We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place!!”
Review of The Boar's Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Boar's Head
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ripley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed here for a midweek 2 night break - staff very friendly, great service and lovely building. Stayed in Keepers Lodge, a lovely clean room, tea & coffee making facilities, nice fluffy towels and very comfy bed. Breakfast was very nice - didn't eat in the restaurant in thr evening as we went into Harrogate and had a few too many :-) looked very nice when we passed on our first night and not eating here is only regret. Will be recommending to family & friends!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJG2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Lovely review!!
Many thanks for the comments.
Maybe next time you will enjoy dinner with us. Sounds like you had a slightly longer visit to Harrogate than planned....
I do hope it won't be too long before we can welcome you back again.
See you soon.
Kind regards
Steve & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
There are newer reviews for The Boar's Head
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

just back from 2 nights at the boars head ripley. had a relaxing time. food excellent, staff excellent and grounds beautiful. highly recommended. was shown around and then to our room upon arrival by knowledgeable receptionist. had a great nights sleep then to the restaurant for an lovely yorkshire breakfast (both mornings)!! then had a walk round the beautiful grounds -free of charge courtesy of the boars head before heading off to harrogate. had a succulent evening meal in the bistro can recommend the lamb. all in all a great stay. will be returning soon.

Room Tip: stayed in keepers lodge. well equiped and very comfortable.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Many thanks for the great recommendation.
I am delighted to hear that you had such a positive stay with us.
I will pass on your comments to the Team and we all hope that we will see you again when you are in the area.
Kind regards
Steve & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed here recently on a Groupon deal. Lets face it the purpose of these vouchers is to get some people through the door in the off season and you get what you pay for. I wasnt expecting a top of the range room and wasn't disappointed when were checked into one of the smaller (i believe) double rooms. Rooms are as some people have described in need of an update, they are very chintzy and a little dated. But if you are on a voucher i guess this is the deal! One thing I will say is the rooms are very warm (nice on a cold winters evening) good wi-fi etc. On to the plus side, food very good, we ate in the Bistro which I believe probably had a better atmosphere. Burgers are huge and very filling. Service was OK too. Sleep was quiet and comfy and breakfast (cooked) was very good. Buffet element was potentially a little sparse.
Overall pretty good, out of ten would give 6.5 for accomodation and 8.5 for the food.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruciebonus_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thanks for the review and comments following your recent visit.
I am pleased to read that you had a good time.
I suggest the next time you looking for a break in our area you may be able to pick up a great deal, maybe not quite as keen as Groupon , but never the less, take a look at our online prices you may be surprised.
I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Steve & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a nice relaxing drink after an amazing break in the dales
Wine and meal prices displayed outside were london prices but expected to pay a little extra , first impressions on entering eager to sell food ! Ordered wine expecting glass to be 5;80 large glass as displayed at entrance however £5 for a small as advertised outside as £3:80 when we questioned change in price we were informed prices change a week ago and rudley placed 20pence on table for apparent price difference ( shocking and rude ) hence not visiting again !!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank darranjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Firstly, my apologies for not changing the display copy of the menu when we very recently introduced our exciting new seasonal menu.
Break the bank ??
You must let me know where you are referring to with your "London prices" as I know we are very competitive with lots of other establishments local to here.
I must also stress at this point, that we do not, and will not, ever claim to be the cheapest! However we do pride ourselves on having a good quality selection of wines and many other drinks, that are sourced to ensure that we can offer our guests that little something that you don't get everywhere else.( and I am referring to the quality and not specifically the price)
The difference in price , as you pointed out was 20p, and I understand that this was refunded to you immediately with an apology, I am sorry if the way in which it was delivered to you caused any offence.
I have now changed the display copy so that we do not cause any more upset.
Steve & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Great stay at the Boar's Head. We stayed in the Poacher's Den (one of the smaller double rooms) which was clean, beautifully presented and lovely and warm on a wet and cold night. In the evening we enjoyed a couple of drinks in one of the drawing rooms in the bar area where there was a lovely open fire and the next morning chose a delicious full English from an extensive breakfast menu before taking a tour of Ripley Castle with our complimentary tickets. All the staff we encountered were excellent - in particular the friendly, polite and helpful lady who was working on reception and we will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palmer3368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Great to read your review following your recent visit.
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments.
I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Steve & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay in the Keepers cottage at the Boars Head . a wonderful experience to brighten up a couple of dull February Days. From the initial booking ; to the final leaving we felt very comfortable and all the staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable . Tracie on reception was fantastic ; Jordan at the bar and also in the restaurant during the evening was very helpful and Ola at breakfast was very pleasant and nice. This is just a selection of the tremendous and helpful staff that are a credit to the Boars Head Inn . The room was of decent size ; comfortable large bed ; TV ; free WiFi and most importantly .. spotlessly clean .. credit to the cleaners . We had dinner in the restaurant on both evenings and enjoyed a very tasty selection of food at competitive prices . I would recommend the 10oz rump .. very tasty . Breakfast offered a tremendous range and I chose porridge followed by a full English ; done to perfection . The evenings allowed us to relax around the open fire which was very welcoming after a brisk walk around the Ripley Castle grounds .. Hard to fault this with good accomodation ; good facilities ; good food and very attentive staff ... Boars Head have got most things right . We will be visiting again in the summer months to really enjoy the splendour of the Ripley Castle grounds ; and of course to once again " switch off "

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank villans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

WOW!! what a fantastic review.
What can I say?
It looks like we hit all of the right targets with your recent stay.
It is very reassuring to read a review such as this and it is fantastic to know that you had such a great time.
I will pass on your comments to the Team and we await your return, very soon , I hope.....
Kindest regards
Steve & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay here. We have seen all aspects of weather; rain, hail, snow, wind, sun and a rainbow but this did not impact on our stay which was warm, welcoming, comfortable and served great food. The open fire was a fantastic sight when we arrived cold and damp and we quickly warmed through. We had intended to visit the castle and gardens with the free entry tickets the hotel provided but the weather did not invite us to do this. However, the reception staff quickly gave us the idea of visiting the nearby Black Sheep Brewery in Masham where we enjoyed a tour and welcome free tasting. We ate in the restaurant and bistro at the Boars Head and the food was good. My husband enjoys a "good steak" which he had here on the evening of our friends anniversary. Breakfast choices are good too. Will return. Thank you.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pauline989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay from the roaring log fire to the food and service.
We hope that the next time you are planning a visit to the area that we will be welcoming you back for some more of the same.( Just hope the weather is better next time!!)
Warm regards
Steve & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripley
6.9 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
473 reviews
3.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
1,722 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,744 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#8 of 30 in Harrogate
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boar's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boar's Head

Address: Ripley Castle Estate, Ripley HG3 3AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ripley
Price Range: £66 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boar's Head 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Coaching Inn set within the magnificent Ripley Castle Estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Boar's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boars Head Ripley
Hotel Boars Head
The Boar's Head Ripley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing