We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, recommended”
Review of The Boar's Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Boar's Head
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ripley
Certificate of Excellence
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful, recommended”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Great Staff, great location, great food. Room we had was a small double(Morton), Still a good size room for a hotel, nice en suite, toiletries, tea and coffee and chocolate on pillows good quality. Evening meal faultless(great choice), beer very well kept, good wine list. Bed very good, excellent breakfast. Will definitely return, and book a table for evening meal beforehand. Thank you for a most enjoyable stay. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Rooms around courtyard may be quieter, as there is a bus stop at front, although these stop at 10 p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Wonderful review.
Many thanks for posting a review.
Your comments regarding the numerous positive aspects of your stay are very kind and I will ensure that they are passed on to the entire team.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Steve & The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    194
    68
    39
    14
See reviews for
94
428
17
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Don't hesitate - book this place; travel from the other side of the world if necessary for such charm, elegance, friendliness and a sense of detailed care for the guest comes but rarely these days. The bedrooms are marvellous, the food memorable and the location....oh, the location!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Great review !!!
I hope that everyone who reads your review follows your instructions and gets booked in to stay with us.
We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Steve & The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Arrived home after a three day break at the The Boars Head, this is our second visit this year and it will not be long until we are back again!! Once again, very clean and comfortable rooms. We had very good nights sleep as although the Hotel was very busy, our room (Navy Room) was very quiet and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. Everything we needed was on hand and I loved the biscuits and chocolate which was on our pillows every day!!

Once again, we ate at the Hotel each evening and the food was fabulous as was the breakfasts. Every member of staff were efficient and frendly and special thanks to Steve, the Manager, and the ladies on reception who took time out to speak to us, and C.P. the restaurant supervisor who always had a nice smile for us!! All this attention made us feel vauled customers.

Thanks once again, Howard and Lorraine Graham

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
It is always a pleasure to welcome you both.
Thanks for taking the time to post a review and we look forward seeing you again soon.
It's those great walks that you enjoy so much and working up an appetite for dinner that keeps bringing you back!!
Warm Regards
Steve & The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My partner booked The Boar's Head for a short break with our dogs and she found a real gem. We had a standard double room on the first floor of the outbuildings, and while not huge for two adults and two large dogs, it was all that was needed. Clean and well maintained, the only comment I would make was that the extractor fan in the bathroom struggled to clear the steam after using the shower.
We found the staff and service abosulutely first class and very pleasent. Reception was very welcoming and relaxed but efficent. On the night we arrived we ate in the garden from the bistro menu. My partner is wheat and gulten intolerant and it seemed that this was noted by the staff and kitchen for the duration of our stay. On the second night they even served gulten free bread with out being asked which greatly impressed my partner. The bar and waiting staff always very freindly and seemed to have time for everyone.
We think we have stumbled on a real gem of a short break hotel and we will be back, probably with freinds.

Room Tip: The rooms are not large but they are well finished. We found the outbuildings rooms great as it prov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fat_NavCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
We always try to cater for dietry requirments so I am pleased to read that we looked after you so well.
I do hope that we will get the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Steve & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Very nice,comfortable rooms and little 'touches'. Pleasant welcome, lovely approach - outdoor seating and beautiful little village. Food outstanding, decent wine list, nice drawing rooms with games in one room. Drinks service slow - especially if you ask for champagne or white wine as they wait until they've time to go down to the cellar for it. Complimentary tickets for tour of castle and grounds which is well worth doing. We look forward to going back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janman_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review follwing your recent stay.
We are all delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and are already looking forward to returning for another great stay.
The delay you seem to have encountered with the Champagne or white wine most definately is not our normal standard of service ,as the wine and champagne stocks are kept close to hand in a cooler located just out of sight to the rear of the bar.The only explanation that I can think of ,is that we must have run low on stock at the time you ordered,hence the delay.I will ensure that we are properly stocked up at all times so that these delays do not occur again.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
regards
Steve & The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

It is rare for everything to be just right, but the Boar's Head proved that it can be done. Reception was a warm, welcoming experience; the room was delightful, fresh and perfectly prepared; the food was out of this world (both dinners and breakfasts); and management is clearly focused on getting it right for their guests as evidenced by the attentive restaurant staff, the charming chambermaid, the proactive bar team and the helpful and efficient receptionists.

The Boar's Head is a perfect centre-piece of the community that is made by Ripley Castle (the free entry to the castle and gardens for hotel guests is a bonus) and the village. It combines the warmth of an English village pub with the elegance of a fine restaurant and the comfort of a home from home. If only we could have stayed for more than three nights!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jmps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Perfect Review !!
Thank you so much for a delightful review.We all aim to give each and every guest a stay like yours.
Your comments will be shared with the entire team and we hope to welcome you back again soon. It was an absolute pleasure to have you staying with us.
Regards
Steve & The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

My wedding was at Ripley castle in July 2012, and as part of the package we received a free night’s stay at the Boars Head. We paid to stay the night before and the night after too and also booked a further 12 rooms for friends and family. It’s the obvious place to stay when getting married at Ripley Castle.

First the good stuff: The Boars Head is a nice, quaint looking little place. It has great food, really fantastic – for an evening meal and for breakfast. The food at our wedding breakfast, served in the castle, was exceptional. There’s a lovely garden, nice bar, and good restaurant. The staff are helpful and do their best.

Now the bad stuff: It’s very tired in places. The reception areas desperately need new sofas and a lick of paint, and many of the rooms I saw (about 5 or 6) also needed some attention.
This was my wedding, and we were paying £150 a night. As well as paying over £6,000 for the wedding, plus flowers, plus another £1.5k for guest accommodation. When I arrived I was expecting a nice room, a honeymoon suite hopefully. Maybe a bowl of fruit, a bottle of fizz, a little good luck note from the manager… something to make me feel a bit special. What I got was a distinctly average room, with nothing to make me feel like a bride and absolutely no wow factor. If it wasn’t my wedding, I would have walked away. It was disappointing, especially as every one of my guests room seemed to be nicer than mine (bad room allocation!). Having said that, none of the ‘nicer’ rooms were honeymoon suites either– surprising when Ripley hosts two weddings every weekend. And unnecessary, as about £1k spent on one of the larger rooms, and a bit of hosting would have improved matters! Even some bathrobes that didn’t look like they’d been through the washing machine a thousand times would have helped.

Seeing my gloomy face, my groom discussed the matter with reception. At first they told us it was subjective and our fault for not selecting a room. But it really isn’t – 99 out of 100 brides would say the same, I’m sure! The next day (the day of my wedding) the lady at reception offered me a slightly more updated room next door and was very helpful in moving me to a larger room. But even when that was done, the attention to detail wasn’t there, as I found dirty coffee cups, used towels, the previous occupants rubbish laying around the room.

Another point to note for potential brides - I only had two bridesmaids and no pre wedding photographer. If you have any more than this, and you’re getting married at Ripley Castle – choose another hotel . The rooms aren’t big enough and you can get a cheaper, nicer room elsewhere and spend the money on a car instead!

I would have liked to stay in a place which I would have wanted to come back to for my anniversary. The Boars Head is nice, but there’s no way it’s worth £150 a night!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MsHT76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
We all certainly remember your stay and are sorry to read that it did not meet with your expectations.
The vast majority of feedback that we get from Brides,Grooms and their guests is,as you can see from numerous other reviews, incredibly positive.
That said,we do listen and learn from comments that are posted on this site.
Many Brides come to look at rooms as part of their planning process so that they can choose the most suitable room that best fits their taste and their requirments.
The Boar's Head still remains the best place to stay if your getting married at Ripley Castle.
Regards
Steve & The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripley
6.9 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
460 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
3.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
596 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boar's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boar's Head

Property: The Boar's Head
Address: Ripley Castle Estate, Ripley HG3 3AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ripley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boar's Head 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Coaching Inn set within the magnificent Ripley Castle Estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Boar's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boars Head Ripley
Hotel Boars Head
The Boar's Head Ripley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing