We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of The Boar's Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Boar's Head
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ripley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a wedding at Ripley castle and wanted something in walking distance. The hotel is quaint and well cared for. Little favours such as chocs on pillow proper coffee and biscuits in the room really make you feel cared for. The service in this place is unreal the staff are really attentive. The location is stunning as is the set up here. breakfast was perfect and again the service fantastice. We had an amazing trip,, thank you

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hartlepoollass1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Many thanks "hartlepoollass",
We are all delighted to read that you had such a lovely time with us recently.
Sounds like you had the perfect wedding day.
We believe that all of the "little things" that you mentioned are what turns a good stay into a great stay , so I'm pleased that you appreciated the unreal service from real people.
You need to be booking your 1st anniversary stay with us, so give us a call and we will make sure that it is as special as your recent stay with us.
Kindest and warmest regards
Steve & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I booked this at short notice to celebrate our wedding anniversary . The inn is set in a beautiful cobbled village square, on the grounds of historic Ripley Castle near Harrogate. The room was very comfortable , exceptionally clean and was decorated in the Chinese theme . We even had little chocolate pigs on our pillows ! It overlooked the beer garden to the Boars head pub. The meal we had in the brasserie that evening was superb .
We explored Ripley Castle and grounds - well worth the limited time we had . We are also grateful to the staff who pointed us in the right direction for Fountains Abbey ...... What culture and history right on the doorstep !
Thank you to all at Ripley Castle and the Boars Head Inn for a marvellous mini break.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Fantastic review full of facts and information.!!

Many thanks for the great review. We are all delighted to read your review and so pleased to see that you had such a lovely time.
Don't wait for your next anniversary,.come back and enjoy more of the same very soon.
Give me a call and we will get you booked in.
Kindest regards
Steve & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed in one of the rooms in the main house. the room was pleasant and clean and the bed very comfortable which a lot of hotel beds are not. our room was a small double which was perfectly adequate. food was very good. would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdw774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Many thanks for the very concise and positive review.
See you next time.
Steve & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This once lovely boutique hotel with tastefully decorated dining room has transformed itself into a very average pub with rooms!!We used to loving coming to the boars head as a treat now the bar is grubby with poor service with a rowdy unkept beer garden.The general appearance and decor of the hotel is tired and unloved,our bedroom was drab with little sign of fresh paint and crumbs on the floor and mildew in the shower area!As for the once lovely Cining room it now looks and feels like a transport cafe with no table cloths,Formica top tables and paper napkins.The lamb dish was served without mint sauce and there was no black pepper on the tables not what one would expect from a well run Hotel?No this feels like The Lord of the manor has sold out to Wetherspoons!!!Sadly we have no desire to return and would not recommend unless you like grubby Pubs.

Room Tip: Try a Hotel elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

I am sorry to read that your opinion of us does not live up to your memories.
I obviously don't share your opinion about grubby, transport café, rowdy, un kept garden, Weatherspoon style etc, etc, but it seems that the style of our establishment was not to your liking , very similar comments to the previous review, it could almost be that you were together??

Regards
Steve & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Have stayed in this hotel a number of times over the last 20 years,sadly nothing in the last 4 years so to celebrate a birthday booked an overnight stay in august 2014. Food still very good,staff efficient and friendly,however the bedroom had a rundown and tired look and slightly grubby.For years the dining room was the centrepiece of this Hotel decorated in a lovely elegant dark red with fine old furniture in keeping with the building.Now you feel as if you are dining in a Premier Inn sadly who ever chose the Decor is Not an interior designer-AWFUL!!!spoilt a nice traditional Hotel.Lost a customer.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

It seems that the changes we have made to move with the times and evolve a part of the business that was showing a decline (the fine dining restaurant) does not meet with your approval.
It certainly seems to be very popular with the majority of people.
I am sorry that we won't be seeing you again.
kind regards
Steve & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Booked this hotel because we were going to the theatre in Harrogate that night. We were more than delighted with our small double room in the main building. We ate lunch there and it was superb but the timing of our show did not coincide with eating here in the evening, much to our disappointment. We got the bus into Harrogate which was a great decision, no worries about parking etc so the location was perfect for our needs. The hotel had a lovely friendly atmosphere and we wouldn't hesitate to return and enjoy an evening meal here!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank flinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Fabulous review!!
Many thanks for your kind comments, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and also the theatre visit in Harrogate.
We do hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back again soon, maybe you could attend a matinee performance and then enjoy dinner with us?
Kind regards
Steve & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Would like to say a big thank you to all the staff at The Boars Head for making our stay during the Tour de France very relaxing. Everything was great from start to finish, although I would have like some pasta on the menu to keep the legs pedalling round. Small grumble that any non cyclist should ignore. Food that was on offer was first class as were the staff. Rooms were a good size and very comfortable.
Our whole group had a superb time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonW85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boars_Head_Hotel, Manager at The Boar's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Many thanks to you for choosing us as your base for The Tour.
We are thrilled to hear that you had such a great time, and I will pass on your comments to everyone who helped to make it such a success.
With The Tour of Yorkshire in May 2015 , we hope that you will be back again for more exciting cycling and I will make sure you can have as much pasta as you can eat!!
kindest regards and keep pedalling .
Steve & The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripley
5.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,740 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
288 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
478 reviews
23.8 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,040 reviews
3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boar's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boar's Head

Address: Ripley Castle Estate, Ripley HG3 3AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ripley
Price Range: £55 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boar's Head 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Coaching Inn set within the magnificent Ripley Castle Estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Boar's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boars Head Ripley
Hotel Boars Head
The Boar's Head Ripley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing