We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Atmosphere Great ,Food Dissapointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Duck Inn

Wild Duck Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Wild Duck Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Ewen
Price range: US$23 - US$84
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A traditional Cotswold Inn with a rich history. Perfect for a Sunday roast or simply a pint of local beer.Ivy droops over the Cotswold stone of this beautiful, sixteenth century coaching inn near Cirencester. Expect proper English, seasonal pub food using the best ingredients we can find.Our lunch and supper menus are deeply rooted in everyone's favourite British classics. Tuck into Pork Belly Confit or Roasted Guinea Fowl Breast or try one of our legendary Sunday roasts which are worth the trip just for the roast alone.
england
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Atmosphere Great ,Food Dissapointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Diner was on 10/05/14, for my Daughters 30th. 4 Steaks ordered and a Fish dish. The price of the steaks with out veges is a disgrace, in fact it is a mugging. Steaks ,served with fries and a small salad was money pinching. 10 oz steaks ,very small. The steaks are advertised as 10 oz , but is it before cooking or after, as the 4 served diffidently was less. The starters only OK Positively , the South African Chenin Blanc was Great as well as the Italian Rose. The Beers ,a great temperature.
Pick up your standard, I might try in the future but it will have to be by invite.
Kind Regards,
Norman Russell.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank normanrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    110
    78
    60
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Appalling service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I decided to try the Wild Duck and can say we were really disappointed, the service was shocking and really slow, we waited from 7.30 until approx 8.15 to be even acknowledged for our food order, each course took forever to come and to catch the attention of a waiter/waitress was a task all on its own.
The food however was excellent apart from my warm potato salad which was cold.
Service charge of 10% is automatically put on the bill, I did however ask for this to be removed due to the poor service much to their disgust, I tried to explain why and also at the same time give credit on the food, the barman gave the attitude of just pay your bill and go away.
Wont return under current management.

Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Wait for change of management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This inn is on the market and as such is a far cry from its heyday, appalling service, limited menu, service charge added to the bill because they know it's not going to be given any other way, a request for onion rings refused by the chef despite being on the menu with other dishes, as locals we will not return unless something drastic happens!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal with friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Very quaint village pub and restaurant. Open fires and good traditional decor.
Varied menu to choose from and swift service.
Really make you feel at home and welcome

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Appalling!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

What a shame. Asked what the local beer was to be told it was Doom Bar! Oh dear, not a good start. Sat down at 1900 with 2 hungry children. It took some time to get our order taken and then waited for some pretty mediocre garlic bread and nachos to arrive. And then waited, and waited. Asked how long the mains would be to be told they were on the way. Waited another 30mins before they finally turned up, 2 hours after we sat down. The food was just about OK but lacked any care or attention to detail. Asked 3 times for the drink that was included with the children's meals, it never arrived. Pretty much summed the chaotic service up, despite half the tables being empty. Overall an extremely disappointing experience, one to avoid.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Duck Inn also viewed

Cirencester, Cotswolds
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 
Cirencester, Cotswolds
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 

Been to Wild Duck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing