We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“val and john from leeds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Guest House, Barolin Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Markington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Courtyard Guest House, Barolin Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Markington B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“val and john from leeds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed at country house at barolin farm for new year and found it was a beautiful house, very well equipped and was made very welcome by the owner Belinda. We stayed with family who also loved it and would definitely stay here again. Thank you belinda .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank val d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    6
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
3
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed 2 nights to celebrate the New Year, Courtyard Guesthouse at Barolin Farm is amazing, it has a lovely homely feel to it, the Bartle family photos are displayed throughout the house along with equestrian memorabilia. Down to earth and relaxed, you feel at home as soon as you walk through the door, full of character and features, it has a lived in look.

The house is spacious and was great for our large group of 15. Our bedroom was on the ground floor and was large with en-suite bathroom. The bed was comfortable with good quality linen. Bedrooms on the first floor all have private bathrooms, some en-suite. Hot water takes a bit of time to come through, but its not a problem, what's the rush when you're on holiday!

The house is centrally heated and also has coal or log fires in the lounge & dining room, the kitchen features a wonderful AGA which provides heat and cooking facilities, there is also a double width gas hob/electric oven.

The main lounge area is very spacious and looks out onto a lovely walled garden. The log fire is a lovely feature, there are lots of board games and books available for your use, there is also TV & DVD player.

Belinda Bartle was so helpful and was available to sort out any problems during our stay. Would love to return sometime soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireLass004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Spent 2 nights for a family birthday. Bags of room both inside and out. Wonderful gardens perfect for family rounders/football matches. Very clean inside but would sum up style as shabby chic. Few issues with hot water but dealt with directly with owner and resolved. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dbargh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lond
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed a long weekend with a total of 15 people and we were all were all thrilled with Barolin Farm. Absolutely wonderful place, full of detail and character. Belinda is an incredible host - a true queen of hospitality. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teedee70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week. Owner over charged us for what was in essence a chalet that had stood empty for some time with previous occupants bed linen still on bed. Chalet was poorly heated and then lady demanded her place be cleaned. Steer well clear unless you love horses. On the plus side beautiful views and location, shame about the service

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank LaurentMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batley
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Spent 6 brilliant days a combination of horses /stately homes/ beautiful scenery and delightful breakfasts.
Would recommend to anyone - especially with horsey interests.
Very friendly guests and extremely obliging staff
Really enjoyed the riding lessons - despite aching muscles

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

This place is the best kept secret in Yorkshire. Staying in the main house is like stepping back in time to England how it used to be. Everything about the main house is so impressive from the bedrooms to the sitting room and breakfast room. We stayed at Barolin Farm for 2 nights originally on our way up to Scotland but we enjoyed our stay so much that we booked in again for the night on our way back home to London. Belinda is a wonderful hostess who served us a lovely afternoon tea in the garden upon our arrival. The grounds are magnificent and the location is so peaceful, I could have stayed there forever. A 13 minute walk from the farm is the village of Markington which has 2 wonderful pubs. The Cross Keys serves delicious food and The Yorkshire Hussars is a pub which is full of character and charm. Fountains Abbey is about 2 miles away and the towns of Ripon and Harrogate are both great places to visit. This is a wonderful place to stay and a lovely part of England to visit. We shall be back very soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Markington
1.0 mi away
The George
The George
#37 of 104 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Guest House, Barolin Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Guest House, Barolin Farm

Property: Courtyard Guest House, Barolin Farm
Address: Barolin Farm Guest House, Markington HG3 3PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Markington
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Markington
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the delightful setting and well appointed accommodation of Courtyard Guest House, located in the grounds of Barolin Farm, Markington. The village of Markington is tucked between the Yorkshire towns of Ripon and the historic spa, Harrogate. Only a stone's throw to the famous historic ruins of Fountain’s Abbey. This lovely location is ideal for discovering the area, on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales a few short miles to Thirsk. We understand that your dog is an important part of your family, so a well behaved pet will always be welcome when you stay with us. As well as the guesthouse we also have the Barolin Chalets which are the perfect style of accommodation for people requiring self-catering, or clean basic lodgings for a short stay in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Courtyard Guest House, Barolin Farm Markington, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing