefore on check-in, I have specifically mention that we are willing to take Dinner from the Hotel, but information was not delivered to restaurant staff that makes bit confusion. After the dinner we were asked to sign for the bill payment for the dinner on the spot and that makes me bit worried. However thanks to restaurant lady tried her best to handle the situation gracefully. My sincere thanks goes for her !!!

Next day I was going around the hotel garden and notice this was a paradise for a serious bird watcher and managed to take some nice bird photographs added to my collection.

Thin forest patches close to Golf ground was one of the best places for birding and I was lucky enough to spot "SRI LANKA DULL-BLUE FLYCATCHER" and "SRI LANKA YELLOW-FRONTED BARBET" both are endemic birds in Sri Lanka. However beware of leaches in this area trying to hang and suck your blood.

We were offered a fresh fruit basket on first day evening and that was great. My son loved to eat those fruits and therefore we are almost happy with that :)

Overall room was good that has enough space and most importantly we have direct access to garden where we spent most of our time during our stay. However Television was bit older and I had some trouble and hard time, while trying plug-in cable to electrical base. It was short circuiting that prevent electricity to TV. After trying couple of times finally managed to make it happen !!

We enjoyed a lot during our short stay at this Hotel and hopefully wiling to comeback again when ever time permits. I must thank staff those who try their best to make us happy. Finally if Hotel management and staff able to prevent those small small hiccups, I am sure guests will be more pleased and may able to rate this as real 3 star class hotel !!!

Room Tip: Try to get ground floor Deluxe room that has direct access to garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danesh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Must visit for anyone! Absolutely perfect. The idea place to get away from the busy city life and forget about work and relax! The location is amazing! yes, a bit far away from the Kandy city center. The road wasn't as bad as we expected, the last bit of the road leading through tea and clove trees were beautiful.

The welcome was really nice and quick. The room was spacious with an amazing view, back door took us straight to the main garden. Perfect for relaxing with a cup of tea and enjoying the sun set. Bathroom was spacious and very clean. Water pressure was very good. Make sure you get a room with direct access to the garden (ours was 105)

Food was very well prepared and delicious. I had doubts reading previous reviews, but everything was perfect from presentation, preparation to taste. Room service costs you an extra 600 per order, which we felt should have been free, since it was set menu. The Menu had a variety of items to select from. For those who have complained there weren't any items for Sri Lankans, there is actually an option for rice n curry. We tried their ghee rice for dinner and it was amazing! The portion size is really good. Wished there was a salad course though. Breakfast is served buffet, the selection was very limited, but sufficient.

ALL the staff were really friendly, helpful and courteous. We were always treated with a smile. They give a complimentary car wash as well!

Many many activities to do outside. The garden is huge and lots of places to explore and walk around. One pathway leads you to see a waterfall up close (below the bridge, near the summer hut). Lots of fish in the water tank, such a pleasure to feed them. Gardens are very well kept, there are many many fruit trees all around.

We took the morning Shaheen Nature walk and it was amazing! About 2kms back n forth, not at all difficult to climb except for the leeches. You might want to go prepared for that. Naturalist was really nice. Leaves around 7-7.30 am and u can come back in time for b'fast. Its 2000 for a couple/group. The view from the top is breathtaking, having a packed b'fast at the peak will also be fantastic. There is another waterfall where u can actually go and have a bath. Even if you don't take the hike, you can still walk to the waterfall for a bath.

There is a kids play room with a variety of toys and games for children of all ages. Clean and well kept. Wish the room was located in a different area, with better lighting and a view maybe for the adults to enjoy.

Boat ride is also a must do as this is not a motor boat. Very clam and the boatman takes really good photos! Costs 300 a person, life jackets provided.

We will be returning for sure and recommend this place to everyone!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with direct access to the main garden (eg. 105)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

it was my honeymoon <3 . I booked a room for 2 nights with full board, 1st night we did not eat anything because foods are very good lol, they do not provide good menu for deluxe rooms. as a srilankans we can not eat anything on that menu. same thing happened for my 2nd night & lunch. only breakfast was good but not worth for the room price.(25k per night) . finally do not go there and you will have terrible experience when you go there.

Room Tip: No good rooms there and foods are terrible. do not visit Hunasfalls by amaya :/
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Excellent staff, food, nice surrounding. Best place to visit.
Large variety of food at the Lake View Restaurant and Stunning view while dining.
Must a visit Upper Hunas Falls - Never give up this chance.

Room Tip: Upper floors have a nice view in the morning & evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thushantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkaduwa
2.3 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
1.1 mi away
Green View Holiday Resort
2.0 mi away
Ashburnham Estate
Ashburnham Estate
#1 of 3 in Elkaduwa
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
8.4 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 2 in Tennekumbura
1,932 reviews
6.7 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kandy
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunas Falls by Amaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunas Falls by Amaya

Property: Hunas Falls by Amaya
Address: Elkaduwa 21012, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hunas Falls Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Elkaduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Elkaduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hunas Falls by Amaya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A score of spectacular waterfalls tumble down over rocks and precipices throughout the cool high country of Sri Lanka. Among them is Hunas Falls, which derives its name from Hunasgiriya Peak, the forest covered mountain which overlooks this tranquil landscape. Located close to the former royal capital of Kandy, Hunas Falls provides an astonishing setting for Hunas Falls by Amaya. Sprawling gardens with walkways, flowers and the lake with a bridge to cross it, a waterfall and a mini golf course all constitute a most beautiful background to the calm serenity of your room. Considered one of the most scenic spots in the country, Hunas Falls by Amaya is an alluring Sri Lankan honeymoon hotel. It is committed to energy saving practices, recycling, giving back to the community and reducing wastage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hunas Falls by Amaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Hunas Falls Elkaduwa
Hunas Falls Hotel
Jetwing Hunas Falls Hotel Elkaduwa
Hunas Falls By Amaya Sri Lanka/Elkaduwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing