We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
148
10
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
10
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsneil and bridgetwild duck innthames pathb and bquiet villagelovely hostslocal pubpretty villagethe ground floorfrench doorsinteresting conversationthree nightsoff road parkingenglish breakfastwestonbirt arboretumbreakfast was delicioustrain station
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Our stay at the Well Cottage B&B was a wonderful experience in every respect. The owners Neil and Bridget are most welcoming and will do everything possible to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Our room had a very comfortable king size bed, a large and well appointed bathroom and a marvelous view of the lawn and surrounding wooded area. Breakfast was plentiful and the variety was extensive. Bridget will prepare you anything you'd like if possible. Just delicious!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ted1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellcottage, Owner at Well Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Thank you for your kind words about your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We were looking for a nice break not too far from London, and the Cotswolds seemed to meet the criteria. This B&B also looked to be in a great location for exploring what the Cotswolds has, to offer.

Room - This B&B is just great, the room was a good size and had double door access to a fabulous garden. We stayed on one of the hottest days of the year and being able to open the door (coupled with the fan which was supplied by the owners) was very convenient!

Parking - There is plenty of parking in the driveway and the B&B part of the house is separate to the living accommodation of the owners. The room was immaculate and had all essentials, such as tea, coffee, bodywash, wifi, TV etc. All made for a very comfortable stay.

Breakfast – Very flexible on timings on when you want breakfast. A nice choice of breakfast too- there was everything, from cereal, toast and jam to English breakfast. Made for a perfect start to our days there.

Location – in a very quiet village, I would say having a car is essential for your visit. On our first night we walked along the lane the B&B is on, which leads to the Thames path. A very pleasant stroll. Later we walked to the local pub (The wild duck inn) that is recommended in the area. The pub is a short walk from the B&B in a very pretty building. It has a nice garden and good drinks menu, it is a very nice country pub, the prices are more in line with what you would expect in London and are on the steep side.

Getting around - If you plan to explore the Cotswolds, everything we decided to do was accessible from the B&B, we were in Gloucester in 1 hr and also visited Cirencester (30mins), Bourton- on-the-water (30mins) & Stow-on-the-wold (30mins). The roads are considerably quieter than London which makes for pleasant driving and sightseeing.

Hosts - Neil and Brigette are wonderful hosts, they have interesting conversation on a multitude of topics. They were very welcoming and their company really enhanced our stay at Well Cottage.

Advice on finding using Sat Nav: If your Sat nav (I use Waze) like ours takes to the main road, you will see a triangle junction on the left. Turn down there and the B&B is on the left.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citybreaker3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful home for three nights while exploring the Cotswolds. We had a very large, private room on the first floor with a grand view of the backyard and gardens. The bed was the most comfortable bed (besides my own) that I've ever slept in while traveling. The linens were luxurious, and the bathroom was the largest one we had while traveling the UK for 17 days. Bridget and Neil made us feel like we were long-time friends, and had plenty of time to spend talking with us at breakfast and upon arrival. We were made to feel so comfortable our entire time there. Although it is a drive to other Cotswolds villages, the Thames path is just at the end of the driveway and afforded us one of our most memorable hikes during our journey.
Well Cottage is definitely a wonderful place to stay while exploring the Cotswolds!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank trthornes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Well Cottage is situated in a small very quiet hamlet near the source of the river Thames.
I loved the room, which is nicely furnished, very clean and well looked after. And also important: it has a bed with a really good mattress.
In the morning there is an excellent 'cooked to order' breakfast.
The hosts are wonderful, friendly and helpful. Neil and Bridget made me feel very welcome.
I enjoyed every minute of my stay and hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CarolaJansonius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

We used this accommodation as a base to visit the Cotswolds and it was great. Set in a small village it was a quiet retreat. The owner's were very welcoming and helpful. The room was great and the breakfast was delicious, and on-site parking a bonus. Thanks!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank glennmartin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews